SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Long Exposure

in #steemitphotochallenge6 years ago (edited)

Looooooooooooooooong exposures...

I've had a great time over the last month playing in the #steemitphotochallenge hosted by @jamtaylor!

Steemit Photo Challenge, Week #66

This week's theme is Long Exposure, which happens to be my favourite type of photography! Most of my very best photos have been long exposures of some kind or other. It was hard to pick three for the contest, but I decided not to overthink it - here are my submissions:

AlabamaHills.jpg

Alabama Hills

In California... on the eastern side of the Sierras (Mt. Whitney is in the balckground). This was a long exposure at night (a bright, moonlit night). We set the cameras up and my friend drove the truck back and forth a few times as I triggered the shutter.


Lightning Storm

Big Cottonwood Canyon, Utah

Long exposure during a lightning storm from Guardsman's Pass. Clouds, cars, colours and electricity! 146 seconds.


Circulating Leaves

Bear's Den Falls, Massachusetts

1-minute exposure of autumn leaves swirling in a pool. The currents that form beneath waterfalls like this often form a vortex, but it takes a long exposure and something colourful in the water to make the pattern appear. I used a 10-stop ND filter for the long exposure and a circular polarizer to darken the water.


Thank you, @jamtaylor for hosting this great challenge!

Sort:  

Btw, I hope you don't mind but I've created links to your fullsize images. This might help you win :)

ThumbLink
th-1.jpgAlabama Hills
th-2.jpgBig Cottonwood Canyon, Utah
th-3.jpgBear's Den Falls, Massachusetts

Oh! Why, thank you! I made my images clickable, but this works too. :)

@Derekkind your images don't appear to be clickable from my browser (chrome)?

Ooooooh, you're right!!! I forgot to make these clickable, but I just learned that the Steemit More Info extension I'm using in Opera (chromium) is making images clickable on it's own, so I didn't know it wasn't the same for others. Thanks for pointing that out! :D

No problems...and bingo the votes just came in for you! IMO I have seen a few $100-200 posts with images not even remotely as good as these 3 gems :)

Yes, I think the votes are thanks to @photofeed - they came by and resteemed, and I got a bunch of votes from their curation trail. It's true, Steem Power and followers count more than photo quality at this point, but curators like #photofeed are helping to get better photography noticed. :)

Great stuff! I really like Your works, highest quality shots with still natural colors and always interesting light. Well done!

Great feedback, thank you, @photovisions! :)

Three fantastic photos, I think you have a great chance of winning. My favourite's the Bear's Den Fall shot. Nice work.

Thank you! :D

Hi @derekkind. These are superbly good...I hope you get many more votes on this post!

Thank you very much! :)

Mannn, these shots are so good. Did you use a filter on that first pic? The mountains are so bright and well-lit!

#nofilter ;)

At least not that I remember...and I have no way of checking. But I rarely keep the polarizer on for night stuff.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.23
Server time: 01:42:43
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 577.95/800.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 95
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awesome photos, man

Thanks man! :)

Wow! Wow! Wow! I love all of them and am especially taken in by Bear's Den Falls.

Awesome, thank you @griffindeva! :D

Congratulations @derekkind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32