Eon....Warped?

Since it's an interesting question, I decided to participate in the name origin trend. Be prepared to be underwhelmed.

First off, my real name is Evan. I've not tried to hide this, but it does not frequently appear in my posts it comments, so there you are.

And as unoriginal as it gets, coming up with a screen name naturally starts with the same letter as your original name, or at least your favorite letter of the alphabet.

My favorite letter of the alphabet does happen to be e, and with plenty of reasons to love it!

  1. e for Euler's constant
  2. e for electron/positron in some particle physics diagrams
  3. E on eye exam posters
  4. E is skipped in the American grade scale ABCDF. No idea why.
  5. E for Evan.

I'm sure there's plenty of others, but this is a quick list.

Anyway, back to the name. Cool words that also start with e was the name of the game. eon came up fairly quickly, but I'm not sure why.

Eon, a division of time in the geologic time scale

Anyway, signifies a really massive amount of time. Anything this large is simply mind blowing. Our puny brains can barely imagine hundreds or thousands of years, forget grappling with what we think happened over millions of years* (if you're not a strict creationist).

Alright, so now to find a suitable pairing for a good old fashioned compound word screen name.

Then I'm pretty sure I was just playing a word association game at that point.

eon... time... time travel... time warp... warped!

So there you are. I come from millions of years into the future (most likely). Or maybe from "before" this universe's Big Bang. Or just outside the universe altogether. But I don't have any memories from before manifestation on Earth. Oh well.

I later would find out about the cult sensation from the Rocky Horror Picture Show, the Time Warp. I assure you there is no connection between that awful thing and my cleverness, har har har.

And in some odd coincidence, when I went to college the orientation day assembly concluded with the organizers trying to get everyone to do the Time Warp dance (1 SBD to the first person to comment which college that was).

Another cute factoid: my younger brother had an earlier screen name that imitated this name pattern, coming up with "ionrift". It's no longer the name, but was pretty funny to see those names side by side. Flattering even.

That about sums up my name origin. I know I'm supposed to do some other things but I'm not going to :)

Let's do... The Time Warp... Again!!!

(Just kidding. Let's tag some folks. Crypto Empire told me to: @spiritualmax @derangedvisions)

PS my very first screen name on battle.net was "Doh....nuts" ouch...


eonwarped_tax.png
steemengineBanner.png
eonwarped_red.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income:
MannaBase and SwiftDemand
Trade STEEM on Binance
Sola.ai :: Earn.com (airdrops) :: Refereum :: Earn STEEM with tasks :: Earn Sweatcoin
Sort:  

Oh wow I always thought it had to do with time and something brainy just like you and it is haha.

Awesome name for your brother as well ionrift

University of California, Berkeley! I saw some videos as well haha

Lol. I hope I wasn't in any of them. You are correct!

I was looking for your mug so that I can paste it in the Empire haha

Thats an interesting origin story! maybe you don't have access to your memories because you depleted your time traveling powers and you need to recharge to recover your abilities and memories!

Try going into a nuclear plant and report the results, if you felt recharged or maybe you'll turn into a mutant frog!

Mmm I don't know about that. Seems dangerous. Maybe when I'm older.

Oooh, I didn't know Eon and Ion were different words. I just thought that English was weird.

When I look at your name I actually think of Doctor Who and the time warp that the Tardis goes through every time the Doctor travels through history.

My name is even lamer. I didn't participate because of that. I just wrote "Crypto" on the Twitter registration page, thinking of my recent journey into cryptocurrency, and then scanned the available names one by one until I got to Sharon and, since it was actually available and not used a lot, and it seems legit, I just went for it. Lol.

Lol. Yeah also it would require you to reveal your real name. Or would it....? I should watch more doctor who.

Would it? I thought it was about the origin of my Steem account's name. About my own name, I have no idea where my parents got it, and every time they tell me, I forget. I guess it's not a very interesting story, lol. I do know that they said that they wanted it to be "unique", so they picked a then-rare name.

I like your name, its very catchy ☆ Much better than doh...nuts xD

cool name and actually a cool origin story... much cooler than mine I think :)

Vowel cutter!

Nice! I've seen your name many time in The STEEM Engine and wondered how it came about. Mine is pretty obvious. ;) Ha. Funny that your brothers name was so similar and I bet it did look cool together! Thanks for sharing your story!

Yeah! Now that I think about it. I like it more haha.

Man everyone has good origin stories but I just go my username by hitting a s by accident :(

With a bit of embellishment, I think you could make it one. Hmm let me try.


Username:

I froze in a panic. How do I want the world to recognize me? Will I be able to find something that stands out? Something that I can identify with? Oooh, there's just too much pressure...

Well let's just start with my name... S... A.... M.... E... S.
.. no wait! I looked in horror as my pinky instinctively lurched for the enter key. Noooooo..... And that's how I was forever named. No backing out now! Damn immutable blockchain and error prone system.

Hah might just do that :)

Lol, lovely embellishments. I could do something like that for my own username :O but I'd rather not. I like the name "sames", though. It sounds like a biblical name.

Hahaha thanks for giving the etymology of Eonwarped. It's an awesome name.

Lol @ doh...nuts XD

I think I'll do mine now coz I need to do a quick post before I indulge in bloodsport fest with my kids (UFC).

cheers

SIGNATURE.png

It's definitely rubbed off on me. I used to be a bit embarrassed when trying to tell people what it was haha.

I was thinking something of the sorts and yet something different at the same time for warped :p

Love it! Pretty smart name expected from a pretty smart guy like you!

I love the "warp" feels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45