Vegetarian-Like Tips for Meat Eaters.

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

vegetarian-like tips for meat eaters.jpg
I am a meat eater.

I love steaks.

MMMMMMM carnitas.

Chicken? Gobble gobble.

I can not imagine a Vegetarian Christmas, without the seasoned dead animals.

Yum.

I grew up eating meat with ALL of my meals EVERY single day. Vegetarians? Do they eat goat?

But sometime between having kids, learning about GMO's, learning about water quality, learning about earth's resources and how other people eat I started becoming more conscious ... and then there was that stroke that took my grandmother's life, and the cancer scare my grandfather had. LESS MEAT was the Medical recommendation. But how?

Here are some tips for eating less meat - from a meat eater

Gif Found Here

I still eat meat, but A LOT less often then I did before. I don't even eat meat daily, and if I have a vegetarian meal, I don't "miss" it or feel like i'll be hungry in a few hours.

Find the unnecessary meat, and get rid of it

Sometimes, I would put a big ole pork leg bone in my beans to make them that much more delicious. My mom added bacon to the lentils (why?). Shredded chicken or beef mixes in great with scrambled eggs, mmmm. A side of bacon with breakfast? Sure! Appetizer chicken wings? The spicy ones please?

That's the first thing I did. I found all the "extra" meat we were eating, and didn't replace it with anything, I just slowly phased it out.

I took the pepperoni from our home-made pizzas. If we order out, we still meat-it-up. The home ones are veggie.

I took the meat from breakfast Mon-Sat. That was easier than I thought.

I stopped making stuff "special" by adding bacon to it.

Salads don't need bacon, or cubed ham, or shredded chicken.

My family didn't notice too much because I did it slowly.

Stop buying certain meats for your home

gif here

I stopped buying "sandwich meat" its kind of gross to me now. If I buy and cook a chicken breast, I better eat it within days or it will go bad. But we have have cooked chicken breast slices in a plastic package and they won't go bad? How?

I didn't let myself figure it out. I just stopped buying it.

Take inventory of the meat items you do buy. Do you love them and need them? Or do you purchase them out of habit?

My parents kept breakfast meats in our fridge and freezer growing up. If the item was on sale, they stocked up. I don't do that anymore. What happens now that I don't have a stock of well, priced meats available to me? I don't eat them. Sure breakfast is more boring without the xyzzy meat product, but our arteries and hearts are healthier for it.

"But its cheap to eat hot dogs." Its cheaper to eat split pea soup.

Don't use meat substitutes

If you're going to eat a "vegan burger that bleeds" you're going to notice that it does NOT taste like the real thing. None of those meat substitutes are going to taste like anything less than meat substitutes to people who eat lots of meat.

You might be able to fool yourself once or twice. But "simply" replacing your meat patties with bean patties won't work (it didn't for me).

Instead, don't even TRY to replace meat, simply eat dishes that naturally DO NOT have meat.

I would rather eat a bean and potato burrito, then a bean, potato, and SOYRIZO burrito.

And instead of "vegetarian burgers" I have a "warm sandwich on a hamburger bun."

Don't fool your palate into vegetarianism. Develop a taste for vegetable-filled meals instead.

Stick to foods you like and know

gif here

Burritos, tacos, quesadillas, pasta dishes, soups. Those are the foods I eat as a meat eater, those are the foods I eat when making vegetarian meals.

Switching it up too much might make your stomach hurt.

If you're used to eating steak and potatoes. Switching to green curry might hurt your tummy. Why? Because of all the extra spices. Keep your meals similar, just meatless. Of course, venture out and eat whatever you want, just don't make drastic changes in the name of eating more vegetarian. You'll just get a tummy ache.

Eat meat, but eat less

There is no replacement for steak.

So don't replace it. Just eat less of it. Make the portions smaller. Then space out the days between the meals.

I still love steak.

I just don't eat steak sandwiches for lunch on any given day. Maybe on a special occasion.

You can either have a nice chicken breast for yourself. Or you can shred it and share it with a few people.

Find vegetables you like

Vegetarians eat vegetables. One can argue that someone who eats cheese sandwiches for breakfast lunch and dinner is vegetarian... but the term is vegetarian, you gotta eat some vegetables.

Its easier to forgo the meat, when there are veggies to replace it.

Potatoes, carrots, yams, eggplant, tomatoes, avocados, greens, broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, green beans. Which do you like? If you don't like any of them. Try again.

Maybe you do like carrots. Steamed carrots are yucky for me. Shredded carrots, caramelized carrots, slow roasted carrots, (carrots in cake), are all delicious to me.

Start playing with veggies one at a time, find ones you like, and start eating them... often. It will be easier to say good-bye to meat, if there is a new love to replace it with.

Avoid hard-core vegans

Gif Here

Just the ones who taut "guilt free eating" (completely forgetting that crop-pickers live and work in horrid conditions), and scoff at your small progress.

Avoid, anyone who doesn't appreciate your progress or criticizes your efforts.

Its hard for some of us meat-eaters to make more conscious choices. We only need people around us who are going to help us along. Someone reminding us that the cheese we are putting on our pizza is still "a water waster" are no help and will only derail us.

Try to be around vegans like my sister, she wants us to eat more delicious veggies, so she buys cooks, and prepares them for us, then shares the recipe.

Someone showing up at your doorstep (pre-arranged of course, I don't like drop-in visitors) with a vegan cheesecake is more helpful than someone who emails you vegan propaganda.


Those are some of the slow changes I made to getting my family to eat more vegetarian-like. We still eat meat, but a lot less of it.

Some vegetarian meals my kids like: Chilaquiles and beans, potato tacos, bean and cheese burritos, bean soup, calabazitas, veggie enchiladas, roasted veggies with rice, roasted veggie pasta, split pea soup and grilled cheese sandwiches, soup and salad combo.

Tacos and sandwiches are very versatile and easy to make meat-less, along with pasta and soups...

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog today. Do you enjoy vegetarian meals?

Sort:  

Hmm, good thoughts @metzli.

We have been phasing out pork in our house.
We dont buy pork, fish/seafood, or much else really. We eat primarily venison that #hippiehusband hunts (and we process), and rabbit we raise (but we sold them.. Long story) or organic chicken that we buy live and butcher.

I prefer to have organic, hormone free, grass fed, etc etc meats. Which are expensive.

We recently went paleo-ish (at least 100% gluten, dairy, soy, msg free), so things like rice, corn, potatoes (white), beans/legumes, are off the menu.
Eating organic "vegetarian" without those⬆ gets expensive with a family of 6.
I dont feel like eating less meat is really that good for you. I think eating QUALITY meat, looots of good fats, and quality organic produce is important in a healthy diet.
Adding in more grains/legumes (bean burrito vs beef, etc) isnt necessarily healthier.

Grains & legumes tend to be inflamitory foods.

:)

Yes. Quality meat. We are very lucky (for city people) our local butcher sources all the meats from local ranches and labels them for us. Organic, non -gmo, grass fed, grass fed - grain finished for extra taste. Etc.

Spending that extra bit does slow your meat consumption. Lol.

I started writing about the quality of meat and found myself in a whole new article.

Regarding beans and legumes, I think it various by people and by region - some people don’t thrive eating them, others do. There is evidence of my ancestors eating bean tacos dating back by hundresds of thousands of years. Of course, they didn’t fry their beans or eat them with cheese and wheat.

They ate them with corn tortillas, and avocados and tomatoes and maybe even some onions. Simple, delicious, healthy, and for every day health way better than daily steak.

Im not sure I agree thar beans & corn tortillas are way healthier than a daily steak.
Steak is a good protein. Most have nice fats in them, iron, etc.

Id take some good meat over beans and corn any day, out of health, not just preference.

Psssstt. Don't tell. I have bacon in my house.

Just before Christmas I decided I was going to eat a much more plant based diet. I have Vegan friends, but I'm not them. It's not like I don't like veggies, it's just that I had to have meat. Well, guess what? I don't have to have meat. Probably 3 days per week I am meatless. I average three chicken breasts per week. I bought some ham last weekend and made toasted Ham and Cheese sandwiches.

Lunch today was chicken breast cubed and stir fried with veggies. Lots of veggies, and I have enough left for another meal. Dinner will be a salad.

Anyway, you are right. It's pretty easy to cut down. And that bacon? It's half a pound less two slices right now (there were 7). I made pork fried rice with two of them. I'm ok with that.

Thanks for a great article.

It is easy to cut down. Now, when I do cook bacon, I make a limited amount.

Thanks for sharing your perspective:)

My science teacher explained to me how high cholesterol meat 🍖 is when I was in high school and since then I don't really like meat I prefer fish than meat but I do eat plenty of meats on salah day but I make sure I take enough medicines the next day to get ride of the cholesterol

My father countered my newfound knowledge of cholesterol (from when I was in high school) with knowledge about how different people are affected by cholesterol differently.

Then he told me about the blood based diet which suggested I eat meat.

It was confusing for me, and I decided to take the tastiest route.

Now I know better. Glad you do too.

Girl! You nailed it! I too, am a meat lover. Steak? Yes, please!

And given my daughter's complicated food allergies, sensitivities & gut issues, she could not survive with out meat- at least not right now. There are too many legumes and vegetables that she cannot tolerate.

I have several vegan friends. Some are super-cool, like your sister, sharing recipes and being positive and supportive. Others are the meanest people I know!

What we've tried to do since we started homesteading is to raise as much of our own meat as possible, and otherwise try to only buy grass-fed or pastured. It's costly, but I'd rather pay the farmer now than pay the doctor later.

Oh, and carrot cake? How about some extra cream cheese frosting please!

Sadly, my daughter's #1 allergy is CARROT! Can you believe it?

Anyway, you are killing it with these well-written posts. 😘

Thanks for the compliment:)

When I was younger I went to “The Ranch” (the land where my grandpa grew up that “belongs to all of my great grandmothers grand-fathers defendants”) in a visit and they had just killed a cow for dinner.

I wanted a burrito, and one of my “aunts” went outside, lifted a flap of skin off the cow and cut some strips of beef and made me lunch. It was the grossest most awesomest, most yucky most delicious burrito I had ever had.

Good thing your daughter has a great advocate. One of these days, I’m gonna get around to making my own bread like you do.

Another great write up my friend!!! I always tell people you don’t have to stop what you’re eating but just eat some of those things in moderation. Too much of anything could be bad for us.

We once “thought” about going vegan and tried to ease our way into it with smoothies and cutting down on meats. It was a hard deal and we decided we would never be vegans but could pick up healthier practices from them. I have NO idea WHY we still eat hotdogs and allow our kids to eat them when we know they are only a mush of horrible unhealthy junk. 🤢

I like your ideas and I’m sure this will help others to start a healthier regimen. 😊

Because hot-dogs are easy. Every once in a while, I get the organic, nitrate-free, etc etc, hot dogs - but it’s expensive so it’s definately a “treat”.

But I see them the grocery store sometimes, hot dogs on sale for 88 cent’s or $1.29 for a whole PACK and the kids are like “Mom, hot dog sandwiches, please! Like at grandmas house...” it’s hard to say no.

My boy does love to eat Costco
Hot dogs... you’re right... why?

I used to live with my vegan sister who was generous enough to cook for me too and I learned lots about being vegan. The
Most important thing I learned was about food combinations. Eating stuff like apples and almond butter sounds good, but it’s hard for those to digest easy together. It’s interesting stuff when you help your body make all your proteins (except for b12).

I learned from my vegan days
That avocado tacos are the best thing that ever happened in life 😂😂

Yes the organic ones are so expensive! It seems we eat them when I don’t feel like cooking a big meal, they’re just so convenient. I admit they do taste good on the grill. At times like those I don’t think about what’s in them I just eat them. 🤦🏽‍♀️

That’s really great that you learned quite a bit about being vegan when living with your sister. I never think about or research which foods won’t digest well together. I should because my kids get tummy aches sometimes after eating (so do I) and that could be from a bad match up.

Lol. They do taste good.

“Quick exit foods” is a good google search to learn about food combinations.

Thanks! I’ll have to search that!!

Great tips :)
I am trying to eat less meat since I began my studies. If I cook at home or eat in my universities cafeteria it works pretty wel but I am still struggeling sometimes when I'm eating out or spending the week with my boyfriend.

The boyfriend ... he can either help you along or completely derail you. When I first moved in with my husband he would complain about my food - so I tried to mould it to his liking. He still kept complaining, so I stopped trying and went back to cooking how I had before I lived with him. My food became delicious again.

Good luck 🍀 and much health.

Thanks for stopping by ❤️

Haha @metzli you are right, 👍. Too much of meat is not good.
How is your family? And have an amazing weekend

We are having a fine Friday filled with school work, bike rides, and home maintenance.

Hahahaha that is really enjoyment.... Keep shining @metzli

YES!! This is exactly what we do in our house and I think it a great step forward in sustainability for the planet. I have never thought about how a chicken loaf could last for days and just like you I dont even want to think about it. Slowly and steady is the key to not ruffling too many feathers of the household. But I fear @philippkienes love for bacon will never die!

My husband loves bacon too. He just doesn’t love it every Sunday. I make sure to get the nice thick cut bacon and cook it really crispy for him to make it worth the wait. (Ok - because I like to eat it that way too 😂😂).

We are really working on lowering our sugar and wheat consumption too... but that’s another story...

Before I prefer meat but when I got kidney problem, I have to lessen meat on my diet because too much protein can totally damage my weak kidney. SAD

Sorry to hear about your kidneys. Wishing you better health.

There seem to be lots of reasons to avoid meat.

You have said it all @metzli. But me like meat ooooo like I want to die........... Hahaha... Lol

Have a wonderful weekend @metzli

😂😂you have yourself a nice weekend too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30