Behind the scene, true Hotel Tales

in #steemitmamas6 years ago (edited)

It feels like we’re the Knights of the Round Table. But, there’s only 4 of us; Federico - General Manager, Santiano – Front Office Manager, Charles – Housekeeper & myself.

It was 5pm & we were all seated in Federico’s office. Most of the time, we’ll be sipping coffee ☕️ at this hour & talking about the days activities which isn’t much for a 350 hotel room in the city. It’s always the same complains; late check in / room service undelivered / incomplete room amenities. There’s hardly anything exciting that happens to this hotel.

bedroom-door-entrance-271639.jpg
Source Image

NO! Not on this day. We had overbooked the hotel for a Student Group from St Jude’s University. This whole group had arrived since 3pm & we’re been issuing their room keys since then. However, we have guaranteed 320 rooms but as of this minute we only have 280 rooms available for them. The principal, Mr Rogers have been asking for the balance 40 rooms & he’s not a pleasant person when he’s angry.

Sandy, confirm the group. We need this business if we’re to hit our budget for the year. It’s the last 100 yards run for us. There’s no way we can get anything larger this last minute.
Siew Peng, get your reservation team to call every booking on these dates & reconfirm their bookings. If it’s not confirmed with credit card, release immediately.
Those were the instructions from Federico, still loud & clear in my ears as it had happened just 2 weeks ago.

We were out of ideas. We managed to secure 40 rooms from another hotel that’s just 10 minutes walk away. But how do we convince Mr Rogers in agreeing to do so. There’s a specific clause in the contract that the Client may refuse to relocate themselves and if so, the Hotel Provider must bear all cost for the entire stay.

Sandy, You go down with Santiano to handle Mr Rogers. Whatever you do, just handle him.
But, Mr Federico… What am I supposed to say to him ?
Sandy, just do it. NOW!

adult-alone-anxious-568027.jpg
Source Image

I walked out with Santiano, full of disappointment towards Federico. Never would I expect my General to abandon his shipmates. Tears were slowing filing up my eyes, smudging my make up… I took in a big breath & brought myself back together. Santiano looked at me with pride. We can do this. What’s the worst that can happen ? Get public canning from the principal.

As we walked towards Mr Rogers, the worst happened. Mr Rogers was furiously mad, it was like the Gates of Hell opened right in front of us. Everyone was looking & I felt like I was in a Principal’s office, just that there was a whole lot of people watching.

It was then, the sound is siren rang from outside the hotel building. At least 5 fireman 🚒 came running into the hotel, heading to the lift…

accident-action-danger-260367.jpg
Source Image

HEY !! I KNOW THOSE MEN !

That’s Chef Samuel, Chief Engineer Jameson and the rest were our Banquet Managers…

From the corner, I saw Federico coming out from the lift, running towards us… Only this time, he was drenched wet from head to toe.. Oh Boy! What’s that smell… Did he just walked out from the sewer 😱

Mr Rogers, I’m Federico, the General Manager for this hotel. I’m so glad I managed to catch you. As you can see, we’re having a major sewerage leakage problem in 2 floors. And unfortunately these are one of the 2 floors which we have secured for you. I’m so sorry that this is happening now. We’re getting the fire man to help fix & they assured us it will be done within an hour or two.. but that still leaves us with at least 2 to 3 hours to clean up the mess & air the rooms before your students can get in if you don’t mind the wait…. If not, I have another alternative. I’ve approached another hotel General Manager & they are able to accommodate your students this very instant & its only 10 minutes walk away.

Mr Rogers emotions changed from anger to gratitude at an instance. He thanked all 3 of us, apologising for all the trouble caused. As Santiano assisted Mr Rogers to gather his students for the relocation, I stood staring at Federico. Tears flowing down my cheeks… I was speechless which is rather uncommon.

mubariz-mehdizadeh-344159-unsplash.jpg
Source Image

Federico turned & smiled…

*Now, we can’t use this trick all the time, plus this suit cost me a bomb


I have mentioned in one of my post that I would one day share one secret of Hotel Tales… Hope you have enjoy this true story & next time if you encounter a similar situation, make sure you ask to see the floor itself before moving out.. 😎

This is a true story but the names have been changed to protect the true identities of the people involved

Sort:  

I have to admit that my favorite part of the story was the very last bit.

This is a true story but the names have been changed to protect the true identities of the people involved.

I LOVE it!

Have to make sure it's clearly mentioned 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know if I'd ask to see the floor if it is a sewage problem haha
So good excuse he came up with ;p

Usually most people will never ask, that’s why we can escape 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @ireenchew! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That is hilarious! His poor suit, but a leader does what he needs to do and it doesn't seem to have hurt anyone, so that was quite a creative idea! 😁

I'll praise him for creativity that's for sure ... Though I never knew how he got that awful sewage smell on him

Posted using Partiko Android

@ireenchew Oh, probably better not to know... 😆

Your post has been featured in Teammalaysia 's Teh Tarik Sunday ! Keep up steeming .. enjoy the little tip!

Hi @ireenchew! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @myach!

Check out @myach blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Wow. A great insight and writing. Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed it

You welcome. Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh gosh. That was quite a stunt pulled with quick thinking! But I am pretty sure that every single staff on deck would have praised their captain who did not abandon ship.

So I am wondering now does every hotel has a few firemen suits tuck somewhere just for emergency cases?

I suppose this is one huge lesson learn: Always check through booked rooms thoroughly before taking bulk orders.

(ps: I also heard that from your sharing last night, there were some rooms set aside and never used because of certain cases I wonder is that true too?)

Yes it's true. We call it permanently out of order rooms & we don't put it into the inventory for sale

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63062.73
ETH 2687.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54