Steemit Jam #4 Submission: Nothing the Game

in #steemitjamsubmission6 years ago (edited)

"you start with nothing" the game

I am submitting this a bit early, because I am not feeling so well. If it were not for this, I would have implemented more of this project. That being said, I have very much enjoyed experimenting and playing around with this idea.

This is a submission for the Steemit Game Jam #4 hosted by @loomy.

"you start with nothing image"

As the game stands, there are currently four "goals"

  • space
  • peace/serenity
  • destruction
  • party/celebration

You can achieve each of the goals by adding 3 objects to the scene that relate to those goals. The trick is, you can only use letters from the phrase "you start with nothing". And that is about as far as it goes game wise.

Here are the space and party goals:
Space Goal Image
Party Goal Image

On the technical side

This game uses the getty images API to retrieve images to put on the objects in the scene. Everything is rendered using P5.js an open source creative coding library, and word processing is done using RiTa.js. There are minimal object attributes which are retrieved from the wikipedia database using their API.

Interesting things I was faced with

I rewrote the code for loading images multiple times. After realizing that loading assets all at once was slowing things down, I decided to create a queue that retrieves each image separately. I originally wanted to use Google images, but their API is not supported anymore, and there is a limit to queries on their new API.

Features not achieved

  • I did not have enough time/energy to make a main character to live in this world of nothing.
  • There is gravity, but no collisions between objects
  • I would have liked to add more attributes to the objects (like getting size, destructiveness, etc. from the wikipedia data)
  • And I would have liked to make this work for mobile... but unfortunately did not get to that.

Thanks! and have a good one!

Link to the game!

Sort:  

Am I too tired... or is there no link to try the game? Can't find it!

Sorry, totally forgot! Updated the post with the link

Thanks! I got space, will have another go :)

Got serenity, but was going for party. Oh silly me.

lol, glad someone was able to get a goal!

very interesting concept! tho there isn't much to guide me how i should type in the words or where. i love the idea!

Thanks! Yeah, I agree with you... One thing I wanted to emphasize, but didn't get around to was a blinking cursor :P

but yea it's a jam so time is limited. great work!

Looks cool! I'll try it soon!

Congratulations @kkcoder! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95