Three months on Steemit - I guess this is my job now ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

steemsubsmall.png


Things sure do have a habit of taking on a life of their own don't they? When @messykitchen told me about Steemit three months ago I had no idea of the impact it would have on the trajectory or my life, it's a biggie! At the start I was merely intrigued, having already made some positive blockchain experiences over the years I figured "Why Not?". So I began throwing some posts at Steemit, at first mostly older work and existing content without much method or mean. I was a little lazy about it and kinda opted for mostly images with little text so they didn't attract much in terms of upvotes or value. As I have learned since then, you get rewarded for expanding on your process, getting a discussion going and putting effort into your presentation. Fortunately the Steemit community is very helpful and kind. I've received so much quality feedback and advice from more excellent people that I can count on how to improve the quality, communication and style of each consecutive entry. Build on it and you will develop a flow of sorts!

The question and challenge will be whether we can turn this digital garden into a viable vocation. The first three months have shown me that this is a potential route but we need to be pragmatic and consider financial implications and time constraints also. Swinging a digital creative venture such as this one on your own in a first world country is a test. Still I am intrigued, still I'm thinking "Why Not?". The blockchain is here to stay. To make this reactor hum we are going to have to combine and refine several elements. I'll make some attempts to illustrate my strategies but first let's have a look at some stats and benchmarks to see how we have progressed.



Last Benchmark - Jan 12thCurrent Benchmark - Feb 12thChange
Followers: 260
Following: 123
Own Blog Entries: 198
Posts & Comments: 1390
Est. Account Value: $1,247.97
SP: 203
RP: 51.1
Delegations: 4.3 SP
Followers: 442
Following: 206
Own Blog Entries: 284
Posts & Comments: 2018
Est. Account Value: $1,060.60
SP: 257.752
RP: 54.1
Delegations: 81 SP
+182
+83
+86
+608
-187.37
+54
+3
+76.7


Aha everything has gone up except our account value. Let's examine why. For starters I am investing far more in delegations now. Pay it forward and support younger fish, projects and friends. You sacrifice a little bit of your own voting power this way but you strengthen the community which is a good pay off in my mind. If you have under 500SP a tool like SteemPlus works wonders if you also wish to delegate. You can also delegate and invest in projects like MinnowBooster to bolster the overall Steemit economy and receive a "wage" or "stake" in return! Another reason for slower gains in the overall account value was the general upheaval in the Cryptocurrency market with the big correction after the new year. Slowly recovery has set in and Steem and SBD have moved up to acceptable values around the 4 USD mark again. Still trying to find a good balance of Powering Up, Paying it forward, Paying myself and preserving some savings. This process is always a bit in flux methinks due to the nature of a volatile market. As Steemit gains traction and builds a larger userbase eventually Steem and SBD will become more independent from Bitcoin and co. and thus should hopefully become more stable over time.



Next we need to give ourselves enough tasks and content to produce regardless of how the general cryptocurrency economy is looking. In essence we are mining by posting to the steem blockchain. My goal is to post at least once a day but to prevent myself from posting nonsense I've got a couple of quests and projects lined up. Quality control is important and you should continuously seek to up your level. Fail upwards!


My Tasks:


Commissions:

  • Hummingbird mixed media painting for @Mammasitta on canvas.
  • Card Deck, at least 16 face cards + 1 Joker. Finished illustration, animation and a print for each. Hopefully get a complete deck printed by the end of the month.


Articles:

I consider Steemit an excellent place to practice my writing. I'd like to publish a 1000+ word article at least once a week. Here are a couple of topics I'm currently working out.

  • Animated Gif and Timelapse tutorial
  • Concert & Venue reviews
  • The "Boteconomy" on Steemit
  • Build a PC - Ryzen 1700
  • DSLR Camera tutorial
  • SpaceX and Spaceships in development.
  • A monthly summary like this one :)


Casting:

I believe the dLive platform has become more stable recently so expect some Steemit exclusive streams from me along with the occasional link to my Twitch.tv activities.

You can catch the Order of Chaos and I stream new and classic games live on my twitch channel at twitch.tv/zeroooc!


Communities:

  • @SteemArtists is a terrific and benign initiative by @spaceginger to bring together talented artists on steemit, showcasing and promoting quality artwork and to cultivate local talent here on Steemit. I encourage you to come by our Steem Artists Discord Channel. There is a pretty sweet community emerging here with talent worth supporting methinks.

    Roles:
    Moderation, Quest Giver, Tech Support and Sponsor.

  • #Steemit-Austria is my "home base" in the german and specfically austrian speaking world. Tons of good humor, talent and support to be found there.

    Roles:
    Moderation, Tech and Moral support.

  • #SteemitBloggers has been my "go to" channel pretty much since I started on Steemit. A community that has a high level of quality control and engagement. Always some very kind and helpful people hanging out there.

    Tasks:
    Chill in the chat more, regular contributions and support confirmations.

  • Order of Chaos

    The OoC is my own gaming/streaming/technology server. It is the backbone of this entire operation. A matter of the heart if you will.

    OoC has its roots as far back as 1999 when Nikki wanted to make his own Starcraft clan. We are a Happy Bunch of International Gamers and Scholars based in Vienna. We have since held competitive positions in Warcraft 3, WoW and Starcraft II among others. We practice the manner game (when we don't derp).


Challenges & Competitions:

I'd like to participate in at least two art contests a month. I really like the Design a Characters and Trial by Comics challenges so I'm eyeing those. Additionally I think one full week challenge like the #colorchallenge is viable once a month.

Additionally I have been hosting my own contests in the last month! The Sketch-Off has been super fun to host and I've been able to pay out more than 35SBD in prizes so far.
Check out Episode 1 (Year of the Dog) and Episode 2 (The Club of Antiheroes) to see the awesome creations people have come up with. Sponsoring art on Steemit is a delight and I plan to do a lot more of this kind of content in the future.


Gamification:

Man the current rate of levelling up in reputation reminds me of the stretch from 50 to 60 in the vanilla World of Warcraft. If we gamify the Steem experience a bit perhaps it will aid us in making it easier understand and more fun to use, especially for us digital native types. Let's put all those hours spent on video games to some additional use. I appreciate that there is money involved, but perhaps we can emotionally distance ourselves from the financial aspect a bit and have a little more fun with it. As you build your profile, over time you become more experienced and stronger. Of course all of this implies and relies on that you post somewhat consistently. Level 60 is certainly a goal, let's see how long it takes.

I try and see it like this:

  • Reputation = Level
  • Voting Power = Damage
  • Steem Power = Hit Points
  • Savings = Armor
  • Liquid SBD = Mana
  • Delegations = Buffs


R&D:

Some things I'm currently looking into or would like to learn more about also in regards to future posts. Always gotta keep reading! Perhaps you guys know some good sources?

  • 4k Video Editing
  • M2 drives and data transfer rate upgrades
  • Ryzen 1700x overclocking techniques
  • the origins of graffiti
  • 3rd Generation Blockchains
  • Ruby
  • Raspberry Pi/Linux/Kodi


Badge RePo:

I like making special "badges" in Photoshop to sign big posts with or to celebrate perceived achievements. Worked up quite a collection already! Feel free to use these any way you wish.

feline_bade.pngsketchoff_kraken_badge.pngsteemsubsmall.png
SignatureOne MonthTwo MonthsThree Months
steemartistssmall.pngoocrocket2.pngtoolbadge.pnggamingbadge.png
Steem ArtistsBlockchain RocketSTEMGaming
doge_badge.pngclub_badge.pngidea.pngminnowslayer_small.png
1st Sketch-Off2nd Sketch-OffHints and InfosMinnowslayer


Hint of the Day:

I've compiled all previous hints into one Compilation Post for your guys. A Hint about Hints!



If you like you can check out my previous two reviews, getting pretty comprehensive at this stage!

My second month on Steemit in review - Benchmarks, Recommendations and Tools

My first month on Steemit in review - Lessons and Observations

If you're feeling generous you can visit my Tip Jar.



Looks like I've got my work cut out for me. Feeling positively inspired though so let's see what kind of damage we can do in the next month. I wanted to thank all of you for the amazing support so far and I do believe we are only just getting started. Time to hustle!

keep on swimming,

Nikki a.k.a. ZeroOoC

1111.png

Sort:  

You are already such a super steemit Star! Keep going!

Thanks my mentor! It's you guys that motivate me :)

I really like these big update posts of yours, @zeroooc! They are very helpful for others who are also new to the big sea that is Steemit and they are always so thorough and insightful <3

upvooooooootes <3

You are such a positive delight it bears repeating. I try to contribute where I can, it's surprising what you can come up with when you start "giving a shit".

Yep it gets a bit like that XD I've had to really make sure I keep on top of steem time otherwise I will quite happily take up the entire day commenting and whatnot otherwise it eats up the day and then I don't have time for anything else x_x

Your gamification idea is cute. There are a few gamification things going on (the first one I was aware of is the steemitboards thing which is purely numbers and badges, and now there is also steempunk net and I think a monster collecting one as well but I have no idea how the last one works. I thought about getting in on the steempunk one as it's my kinda theme but a combination of time and sheer laziness has prevented that so far.

You may have to make the badges a bit smaller for when you have all of them XD

Hm I'm going to steal the task list idea, as it's occurred to me that I know what I'm doing (because I usually keep track of these things) but nobody else knows what I'm working on for other people so everyone assumes I'm really busy just with that when it's only a relatively small portion of what I'm working on XD

You really do have your work cut out for you don't you, good luck with all the things :D

goatsig

You always put so much thought into your replies @ryivhnn, it's awesome! I really like how you always show up and say "Morning Dreamers" in the channel, makes me happy :)

Yeah I looked at stuff from Crypto-Kitties to SteemPunk, still waiting to pull the trigger on those. In the meantime the gamification is a way to have and track progress. Much like with steemitboards that you mentioned! Let's see what emerges in terms of games from the blockchain in the next couple of weeks.

Like you said, it's potentially a huge vortex that you can fall into, so you gotta plan your approach a little. Time is money eh? "Bad artists copy, good artists steal!" Take any ideas you think might help you :)

I also made the badges smaller for you. THIS IS WHAT YOU MEANT RIGHT? :P

funny.png

Pfft! YEP. TOTALLY WHAT I MEANT XD

goatsig

I knew it! <3

Ryv comments are the best Comments. ❤️
Aside from yours of course.
Btw, are you aware that in the light version of steemit your avatar is practically invisible because it’s white on white?
You might wanna either make it a light colour/grey that can be seen on both versions or make the BG colour not see through but like a super light grey or a white with a tiiiiiny bit of colour in it to set it apart from the white steemit bg.
That is, only if you care obv 😂

Oh ya good call, I use "night mode" so hadn't considered it. The goat must shine!

Really enjoyed this post bud. You've just given me a few other places to check out :)

Thanks @raymondspeaks
You are such a calming presence it's inspiring. If the meek shall truly inherit the earth then I hope it's gentle folk like you that get it :)

Whoop whoop!
As always, your recap is a sweet mixture of entertaining, informative and inspiring. ❤️ I wish I wasn’t such a chaot because I totally missed my first month mark 😂
Thank you for being my Steemit sensei!

I'm happy I can contribute. In the last couple of years I've become a lot more analytical in my approach. It does help to break big tasks down into smaller parcels. Research is a lot more fun these days hah!

You are a valuable asset to the community. Keep up the great work & attention to detail

Thanks @chelsea88!
Your dedication and consistency is super inspiring :)
Thanks for looking out for me ^^

Thanks so much & you're welcome 😊

Wow this a big update :)You are super cool person and reading you posts is a pleasure.! I personally struggle with time and I want to spent more time here talk to people read cool posts ....I hope I could participate in at least one contest a week other way I need to wait for vacation to be able to post here :))))) Youtube eat most of my free time and I cant neglect it ($$$ coming form it) Steemit is more for to feel complete and artsy in way. I love your badge collection! I will need to check out #SteemitBloggers. Will wait for more of you articles !

Oh what's your YouTube channel @marinaart? If you leave the link here you'll have at least one new follower. Hopefully I can host another contest that interests you because your art is very very good!
The badges are fun! I kinda reward myself for my own progress...oh the vanity!

Thank you :)

My channel's name is Little Kinder Club https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClx6ya5WnIasjYayMI8eAkQ/videos?disable_polymer=1 I paint only Thomas and Friend for past few month, but befor it was bigger variety ( thanks to YT algorythm it is not now)

That's the hard work of perseverance and determinations that I saw. Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your next masterpiece on Steemit :) See you around~

This is ten percent luck, twenty percent skill
Fifteen percent concentrated power of will
Five percent pleasure, fifty percent pain
And a hundred percent reason to remember the name

Thanks xD

Congrats dear!
You sure work hard here and I'm happy it's now official :D
Wishing you tuns of success, keep on growing and growing and enjoy every step of the way <3

Thanks my friend! Of course I will still do photos, video editing, bookkeeping and various other jobs in "the real world" until it can be a viable replacement but I can combine it and hopefully shift it to the blockchain more and more as time goes by. It's an adventure :)

It sure is ^_^
Good luck! <3

Happy three months master @zeroooc :)

Thank you Ms. Narwhal @zeitgleich
blubb blubb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62720.27
ETH 2447.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64