Making the Winter Gardens: Building Tiny Greenhouses from Old Junk Makes the Garden Look Like a Junkyard!

The season's first freeze is happening right now in the Ozarks, and the beds in this year's winter vegetable garden are ready for it with their new greenhouses.

Every year I go around the garden and gather up the various building materials to make little greenhouses for the winter vegetables. Using what is available around the garden, these makeshift greenhouses tend to have a unique look when they are done.

With frost finally in the forecast for the weekend, it was time to build those mini-greenhouses over these winter beds.

spinach2.jpg

Spinach, chard and kale, all planted weeks earlier, would all get their own houses, beginning with the spinach house.

Spinach House

Racks, grates and grills always have a use in the garden, protecting the sprouts from being eaten or trampled in the beds:


spinach1.jpg

These racks can also be used as the framework of a miniature greenhouse:


spinach3.jpg

The frame is wrapped in plastic sheeting, leaving a door for watering and picking leaves:


spinach5.jpg

This little structure will keep the frost off of the plants, and will help to trap the sun's heat in the created space.

Another rack is wrapped in plastic for the door, finishing the spinach house:


chard5.jpg

(this wrapped removable door is something new that I'm trying this year.)

Next Structure was the Kale House

The construction of the kale house was going to require some more bamboo, so I went into the mysterious bamboo forest that darkens the edge of the maples beyond the pond to cut a few stalks.



kale02.jpg

This is the larger kale bed before the house was built around it:


kale01.jpg

Bamboo frame is started:


kale03.jpg

A complimentary pink yarn to tie the bamboo is selected.



kale04.jpg

No time for scissors-- machete cuts faster:



kale05.jpg

kale07.jpg

kale08.jpg

tape over the yarn lashes

Finally the plastic wrap goes over the frame, to be pinned down and further insulated later with more logs and rocks as needed. A plastic drape door is devised for this house.


kale09.jpg

kale10.jpg

Another smaller bed of kale, needing a quick house

kale1.jpg

This smaller bed of kale transplants gets a frame made from an old camping chair, and will be equipped with a passive solar heater. When possible, I'll put a stone or brick inside the structure to retain heat from the days sun, to then share that warmth with the plants at night. The dense stone or brick will store heat for quite a while after sunset, and can make a big difference to the plants that are near it on a cold night.

kale2.jpg

kale4.jpg

The chair frame will have to be finished later, this cover will protect the plants from the frost for now. Meanwhile. the chard house was next on the project list.

Chard House

This one's frame is made from an old salvaged bed frame, jammed into the ground. On the left side in this frame is a broccolini plant from last year-- I don't know if it's going to try to flower again, but I covered it just in case it decides to produce more.

chard1.jpg

already framed, this chard house just needs plastic

chard3.jpg

rainbow chard

chard2.jpg

chard house, with spinach house in background

Ready for the Frost

Below, a photo of the garden before dark, facing East. With the exception of the camping-chair kale house on the left, all of the houses are mostly finished, and are certainly ready for a frost before I seal them up and fine tune the plastic wrap.

kale11.jpg

left to right: chair with kale, spinach (center), bamboo kale house, and chard house (also on far right is the bee house!)

Passive Solar Design

All of these structures face south with their plastic fronts, with rocks and dense bricks in the back-- the northern side-- to gather the sun's infrared radiation trapped in the plastic house during the daylight, without blocking the direct ultraviolet rays to the plants.

The plants that I housed; giant noble spinach, Russian red kale and Swiss and rainbow chard are all very resilient to the cold, and these mini greenhouses and the warmth they will collect might compel the plants to grow faster through the winter.

It was one of the last warm days, perfect for building homes for the garden vegetables, and while they might not be pretty to look at, they give me a sense of comfort knowing that we'll have fresh greens through much of the winter from these little greenhouses. They were simple to build, and made of materials that were laying around already. The seeds were a few years old, I only bought a new roll of plastic this year, everything else was free.

  • roll of plastic sheeting, $16
  • 3 packs heirloom seeds, $7
  • fresh greens all winter, priceless!

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 1.00.30 PM.png


@therealpaul

Sort:  

Thank you! I didn't even know about this page until now... followed!

Very innovative and quite fascinating. Love the re-use of anything that works. As you say, saves money, and it WORKS. Very trendy gardening indeed.
I had some Collards a couple years back that finally got to over 6 feet tall. They withstood some pretty nasty weather, but then again, the leaves are like an old shoe. But as you say, greens all winter are absolutely priceless. I need to make some houses like yours, as I'd love to have a bunch of Kale this year. Better get on it. Thanks for sharing your gardening skills. Have a nice night.

I'll bet it's not too late to start kale, and it grows pretty quickly-- it won't be long before I start to thin these rows a bit. I'm hoping the greenhouse will speed up their growth even more, but I found a bunch of dandelion and dock that had dared to sprout this late in the year, so the fresh greens are already happening.

Nice work done there :)

Interesting. What temperatures can the vegetables withstand in those greenhouses?

In Canada where I live the temperatures get pretty cold so I feel like the ground would freeze solid and kill everything despite the greenhouse.

Such a cool idea though. I'm wondering if I could make it work somehow.

The last picture in your article is hilarious by the way, looks like a mini campground lol

I think in your region you would need to construct cold frames, or beds that are sunken into the ground with a sloped glass wall. I've also seen models where fresh compost is kept in the chamber with the plants, and as it breaks down it serves to heat the space through the cold spells.

We have pretty mild winters here compared to Canada, and while these kale can withstand some brutal cold, I have seen them freeze here without protection from the sky. If there comes a time this winter when we get some Canadian temps, I will probably throw a blanket over the tents for a few nights to prevent freezing.

I see. You are probably right that makes sense. Thanks for the info.

Love the ingenuity and resourcefulness! It's not junk if it's still useful. Great job finding just the right parts to fit the size of beds. They're going to happily snug in their new houses!

They are snug- I opened the doors to water them today and a big puff of steamy air came out of them, I'll have to make sure they're not too hot now!

Wow, that's a good sign they're working! I'm sure you'll find a happy medium on the temp quickly. Well done!

Great work for the winter vegetation. You have done it very smartly to protect the vegitables from cold and animals too. Thanks as you are a vegetarian so your idea of making the world beautiful is great. Thanks for sharing, wish you a very happy day friend.

I think every year my little houses get better. The first winter I was here I just draped plastic over the beds, and it helped some, but lots of cold air got in!

How much cold you have experience in winter, nowadays in my area it is about 20degree not any cold.

It's about 1degree C here right now, by dawn it will be about -2. You are closer to the equator than I am- here I sit on the edge of a sub-tropical zone, but there are times when the winters get down to -20 C for a night or two. Usually it's not that bad, but I would like your 20 degrees through the whole winter!

My area belong to 26 latitude Assam so it is very cold only in the mid December and January but now it is very enjoyable weather here, 1degree it's very hard to go out. Have you experienced snow fall?

Yes we get some snow nearly every year. In 2010 it snowed four feet! (over 1 meter) Remember the bee house? This is it after that big snowfall:
Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 9.36.21 PM.png

OMG I how did you manage to save the bee hives from that cold and vagitables. Please tell me about your place and living situation. I am very excited to know.

My bee house never had any bees in it, and I don't think I tried to grow a winter garden that year, so the snow was ok with me.

I live in WI so this is definitely handy for the cool temps here (though maybe not the super cold)! May I link this article and feature your username in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? Let me know as soon as possible! Thanks @therealpaul!

Thanks for your interest. These plastic houses may be too light for Wisconsin, but they could extend the season for certain crops.
Of course, links to this are welcome!

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that this article has been featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you are interested! Thank you and have a great Sunday!

I will check it out, thank you!

“I give you indefinite permission to include my articles in future newsletters!”

Thank you so much! Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31