You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making the Winter Gardens: Building Tiny Greenhouses from Old Junk Makes the Garden Look Like a Junkyard!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Interesting. What temperatures can the vegetables withstand in those greenhouses?

In Canada where I live the temperatures get pretty cold so I feel like the ground would freeze solid and kill everything despite the greenhouse.

Such a cool idea though. I'm wondering if I could make it work somehow.

The last picture in your article is hilarious by the way, looks like a mini campground lol

Sort:  

I think in your region you would need to construct cold frames, or beds that are sunken into the ground with a sloped glass wall. I've also seen models where fresh compost is kept in the chamber with the plants, and as it breaks down it serves to heat the space through the cold spells.

We have pretty mild winters here compared to Canada, and while these kale can withstand some brutal cold, I have seen them freeze here without protection from the sky. If there comes a time this winter when we get some Canadian temps, I will probably throw a blanket over the tents for a few nights to prevent freezing.

I see. You are probably right that makes sense. Thanks for the info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46