Little Me And The Black Sheep Of The Class

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

This post has been inspired by @steemiteducation and the current Steemhomework challenge. If you are new to the @steemiteducation channel, please do pop on over to their blog to find out how you can become an active member of the community. 

The Question:


If you could turn back time, what would you change and why? 

Often, we as teachers are overwhelmed by the amount of students in a class and we don't give enough attention to certain students. Most of us have that one student that we wished we treated differently..... tell us about it.

Image Source

Little Me And The Black Sheep Of The Class


My teaching days are over and where short-lived, but that does not mean that they are not a part of me and that they did not shape who I am today. In fact, when I read this question I knew exactly what, or more like who, I wanted to write about.

When I left high school I immediately started to study towards a Psychology degree. I chose to go the distance learning route, so that I could work part time too. This is when I took on an assistant teaching position, which soon lead to me becoming a playgroup teacher to a class of my own. The little guys were all between the ages of two and three and I was so enthralled by their cute and little innocent faces. 

Now remember, I was only 19 at the time, come to think of it, I was still a child myself! I think I handled it all very well at the time and took good care of the six children who were assigned to me. One day however, a new little kiddo joined our group, and he was somewhat different. He came to stir the pudding and boy did he stir! Keeping my class in order was a breeze until this firework came along. 

Let’s call him “E”.

Young “E” set in like a whirl wind, he would not cooperate, he teased, he learnt how to unlock the latches and escape the classroom, he’d paint the walls and not the paper – while the others went one way, he went the other. 

Instead of trying to get to know “E” on his level, I begrudged the poor kid. I took my anger and frustration out on him and felt annoyed that he came to upset our peaceful routine. Fast forward to just over ten years later, I was blessed with a little “E” of my own. 

Being older, wiser and a tad more patient made me realise however that I do not have a tyrant on my hands, I have a brilliant child who has come to test the world to it’s limits and do great things! It took me some time, a lot of praying and some good advice to get down on my knees and get to know my son on his level. I had to learn how to communicate with him and understand him before I could find a way to guide his light instead of breaking his spirit. 

Now I find myself regretting how I treated the situation as a young teacher and in a way, I get angry with the school’s principal for allowing me to take on the teaching position at such a young and irrational age. If I was more informed, experienced and perhaps given guidance by a more qualified teacher, I could have made a difference in this little kid’s life, instead of oppressing him and begrudging him. 

In essence, my message is this:

There is a reason why teachers need to study for years, why they need to do a variety of practical assignments and work as assistant teachers before taking on the very fragile task of manning a class of their own. Only once I became a mother myself did I realise how beautifully unique children can be and that with the wrong environment and wrong teacher, their little lights can be dimmed and they will never shine as brightly as they were meant to.

With this in mind, I would like to share a video which was brought to my attention just an hour ago by fellow Steemian and founder of @steemitbloggers, @jaynie. This video highlights how unique each child is and how each one has something amazing to offer the world, if they are just given the time of day and the right teachers who are eager to help them realise their strengths and potential, instead of trying to fit them into their comfortable box.

Thank you @steemiteducation for allowing me to reminisce about the past and learn from my mistakes. I truly hope little “E” found his light and that his teachers who followed had the knowledge and wisdom to allow him to blossom and take on the world in his own way, with the correct guidance.


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Great! This is why we always need to move forward :)
Don't Let Yesterday Take Up Too Much Of Today.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

There are many little E’s in the world that need quality educators. I do hope that they get them because those cute little souls deserve them 💚

Totally agree with you @zen-art :)

Thank you for sharing your story with us! There was a time when I did that too. Back when I was younger, I always think that if that person is different I shouldn't be a friend to him. I got a little wiser, I've come to realize I should look past the things from what I see and look from within.

Thanks for this reminder @sweetpea. :)

Love the article sweetpea. It brings this point to my mind that we are all still and always will be children. Some are old and some are young, but still children in so many ways. And that part of a child that knows how to dream is at least one part I never want to lose. :):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97