Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea - The Seersucker Stitch

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I am making progress on my Afghan blanket, very slowly, but surely! My latest addition is a patterned block that I love! It includes raised diamond shapes that would compliment nearly any knitted garment. It’s also super simple to do and is an awesome stitch for beginner knitters. The stitch is called:

THE SEERSUCKER


Definition:

a lightweight fabric with a crimped or puckered surface. - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seersucker

While the name of this stitch is not very flattering, the end result is. In fact, it’s one of my favourite stitches. The pattern included 8 rows of simply knitting and purling.

All images by @sweetpea

THE PATTERN


* This pattern is courtesy of: knitpurlstitches.com

Cast on in multiples of 4. So 4, 8, 12, 16, 20 etc.

  • Row 1 and 2: *Knit 1, purl 1, repeat from * to end of row 
  • Row 3: *Purl 1, knit 3, repeat from * to end of row
  • Row 4: *Purl 3, knit 1, repeat from * to end of row
  • Row 5 and 6: *Knit 1, purl 1, repeat from * to end of row
  • Row 7: Knit 2, *purl 1, knit 3, rep from * to last 2 sts, purl 1, knit 1
  • Row 8: Purl 1 *knit 1, purl 3, rep from * to last 3 sts, knit 1, purl 2

Repeat rows 1 to 8

If you are new to knitting and have yet to master the art, please see some of my tutorials below where I share the basics of knitting from how to cast on and off to how to do garter and stocking stitches. 

While every now and then I try knitting something new, lately I am quite dedicated to keeping it simple and I am enjoying creating pretty blocks for a blanket I am putting together. I am calling it my STEEMIT BLANKET 😊 Once done I have plans to donate it to someone who could do with a warm “made with love” blanket. 

 Thank you for taking the time to knit with me! If you are just here for a read, thanks for stopping by, perhaps I have given you some encouragement to start a knitting project of your own in the future! If you are new to the series of Learning To Knit With @sweetpea, you can find more of my tutorials and patterns listed below:

01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch)

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch)

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns)

10 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: Three-Needle Bind-Off

11 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Circular Knitting  

PATTERNS by @sweetpea:



Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I can remember my mom making me a few sweaters when I was a little kid with this stitch!!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

I love the look of this stitch! I really need to dig out my knitting needles and do something for my granddaughter. My sons remember all the Fair Isle sweaters I made for them when they were little...

I am going to get started again with your pattern.
fun stuff! Time to look for the yarn and knitting needles.
Resteemed #steemitbloggers

This looks like an interesting texture, I must try it.

Congratulations @sweetpea your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.25 as part of the @ecoTrain Community Support Initiative. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

I thought I understood it until I read "casting" and then i got lost XD I know how to knit stitch and purl stitch, but I guess I'll need to read the rest of your tutorials to figure everything else out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41