Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Quick Knit Doll's Dress

in #artzone6 years ago

It’s been a needle-work kind of weekend. I set Steemit aside yesterday and decided to spend time with my family and work on some of my other projects instead. The end result, this little doll’s dress which I made for my niece.  I pretty much made it in one day, the pattern is super simple and it’s a fun and quick knit, a perfect weekend project that I know is going to put a smile on a certain two-year-old’s face. 

So, if you have been following my series: Learning To Knit With @sweetpea then consider this my latest addition! If you are new to the series then please do take a look at my tutorials which I will list towards the end of this post. It’s my hope that these tutorials and patterns will inspire you to learn the craft yourself, or perhaps you’ll take to one of the patterns I share. 

To make your very own dolls’ dress you will need basic knitting skills, a perfect project for first-time knitters. The materials you will need include:

  • A pair of size 3.4/4 knitting needles
  • Double Knit Yarn 
  • A button
  • Stitch holders (I use paper clips)
  • A pair of scissors

Large I sewing needle

The pattern I followed is courtesy of Kerlaine Passions and can be sourced at: http://kerlaine.canalblog.com/archives/2012/01/05/23170629.html

Knit Your Own Doll’s Dress:


Front:

  • Cast on 72 stitches.
  • Work 4 rows of garter stitch.
  • Continue in garter stitch for the 5th row, but k2tog (knit 2 together) as you do, leaving you with 36 stitches.
  • Continue in stocking stitch, starting with a purl row. Work in stocking stitch until your work measures 12cm.
  • At 12cm work again in garter stitch, k2tog in the first row, leaving you with 18 stitches.
  • From the next row onwards increase at each end of every RS row:1after the 1rst stitch and 1 before the last one (8 times), or until your work measures 14cm.
  • Now you need to cast off your 6 central stitches and work each side (sleeve) separately. Use your stitch holder to secure the side you are not currently working on.
  • Cast off when each side measure 16 cm.

Back:

  • Same as front, until you reach 12cm mark.
  • At 12cm work again in garter stitch, k2tog in the first row, leaving you with 18 stitches.
  • Separate your work in the middle (use stitch holders) and work separately.
  • From the next row onwards increase at each end of every RS row:1after the 1rst stitch and 1 before the last one (8 times).
  • Work in Garter stitch until 15.5cm and then cast off 3 stitches on the side of the neck.
  • Continue to knit with an increase at the end of each sleeve side until work measures 16cm.
  • Sew top of sleeves and side of skirt together. Add a button and loop to the back par to join your two back pieces.
  • If you have any trouble following the pattern, feel free to pop me a message, you can get me on Discord soon!

    Images by @sweetpea

    Thank you for taking the time to knit with me! If you are just here for a read, thanks for stopping by, perhaps I have given you some encouragement to start a knitting project of your own in the future! If you are new to the series of Learning To Knit With @sweetpea, you can find more of my tutorials and patterns listed below:

    01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

    02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

    03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

    04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch)

    05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch)

    06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

    07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

    08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

    09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns)

    10 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: Three-Needle Bind-Off

    11 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Circular Knitting  

    PATTERNS by @sweetpea:


    Much love - @sweetpea

    (bringing you original content)

    Join us @steemitbloggers

    Animation By @zord189

    Sort:  

    We had to knit this exact same dress when I was in standard three. I couldn't knit it then and I have not improved on those skills...lol

    Lol, think it's time you give it another go??

    Adorable!! The doll dress is simply adorable and I love the nice tight stitch! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

    Thank you @crystalize, I appreciate your positive feedback "Blush face"

    What an adorable little dress! Must be a lot of fun making cute little things for your little niece's doll :D

    I love it, can't wait to give the items I have made for her this weekend!

    Beautiful work friend @sweetpea, God bless you always.

    Thank you so much for the compliment :)

    I saw a gorgeous little knitted jacket in one of the big stores on Saturday and walked by it thinking I don't have any babies around me just now. It never occurred to me I could make one for my nearly-life-size baby doll, a memento from my childhood! Thank you for the idea!

    It's my pleasure! I was also quite eager to knit for a baby, but though a few dolls clothes for my niece would be a nice idea to keep me busy while we wait for a new baby in the family.

    hey dear @sweetpea .... long time no see ... I wish I could know how to knit, never had the patience to learn from my mother.

    Ah well it's never too late to learn! And knitting has a wonderful way of teaching patience :)

    Thank you for sharing this cute pattern. It is such a good idea to start with something small to learn knitting. And I love the minty colour :-D

    I love the colour too, I have been using it for all sorts of projects, it's so pretty!


    If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
    100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

    Thanks @sweetpea for this nice teaching on how to knit Doll's dress. I really need to show my cousin who show great interest on how to knit dress.

    Oh please fo show her :)

    💖 your great post! 🤗

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.029
    BTC 64349.20
    ETH 2673.53
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.83