07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Knitting is not only a fun pass time that has an amazing way of clearing your mind, it’s a skill that can be used to generate an income too! Your wares can be sold to shops and boutiques, or you could start a business of your own. So, don’t for one-minute think that the art of knitting is simply recreational, oh no, it can become your job!

That’s where I come in 😊 hello, I’m @sweetpea, and I am here to teach you how to knit through my video tutorials and my series titled Learning To Knit With @sweetpea. I have already released a few demonstrations that include how to cast on those first stitches, how to knit different stitches and how to shape your knit work. You can find my tutorials in the index below:

01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch 

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches 

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch) 

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch) 

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

Today’s addition looks at increasing stitches when on a purl row, which is significantly different to when knitting a plain or Garter stitch. 

It's me, @sweetpea !

To help explain the steps, I have put together the following video tutorial for you:

INCREASING STITCHES ON A PURL ROW


If you didn’t quite understand the visual demonstration, perhaps the following steps will give you added guidance:


  1. On a purl row, work until position for increase is reached.
  2. Pick up yarn lying between the stitch just worked and the next stitch on left- hand needle and place on left- hand needle.
  3. Purl into the back of the loop by inserting the right-hand needle from left to right to twist the stitch, this avoids a hole in the fabric. 

FIY:

In a knitting pattern this is called M1 pw.

Your pattern will always tell you when to increase your stitches, and it will also have a nice note at the end of the instructions to tell you how many stitches should be on your needle when you complete the row, like this: Row 5: P2, inc 1, P to last 2 stitches, inc 1, P1. (17 <sts)

Knowing how to increase stitches seamlessly is very important, because this is how we give more intricate projects like beanies, jerseys or toy their shape. In fact, if you need some inspiration on what to knit next, why not try out this Beanie Pattern:

Thank you once again for taking the time to Learn To Knit With @sweetpea! There will be plenty more tutorials and patterns to follow, so please stay tuned and pop in often for more updates! Happy knitting!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189



Sort:  

My pleasure :)

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow
Join us on Discord : https://discord.gg/bC3aa
Resteemza image small.jpg

What a nice weaving @sweetpea, congratulations! God bless you and your family.

Regards...

Thanks my friend x

Whoa!
You are so good behind the needle, you are a natural, What a nice weaving @sweetpea
More blessings

Thanks, you made my day with your kind words :)

I love your post
Amazing Post

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Wow amazing you are so skilled with the needle how i wish i am as talented as you lol.

I am sure you have many talents! :)

I need to get back into my knitting. I started a pair of mittens when I lost a pair last winter. I can't find my others. Now I have to knit them!

Ah that's something I haven't tried! Not much need for mittens here in South Africa, but would love to give a pattern a go!

In our part of South Africa, they are mandatory! In Will see how I go and try to document my knitting ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88