How do you pronounce "SCHEDULE"?!?!steemCreated with Sketch.

How do you pronounce "SCHEDULE"?!?!
Screen Shot 2018-01-15 at 12.10.44 PM.png

Hello, steemians :)!

I haven't written my introduction post yet... which I am planning on... The majority of my posts I dedicate to English learning. So as you could probably guess, I am an English teacher 😎. I actually teach English online. I am originally come from Ukraine and my first language is Russian. I work for an online school and today, I have attended 🙋 a speaking club for teachers with a native English teacher who is British. He has a Bachelor of English Language and Literature degree and additionally to that has TEFL certificate. He has been teaching English for 9 years and 4 of them he teaches English online (I could be mistaken here).

So, my post isn't about this teacher or my school, nor about me 😇... but it's about a mistake that I made in my speaking during this lesson. Here I would like to share this experience with, so you would avoid this pretty common mistake. The mistake I made was in the pronunciation.

The issue with this word is that it has two ways of pronunced: one is British /ˈʃedjuːl/ according to www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com and American /ˈskedʒuːl/ according to www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com and www.merriam-webster.com.

The mistake I made was the third type of pronunciation :) /ˈskeduːl/ WHITHOUT sound /ʒ/. The reason I made it because before I thought I heard it that way. My first language is Russian and in Russian language the sound /ʒ/ is stronger than American /ʒ/. Watch and listen attentively how Rachel who is native American teacher pronounce word "schedule", below.

I had asked before my American friend how they pronounce this word and the answer was /ˈskedʒuːl/ BUT I heard it as /ˈskeduːl/ (WRONG version, don't pronounce it like that 🙅). At school and at English courses I was taught British version /ˈʃedjuːl/. Here is the British pronunciation

Therefore, today I had decided to draw closer attention to this word and came across with this article where I found the best explanation to my mind. The author of that article explains all possible variants of pronunciation for "schedule" which there are, apparently more than two 😈:

UK: /ˈʃɛdjuːl/ (shed-yool), less commonly /ˈskɛdjuːl/ (sked-yool)
US: /ˈskɛdʒuːl/ (skedzh-ool), /ˈskɛdʒʊl/ (short “oo”) or /ˈskɛdʒəl/ (skedzh-uhl)

As well as, he explains the origins of this word and that's why it has several pronunciations.

So to sum up everything said above, I personally came to conclusion to stick to two most commonly used variants of the pronunciation ➪ which I recommend to learn from two native English teachers whose work I like a lot: Rachel is American and Cork is British (Scottish actually if I remember correctly).

I hope you will find this information helpful 🙌.
✍ Please, comment and upvote 🙌.

❀ ❀ ❀ Follow me on Steemit @irina.olsen and Upvote 🙋. ❀ ❀ ❀
Created by @irina.olsen
resteem.png

✿ Materials used: ✿
Article "Pronunciation of ‘schedule’ in American and British English, by Jakub Marian"
➪ Title image is taken form here.
➪ Lessons about pronunciation: American and English pronunciation.
➪ Post with a list of Emojis.

✿ Here is a list of my other posts: ✿
Previous ➪ Lesson #1 - New Year Resolutions, Intermediate level. Part 1, Part 2, script only.
Previous ➪ MAC KEYBOARDS. Usage of two languages.
Previous ➪ post about MacBook "MS Office for Mac".
Previous ➪ Lesson #1, Starter level.
Previous ➪ Digest #October, 2017, here are all English lessons created in October.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67851.31
ETH 3815.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77