Sort:  

Really good article. The only thing I've been told by a couple of dolphins and a whale was pretty much stay away from trending. You won't find they are primarily the large posts with a large following. If you want to help the community find the small people that are creating good content and raise them up On the trending page they get lost.

Also I read this post today from #lynncoyle1 who is a part of @newbieresteemday It gives a few recommendations that are inline with what you're saying.

https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@lynncoyle1/more-invaluable-tools-to-use-on-steemit

Thank you so much for that @tryskele! It's great to see everyone sharing all of their knowledge...there's absolutely no reason why everyone should have to reinvent the wheel here!

And your comment here is a good one. I think as long as our comments are genuine and provide some addition to the post or kudos for a job well done, anyone of any size will appreciate it :)

You're most welcome @lynncoyle1. It is a goto now. You did such a great job putting it all together. Why not share it?

That's kind of you; thanks again!

very cool @tryskele... this is an awesome thing to do! Its how communities get built, one helping another! I'm impressed with your comment and love that you took the time to explain!!! You earned viking-ventures notice and I will get his article upvoted and resteemed and I will give you a newbie nickel just because you did an amazingly nice thing ;)

ps... good job to @lynncoyle1 too... its great to know just how far her reach extends!

NEWBIE NICKELS

Congratulations, this newbie nickel is sponsored by #steemitcommentchallenge this week!

red-diamond.gif

comment challenge.gif

#newbieresteemday highly recommends this sponsor!

Thanks Dave! You are awesome :)

Thank you @ davemccoy. Very glad I could help someone out. I think I get more out of that than I do posting :)

Ah, but as you might see in my part four if you want to go and find it real quick..., high-quality comments can also earn you author's rewards - and that's even (or especially) true on whale posts!

Hey @tryskele, your comment here replied to me and not @davemccoy :)

oops... tiredness took over sorry about that.

Thanks. I will check out that article.

No, "trending" won't get you any curation rewards because we're still far too small, but if you forget about upvoting for a moment and simply make good comments, you may get followers. Especially if you develop a banner to add to your comments. It's like giving a free sample of your work and a business card all at once.
Mine is the same as what I put at the end of my posts...

Let me know if you can think of any other topics I haven't covered this past week that might help new minnows. Thanks for your comment!

 

You're absolutely right! Will do. I have a hard time of thinking of stuff for myself LOL. You do a great job of breaking things down.

My plan is to repeat this series frequently for all the newbie minnows out there and expect that the articles will develop over time as well. I made changes to each of the first three parts that I had posted originally last month for this second edition, then added two more articles. We will have to wait and see what develops next.

I've definitely enjoyed the extra conversation this series has inspired this month. I wish my pictures could do the same, lol.

That's a really good idea imo. I do too. To me this is what it is all about. I did think about it and tired to find articles on tagging. Some are so old that the links in them are bad. The general commentary they give is The first one you choose is the primary category your post goes into and the from there, besides some obvious ones that it's where ever you think your audience might be. Seems to me there should be something a bit more comprehensive. Right now it feels like it a gamble each time you post.

This is a good post @viking-ventures! Any information to help people out here is great! I wrote a blog a while ago about voting bots, because you're right, there's a lot of differing opinions around here regarding their use. If you do choose to use them, check out https://steembottracker.com/. It's helpful. Here's a link to my older post about the bots too https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@lynncoyle1/upvote-bots-use-or-abuse. There's some links on there that might be helpful for you.

Nice work :) Cheers!

My personal opinion is that some bots have purpose - and some of them also upvote (but very small amounts.) The ones that require you to pay seem a bit scammy to me.

Just read your post, but as it's past the 7 days, I'll comment here instead... (Really good dialog on your article, by the way.)

Did you find that the upvote bots actually did pay for the "investment"? All of the time? Some of the time? None of the time?

So, there are good bots, bad bots and simply annoying bots (like that "catfacts" bot which spews meaningless comments every time you mention "cat" in your tags... they also have a "dogfacts" bot as well. Annoying as heck!) The "cheetah" bot is also irritating. So far, the only times it has commented on my posts is to tell me the link that I already included in my article!!!

A friend suggested trying out Sola as a side stream to Steemit. But their platform is difficult to use compared to this one (think Snapchat version of this...) and finding undervalued posts is almost impossible. Plus, they have such a controller's view on things that it's stifling. I read about someone who went there from here, found that contests weren't allowed over there. Bots would never be allowed there. Maybe that would be good, but at the same time, as I said, there are good bots which should be tolerated and maybe even enjoyed.

I'm looking forward to when @OriginalWorks bot is back online as it's perfect for its purpose (I only found it overzealous once.)

Anyway, I'm getting a bit wordy here... so chat later. It's been good. Glad you have enjoyed the post. I plan to repeat the cycle frequently as there are so many new people coming onto Steemit all the time.

Thank you! There certainly are a lot of opinions out there when it comes to using the upvote bots!
When I used them, I would keep a close eye on steembottracker, and a notice pops up on your screen when a bot is "profitable". The problem I noticed though, and which has me not using altogether, is that people in the last minute throw a kinds of sbd at it and suddenly it's no longer profitable. And all those people who got in, "when the gettin' was good", are at a loss.

I'm with you re: the cat bot for sure !! And I had cheetah do the same thing to me!

And I did look into Sola, but it just didn't compare to here.

Thanks so much for the comment; I appreciate it!

very good article @viking-ventures! And feel free to use our tags #newbieresteemday on all your articles and #newbiegames when you have a game or contest too! Keep up the good work!!!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Great, helpful information and well-written guidance, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your comment.

Great post for newbies if which I still consider myself, I see my reputation climbing nicely but still experience very little action on most of my posts even with 140+ followers so post content is key also and finding whales to like your posts is not an easy task, ivebkind had a little luck there but it is pretty hit and miss. The bots idea I just find artificial and am hesitant to try them, seems like such a fake way to add value but that’s me. Glad I saw this post, thanks.

I agree with your view on the bots. Hence, there are only a few I will use so far. Resteemable only adds exposure, so I don't consider that one artificial. Same with steemitworldmaps. The Originalworks bot is a very good service as well, but it seems to be down at the moment, so I didn't include it in today's post.

I've worked hard for my 384 followers in just over two months. BUT most of my followers are minnows like us, so of future importance more than instant gratification. I figure that even minnows could be whales someday and investing in each other now can reap huge benefits in the future.

Thanks for your comment - I'm glad you liked this post.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51