STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #41 : 50 Shades of Orange!!!

Hello world of foodies!

Steemit Culinary Challenge has become a weekly ritual for me... Since I got to know this amazing contest, I just can't miss a week without sending my entry!

As many of you know by now, I have been approached by the wonderful @woman-onthe-wing to be the guest judge for this week! Wow what a honor! Thanks so much for the trust my friend!

So now as I will be the guest judge and having set the theme for this week, I am not eligible to be in the contest, that's sad!!!
But still I want to send this one as an example for everyone who is planning to participate to get a more insight into the creative theme I've set!
And maybe get some ideas of how to impress me as a judge!!!

This week's theme is to Design a Monochrome Dish!!! The recipe I will share will surely help you guys to better understand!I hope you enjoy it!

50 Shades of Orange!!!

DSC_0145.JPG


To make this dish , I used the following :

  • Chicken Breast
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Saffron pistils
  • Turmeric powder
  • Olive oil
  • Pumpkin
  • Onion
  • Nasturtium flowers
  • Orange
  • Garlic
  • Thyme

DSC_0076.JPG


I started by cleaning and cutting the potatoes and carrots like you can see below!

DSC_0090.JPG


Cut the pumkin and small piece of onion.
Gather all the bits and pieces of carrots and potatoes which were left while cutting the round slices above.

DSC_0080.JPG


Put the pumpkin, onion, potatoes, carrots, thyme branch and half a garlic in a cooking pot!
Add salt, pepper and turmeric powder!
Cover with water and let it cook.
Once cooked , blend to have a nice thick sauce.

DSC_0093.JPG


Next cook the potatoes slices in some water, salt and saffron pistils to get that nice orange color.
Once cooked, take out from the pan and reserve.

DSC_0095.JPG


In the same water, add some olive oil, thyme and a piece of orange skin.
Once it starts to boil, add the chicken breast and let it cook slowly for about 8 minutes!

DSC_0100.JPG


Then cut the chicken in thick slices and let them rest in that warm broth till you dress your plate!
Your chicken will also get that lovely orange color!

DSC_0104.JPG


Next peel the orange and recuperate the segments and juice the rest out!
Add the carrots slices to this orange juice, add olive oil, orange zest and season with little salt.
Let it macerate slowly!

DSC_0102.JPG


Finally roast the other carrots pieces in little olive oil, salt, thyme and garlic.

DSC_0097.JPG


Now that all the preps are ready, time to make that plate look sexy!!!

DSC_0106.JPG


Here is how I started to dress my plate...
Put the sauce in the middle, then the chicken pieces.

DSC_0115.JPG


Then as usual use your imagination and sensitivity to build up your piece of art!

DSC_0116.JPG


And here is the final plate!
A monochrome dish...My 50 shades of orange!!!

DSC_0123.JPG


Without forgetting the proof photo...It's mine guys!

DSC_0143.JPG


I hope you guys get some idea for your forthcoming entry. You can do many things, with so many colors! Nature is beautiful and colorful!

DSC_0121.JPG


I made mine on orange theme, you can do green, red, blue, yellow, pink and the list goes on...

DSC_0120.JPG


So this is my non-valid entry for this week to encourage you guys to go out there and do it also!
The dish was so light and full of amazing flavors! Well oranges, pistils and carrots are always great when matched together!

DSC_0133.JPG


So voila my dear friend, my monochrome dish for this week!
Do you like it!? Then try it!

By following me you will discover more and more surprising recipes!

Please do comment below if you want some more info!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

DSC_0127.JPG

IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know! You are the most welcomed!

You wish to join and participate?
Check out @steemit-ironchef or follow this link to send your entry!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

chef.jpg


Sort:  

The dish looks yummy!

Will need to try it out XD

Thanks so much for stopping by mate! I'm glad that you enjoyed my dish!

lol.. i know what you watched the night you wrote this post hahaha

Hahahah! Oh no my friend, I have not yet watched this movie..But the name is really very attractive!Lol!

you should! you should!
it's a lot lighter than those nsfw tagged post here
except for the "violence" part really

Hmmm! You are inciting me to watch it now... hope my wife will not get angry with me!
Well i'll watch it in secret! Hahaha!Lol!

get angry at you?
its more of a psychology themed movie actually
any adult could take it Imho

Congratulations @progressivechef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

mmmmmmmmmmmmm this just gave me an idea. with my favorite ingredient, shrimp! :D
Awesome creation btw and the color I had in mind was Yellow but we will see I have a lot of stuff going on lately but I would love to create something for this week challenge specially if you are the judge, there is no better way to improve yourself than being judged by the best and in this you are the one

Oh yes , yellow would be a great color to play on a plate! I really hope to see your entry up there my friend!
Thanks so much for the nice compliment!

As always very creative my friend :)

Thanks so much for the support man!

Wow! Look at those saffron pistils do their job!

Saffron pistils are really very powerful in releasing a very nice orange color and the flavor just heavenly!
I like to infuse in my tea too, it make it more tasty!

You are a master of sauces @progresive chef, I have to steal some of your ideas if you don't mind lol. This orange shades are so beautiful, perfect for upcoming Autumn here in Canada. UPV & RSD 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Of course you can my friend, it's all yours. I am more than happy to read that you enjoyed it!
It was really fun doing this monochrome dish!

Thank you so much 🍑🌸🍑

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45