STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #40 - CASSEROLE ENCHILADAS 🍅🌿🍅

Hello Dear Steeminas,

I am very excited about this week “Mexican Food” challenge, but before I go on about my entry I would like to thank to @woman-onthe-wing, @gringalicious, @sirwinchester and @englishtchrivy for their ongoing support and generosity and our guest judge of the week @tioluis. It’s been really wonderful experience for me so far and I really appreciate the opportunity to participate in this great challenge.

11.jpg

I love Mexican food and I am an expert on veganized chili and burritos, however, this time I wanted to make something I never made before. On my daughter’s suggestion, I decided to make Casserole Enchiladas and I am happy I did, even though it is quite a lengthy process. The recipe is made of three parts, the filling, the sauce and the cashew cream and it takes little bit of extra time to make it all. Of course, you can skip the sauce and buy already made in the store, or you don’t have to make the cashew cream and use Daiya cheese instead. However, I can’t guarantee it will be as good as it is when you make it all yourself. Not to forget the health benefits of whole food. And while you at it, you can even make more sauce and store it in the freezer, so you have it ready for times when you too busy.

When I was searching the origin of Enchilada, I found lots of varieties dating back to Mayan times and Spanish Inquisition in the area of Mexico Valley. It is very hard to specify origin of my Enchilada recipe, because I made it up based on what I know about Mexican food with help of various recipes on line. In addition, my recipe is vegan.

1a.jpg

1iPiccy-collage.jpg

CASSEROLE ENCHILADAS
Black Bean Enchiladas with Sweet Potato
Vegan – Gluten Free Optional

INGREDIENTS FOR 8
• Black Beans 2cups (canned or cooked)
• Sweet Potato 3 cups (cut into small cubes and steemed)
• Tomatoes 2cups (diced)
• Red bell pepper 1cup ( diced )
• Organic frozen corn 1 ½ cup
• Onion 1 medium size minced
• Garlic 3 cloves minced
• Cumin powder 1tbs
• Chilli powder 1tbs
• Dry chilli peppers to taste
• Himalayan pink salt to taste
• Oil ¼ cup
• Avocado to garnish
• Cilantro 1 cup only the leaves
• Scallions to garnish (sliced)
• Casserole dish
• Tortilla wraps 8
• Wooden toothpicks

PROCESS
• Begin sautéing the onion on heated oil adding garlic few seconds later.
• When they become translucent add the spices.
• Stir for few seconds and add the bell pepper, tomatoes and salt.
• Stir thoroughly, lover the heat and cover with lid.
• Let it simmer for 10 minutes until soft and mushy.
• Add the steamed potatoes, beans & corn.
• Stir thoroughly again and take it off the heat.
• Preheat the oven to 400F.
• Wrap about ¾ cup of the filling topped with cilantro in each tortilla and place them in your casserole dish. You may use toothpicks to keep them from opening. You can take them out after they covered with sauce.
• When ready, pour the Enchilada sauce evenly on top by using spatula.
• With a spoon apply the cashew cream cheese in the middle creating a long thick line.
• Place it in the oven and bake for 40 min and 7 min on broil.
• When ready, garnish with avocado, cilantro, scallions and serve.

2a.jpg

ENCHILADA SAUCE
2 Collage.jpg

• Tomatoes 2cups (skinned and diced)
• Red bell pepper 1cup ( diced )
• Vegetable broth ¼ cup
• Onion 1 medium size (minced)
• Garlic 3 cloves (minced)
• Juice from ½ lime
• Cumin powder 1tbs
• Chilli powder 1tbs
• Dry chilli peppers to taste
• Himalayan pink salt to taste
• Oil 1tbs

PROCESS
• Begin sautéing the onion on heated oil adding garlic few seconds later.
• When they become translucent add the spices.
• Stir for few seconds and add the bell pepper, tomatoes and salt.
• Stir thoroughly, lover the heat and cover with lid.
• Let it simmer for 10 minutes until soft and mushy.
• Take it off the heat and let it cool down for few minutes.
• When ready, blend all in a food processor until smooth.

CHEEZE CASHEW CREAM
3 Collage.jpg

Raw Cheesy Cashew Cream without the Cheese
Vegan – Gluten Free

• Raw cashews 1 cup (presoaked for 6 hours and rinsed)
• Nutritional yeast 1tbs (adds the cheesy flavour)
• Garlic powder 1tsp
• Apple cider vinegar 1tbs
• Himalayan pink salt to taste
• Water 1cup (you can add more if needed)
• Blend all the ingredients in a food processor until smooth.

3a-Optimized.jpg

11a.jpg

And here is my pride and joy loving my Enchiladas.........we were all shocked lol. However, their portion was without the hot chili pepper flakes of course, which I made separate for them.

1boys.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT 🍅🌿🍅

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort:  

Wow! That looks soooo good! And healthy.

I love making things from scratch too 😋

upvoted

Thank you so much Dear @princessmewmew 🌸💖🌸

Hmmm! That looks delicious and exactly as if I would like to have this for dinner! 😋

Thank you so much Dear @pusteblume I'm glad you like and for the upvote 💖😊💖

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

¡Santo guacamole Lena!

These look quite incredible, my friend. I was quite surprised at some of the ingredients, but know from past experience to trust your taste when it comes to blending flavors. You have never steered me wrong. Never. Never.

The whole process does look a little bit longer than most recipes, but, honestly, I am not willing to give up that cashew cream for a few more extra minutes of time. I have to ask the question though. Raw cashews are the only kind that will work with this, right?

When I scrolled down to the picture of the ingredients all mixed together, I knew these were going to be five-star delightful! How do you even begin to add and subtract ingredients like you do?

Does it matter what kind of tortilla I use? I generally get the whole wheat. These look a little different.

I can hardly wait to try these out. I mean it. I have gotten more recipes off @lenasveganliving than any one book. Ever* Thanks for always spending the time, making each and every recipe carefully explained - right down to marking all the measurements on the item, very astute, I would say. English is not everybody's first language and I am sure that it is appreciated.

Thank you again and just know that I look forward to new posts from you. It is like getting a letter from a friend in your mailbox!

Gracias mi amigo!! Buen apetito!!

Upped and Steemed

Where do I begin Dear Denise??? LOL! Well first I must thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support and so much love you always sending my way. You know there is no better feeling for a blogger/ foodie like me to get prized from their fans. Of course you are way more than just a fan, you are one of my closest friends online. I wish we will meet someday and have a lovely time somewhere on the beach sipping margaritas (virgin for me lol). What can I say, I am a dreamer.

Now back to my recipe or better say to your questions. About the cashews, yes they must be raw, even though cashews are never totally raw, because they have to go through certain process to be edible. Nevertheless, they are sold as raw, so look for that on the label whether you buy them in bulk or packaged. The tortillas I use are ancient grain, but you can use whole weed or corn, that is totally up to you.

When comes to the ingredients I use, it is not so unusual to me anymore and I am not the only one who uses them. You would be probably even more surprised if you read other vegan recipes. My recipes are combination of what I learned from my grandmother, my own crazy imagination, inspiration from other vegan foodies including my friend in Montreal and the cultures from around the world that I had the chance to observe here in Canada.

So there you go............now I am learning to write essays in a comment section from you lol. XOXO

Yes!! Well done! :)

Thank you again Denise 💚

Saya suka makanan Meksiko dan saya adalah ahli cabai dan burrito veganized, namun kali ini saya ingin membuat sesuatu yang tidak pernah saya buat sebelumnya. Atas saran putri saya, saya memutuskan untuk membuat Casserole Enchilada dan saya senang melakukannya, meski prosesnya cukup panjang. Resepnya terbuat dari tiga bagian, isi, saus dan krim mete dan butuh sedikit waktu tambahan untuk membuat semuanya. Tentu saja, Anda bisa melewatkan saus dan membeli yang sudah dibuat di toko, atau Anda tidak perlu membuat krim jambu mete dan menggunakan keju Daiya. Namun, saya tidak bisa menjamin itu akan sebaik saat Anda membuat semuanya sendiri. Tak ketinggalan manfaat kesehatan dari keseluruhan makanan. Dan saat Anda melakukannya, Anda bahkan bisa membuat lebih banyak saus dan menyimpannya di dalam freezer, jadi Anda sudah siap pada saat Anda terlalu sibuk.

Looks great Lena!!

Thank you so much Shaun 😊

Yumminum! Hey, I want you to know I mentioned you in a post because I noticed you're really good about tagging your photos with the Steemit logo, your name, date, etc. Here's that post: Printable Tagging Cards. Cheers!

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it. However I am tagging my posts only for the Culinary Challenge and I like to keep it black and white with my logo, just the way they are 😊

Cool, yeah, just wanted you to know I tagged you in that post. Your work is perfect as is.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it 😊

That looks delicious ! :D

Thank you so much Alexa 😊

Im definitely going to make this!!Looks delicious!

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it 😊

You should try Swiss Enchiladas. They're so yummy!

Thank you I will look into it 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42