STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 30: Berries season has started tart

It is time for this weeks SCC!! Thank you @biglipsmama for choosing the theme. and to @woman-onthe-wing for hosting the challenge. I had a lot of fun preparing these tart and my family made sure it disappear in a lightening speed.

Berries season is starting here in Poland, so it is time to eat as many of them as possible because of this, I couldn't imagine my entry for this challenge without using fresh, handpicked strawberries from my garden. As I was picking the strawberries I noticed that the Kamchatka honeysuckle's berries are all ready to eat so I had to have them as well on top of my tart :) 

Enjoy the recipe!!

Suzanah

Ingredients:

1. Crust

  • 2 cups of almond flour (or any other nut flour)
  • 1 tbs of sugar or honey
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 100 g of butter

2. Chocolate ganache

  • 1 bar of chocolate
  • whipping cream (about 1/3-1/2 weight of chocolate)

3. Topping

  • 250 mL of whipping cream
  • 250 mL of Mascarpone cheese
  • Strawberries
  • Kamchatka honeysuckle berries

1. Combine all of the ingredients for the crust. When a uniform structure is achieved, form a ball and leave it wrapped in the fridge for 30 minutes. Then spread the dough evenly on the tart pan and bake it at 175oC for about 20 minutes.

2. While the cake is baking prepare the ganache by melting chocolate over a double boiler. When the chocolate is all molten add the cream slowly and mix well until no lumps are visible. Set it aside.

3. When the crust starts to brown take it out of the oven and let it cool. Then add ganache on top and place it in the fridge for 15 minutes. In the meantime whip the whipping cream. When the cream is nicely whipped add Mascarpone and whip the mixture until fluffy. Spread the cream on top of ganache when it is becoming a harder.

4. Arrange the berries on top of the cream and enjoy!!

Cheers!!

Suzanah




Sort:  

Wow ,whipping cream with berries...perfect summer dessert!

Very nice and tasty looking. I want to.

My goodness this tart looks divine @knittybynature! I'm truly impressed and wish I could sample some right now. I can almost taste those fresh berries bursting in my mouth, with the smooth creamy topping and crunch of the crust....Mmmmm heavenly! I have never eaten honeysuckle berries but they look so good, especially alongside the colour of those strawberries. Beautiful presentation as well! Good luck!!!

Thank you so much @woman-onthe-wing! I have never seen this berries in stores either actually. It might be because they mature all at once, then they almost immediately fall of the bush. There is only couple days when they can be picked but they are so tasty so it is worth it to check every day on the plant, on how ripe the berries are:)

I see. I do hope to try them someday!

Looks very good. I have a weakness for cake with a hard crust. I'm interested how this crust will be.

Thank you @thecoach! I like hard crusts in my tart as well. This one was a bit crumbly to be honest. But it is most likely because I was impatient and took it out of the form before it cooled down completely after baking...

What a delight. You are so blessed to have your own berries. I haven't seen Kamchatka honeysuckle's berries. They look like they would have quite a tang to them? Beautifully illustrated 'Tempting Tart.' 🙏💗🙏

Thank you!! I love to go to my garden and be able to pick fruits straight from the plant. They taste so much better than the store bought ones.
I had the Kamchatka honeysuckle plants only for few years and this is a second time they had fruits. Last year the berries were very sweet but this year they are a bit sour. I am not sure why the flavor changed. I will have to grow them for few more years to figure it out but they are still delicious :)

This looks really delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Thank you @globalfoodbook! It tasted as good as it looked :)

Great food post, superb. Good luck in the challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54