STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #44 : Chocolate Eclair with Chocolate Pastry Cream, Chocolate Ganache and Raw Cacao Nibs Sprinkles

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

eclair 1.jpg

It's Monday again! Oh how time flies! I still want to enjoy some days off but I have to go back to reality :-D But it's okay, my reality always includes baking day, one thing which I love it so much. Being in the kitchen and smelling pleasant aroma coming out from my oven is just heavenly.

I'm so glad that the theme is chocolate because I always have chocolates in hand so I dont need to go to supermarket to buy some groceries. The weather in Brussels is very frustrating lately. It's raining and cold, make you want to stay home.

I've looked for some ideas for this week's theme but it was really hard to decide which one will I be making. Then when I opened my Instagram's account, I stumbled upon my favorite pastry chef's account and I saw his beautiful Chocolate Eclair. So I decided to make it. Why? Because first of all, I dont have to make a big batch, unlike a cake, a cake will be too much for us two. Second of all, my partner loves eclair very much. So he would be happy to have some eclair when he comes home after "school".

Chocolate Choux Pastry

Ingredients

  • 125 gr water
  • a pinch of salt
  • 50 gr butter
  • 70 gr all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp natural unsweetened cacao powder
  • 2 large eggs

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 180°C and line a baking tray with parchment or silicone baking mat. Set aside.
  • In a small bowl, mix all purpose flour and cacao powder until well combined.

eclair 3.jpg

  • In a saucepan​, boil water, butter and a pinch salt over a medium heat.

eclair 4.jpg

  • Once the butter is melted and the mixture comes to the boil, take the saucepan off the heat. Add in all purpose flour and cacao powder mixture, mix well with a spatula and bring back to the heat, continue mixing for about one minute. The batter should be detached from the saucepan and looks dry. Leave it to cool for about 5 minutes.

eclair 5.jpg

  • Add in one egg at a time, mix well until you reach good consistency. You may add the third egg if needed, but in my case, 2 large eggs are enough.

eclair 6.jpg

  • Transfer the batter to a piping bag and pipe the batter into logs (I made some regular choux as well) onto silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Wet your finger and go back and smooth down the points on each choux pastry.

eclair 7.jpg

  • Bake the puffs for 30 minutes (don’t open the oven during that time). Leave them in the oven with the door slightly open to prevent the choux pastry getting soggy as they cool down. Let your choux pastry finish cooling down on a baking rack.

eclair 8.jpg

  • Once they’re completely cool, they’re ready to be filled.

Chocolate Pastry Cream

Ingredients

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 44 gr granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 320 ml full fat milk
  • 127 gr dark chocolate (I used 54,5% cacao from Callebaut)

Directions

  • Place the chocolate on a bowl, set aside.
  • In a small bowl, whisk egg yolks and sugar until combined. Add in corn starch, mix again.

eclair 9.jpg

eclair 10.jpg

  • In a sauce pan, bring milk to boil. When it starts to bubbles, pour some milk into egg yolks mixture, mix them using whisk and pour it back to the sauce pan. Continue mixing until the mixture thickens.

eclair 11.jpg

eclair 12.jpg

  • Once thickened, pour the mixture into a bowl with chocolate. Let it stand for 30 seconds, stir it well until well combined.

eclair 13.jpg

  • Cover with plastic wrap with the plastic touching the mixture to prevent the skin to form. Leave it in the fridge for about 2 hours before using it.

Chocolate Ganache Glaze

Ingredients

  • 85 gr chopped dark chocolate (I used 54,5% cocoa from Callebaut)
  • 60 ml heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp corn syrup or rice syrup

eclair 14.jpg

Directions

  • Place the chocolate in a heat-safe bowl, set aside.
  • Pour the heavy cream in saucepan and bring it to a simmer over medium heat. You can do it in a microwave as well. Once the cream comes to the boil, remove from the heat and pour it over the chocolate. Let stand for 30 seconds then mix it well. Add in corn syrup, mix again.

eclair 15.jpg

  • Let it cool, the consistency should be in a liquid state but not hot.

Assembling

  • Transfer Chocolate Pastry Cream into a piping bag, fitted with a long thin piping tip.
  • Use a knife to make a hole in one of the choux pastry's corner.
  • Fill the choux puffs with Chocolate Pastry Cream.
  • Dip the filled choux pastry into chocolate ganache to coat halfway up the sides.
  • Sprinkle with raw cacao nibs.

eclair 16.jpg

What do you think about the eclair? I am satisfied with the result. I usually make regular choux pastry and this is my first time making eclair. The taste's just divine and very chocolaty :-D

eclair 2.jpg

eclair 17.jpg

If you like my post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you for reading :-)

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All content and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

looks so delicious :)

They are! It's light and also not too sweet Perfect for snack time. Many thanks for reading @geekgirl! :-)

Wow @ikaputri3. Kamu sangat berbakat dlm memasak. Semoga setiap wanita Indonesia punya hobi memasak. Keren.
Salam

Terima kasih @indofood! :-) Salam kenal.

Looks so tasty! Followed :)

Beautiful! Thank you for showing the whole process in case we want some eclairs too ;p

It's not complicated so you guys can make it too ;-) Thank you for passing by @ecoinstant! :-)

Looks delicious!!:)

It's delish, indeed :-D Thank you! :-)

Wondering what this "school" is. 😄 This recipe looks amazing though. And I also love eclairs. I would much rather prefer it over chocolate cake to be honest. Thanks for the great recipe. Your blog looks like it would be really delicious and make me hungry a lot. 😄 Enjoy that amazing eclair. 😉

My partner is now having super intensive Special Effects Class for cinematography. So, he starts at 9 and finishes at 5 just any regular students :-D Btw, good choice! True, I'd prefer eclair as well, it's lighter. Glad that you like my blog which mostly will make you hungry, hahaha.. Thank you for stopping by @themessup! :-)

I hope you've saved a few @ikaputri3 because I'm on my way! But if they're already eaten up I'm sure they're now floating happy in chocolate heaven ;-) You seem to have made them super chocolately in every possible way... I can't even think how you could get more chocolate on them... Give them a full choc coating too?!!! Ha ha. As always your beautiful dessert looks as professional as anything I've ever admired through a bakery window.

The thing that makes me most happy is to see you're obviously becoming more and more aware of the quality of ingredients in terms of choosing less processed, less refined. Just a thought for the future - the chocolate ganache glaze could be made healthier with 85% dark choc, heavy cream, and 'smushed' up dates (finely chopped to make a paste almost... can be warmed and they kinda melt). I'm not certain what natural sweetner is suitable to replace sugar in the pastry cream (as far as I know honey doesn't work so well in cream) but surely there must be something. I have a project I'm currently working on I would love to have you involved in, which I guess is why I'm eager to get you thinking really carefully about every single ingredient choice :-)

Fabulous entry Putri, I wish you good luck!

I've saved some for you but someone has devoured everything :-D Promise, if we ever meet in real life, I'll make something special for you and of course made with natural ingredients with the good selection of ingredients ;-)

Hahaha... I knew you would give this good advice. I wanted to use darker choc for my ganache but I ran out of it. And with the bad weather yesterday, I really was not in the mood to buy some groceries. I'm planning to buy some chocolate groceries though this week end. I'll try to find one as darkest as possible. The corn/rice syrup meant to make the ganache shiny like a glaze, otherwise for normal ganache, I only use chocolate and heavy cream or coconut milk. Any idea to replace syrup with something that can make ganache shiny?

Big homework for me to learn more about substituting refined sugar with natural sweetener. I was thinking to replace the sugar with coconut sugar, but I was quite in hurry. If I fail, I wouldn't have time to remake it again. But I'm always eager to learn and know more about this. On to the project, I'm so curious about that! Would love to help in any way I can.

Thanks Joanna for always sharing your knowledge with me. I really appreciate it!

Ha ha I'm predictable now with my nit-picking about ingredients!!! As long as I'm not patronising... there's nothing more annoying!

I think you could try experimenting with arrowroot powder to make saucey things shiny. The only example I have personally is when I used arrowroot to thicken the caramel in these Honey-Caramel Squares. They're not the best photos ever but you can see it looks like thick shiny custard. Arrowroot is paleo friendly, and a clear alternative to cornstarch for certain things when you want to avoid that cloudy look. I do think it'd work well for your ganache, and most supermarkets sell it now.

I will be in touch soon with more details about my project! :-)

Dont worry, you're not patronizing. I'm always open and happy to hear your feedback.

Well noted for arrowroot powder, will find that in local supermarket. I checked your post and yes, your custard looked shiny. Good idea to make an experiment using arrowroot in ganache.

Looking forward to hearing more about your project! :-)

Hi my friend! Well done! It's a nice recipe and easy to make it at home, it looks so yummy, i wish you good luck in contest.

Hello my dear friend! Yes, indeed, it's very easy and perfect for snack time. I'm sure that your husband an Rheem will like it. Thank you for your endless support my friend!

My husband @progressivechef and my little angel rheem they like so much chocolate cakes, and this one sure will love it, chocolate eclair very yummy and little bite like churros.

Yes, you're right my friend, they look like churros unless this one is baked. Chocolate is everyone's favorite. No wonder that your husband and little angle love it :-)

Beautiful and so delicious-looking @ikaputri3! You should open your own bakeshop so you can do more of what you love doing as well as allow others to delight in your creations!

Many thanks @offoodandart! One day, I'd love to have my own bakeshop, maybe in my home country as there are loads of bakeshops here. At the time being, for those who wants to try my creations, you are welcome to come to my house to try :-D

This is absolutely stunning my friend...you made it like the michelin star pastry chefs! You are really a great chef my friend. Bravo!
And good luck in the contest!

Thank you very much chef for your kind words. Much appreciated. I wish I pursued my study in culinary so I would have been a real chef now :-D For a self taught cook and amateur baker, I'm quite proud of myself.

I would say, it is best for you to be as you are right now my friend! Being a chef is really not great...I have had the experience of running great 5 stars hotels and working in Michelin Stars restaurants...but this is not called life!!!

Yes, I agree. Being a real chef is not easy and is not for everyone. I am grateful for what I am now. It was one of my dream but I realized it's not for me. I would have not survived :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67