STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #37: Piggy Steamed Bun with Sweet Adzuki Bean Paste

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

bakpao 18.jpg

Hello fellow Steemians,

I hope you had a really really nice week end, just like I did. This week's theme for Steemit Culinary Challenge was really hard (at least for me) :-D I dont have kids but I am currently working with kids so I know that they are really picky when it comes into food, especially when they clearly see veggies on their plates!! They will start to find a reason not to eat it and try to avoid it. I dont know why veggies are kind of nightmare for them. They'll complain even though they might haven't tried it yet. Well, that's mostly happened with my "kids".

I've been thinking about what kind of food I'll be making for this challenge since @woman-onthe-wing announced the theme. I came up with some ideas and finally I decided to make Piggy Steamed Bun with Sweet Adzuki Beans Paste! It looks really cute, isn't it? I am sure the first time kids see this, they will just love it :-D I actually wanted to make Porcupine Steamed Bun as well with different filling (the salty one with meat and veggies) but I think my post would be toooooo long. So, I'll make another post if I can make it :-)

For this buns, I used food coloring gel to get this beautiful color of piggy. I wanted to make my own food coloring from beet root but this past two days I was so busy with my sister's birthday, making her a beautiful cake and organizing a board games night with friends at home everything, so I was too tired to make it by myself.

Now, let's go talk about the recipe. I've got the recipe for the red bean paste from here but I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. Also for the steamed bun, I checked on to their blog as well.

SWEET ADZUKI BEAN PASTE FOR THE FILLING

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dried adzuki bean
  • 3 cups water for boiling
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter

Methods

  • Soak dried adzuki bean in the water for at least 3 hours, better left overnight (mine soaked for 6 hours).

adzuki 1.jpg

  • After soaking, drain the beans.

adzuki 2.jpg

adzuki 3.jpg

  • Transfer into a sauce pan, add the water and bring to boil over a medium-high heat with the lid on then turn into low heat, simmer for about 45 minutes-1 hour or until soft. There were not much water left in the sauce pan, it's almost dry.

adzuki 4.jpg

  • Transfer the cooked red beans into a food processor. Pulse it until smooth.

adzuki 5.jpg

adzuki 6.jpg

  • Transfer back the smooth adzuki bean to the sauce pan, add in sugar and butter. Cook again over low heat for about 5 minutes, mix it very well.

adzuki 7.jpg

adzuki 8.jpg

  • Transfer into a bowl, leave it on the counter top to cool down. Once cool, you may keep in the fridge if you dont want to use it directly.

adzuki 9.jpg

PIGGY STEAMED BUN

Ingredients

  • 500 gr low gluten wheat flour for buns

bakpao 1.jpg

  • 1 1/2 tsp instant dry yeast
  • 50 ml lukewarm water
  • 230 ml milk at room temperature
  • 50 gr sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil
  • black sesame seed for decoration

Methods

  • Activate the yeast by combining the yeast and lukewarm water. Leave it for 5 minutes.

bakpao 2.jpg

  • In a bowl of a stand mixer, place flour, sugar, salt and baking powder.

bakpao 3.jpg

  • With the hook attachment on, turn on the stand mixer, add slowly the yeast and milk. Knead for about 5 minutes.

bakpao 5.jpg

  • Add food coloring, and continue kneading for about 10 minutes. The dough shouldn't stick to the bowl when it's done.

bakpao 7.jpg

  • Cover the dough with damp towel or plastic wrap, leave it for one hour or two or until double in size. I put mine in the oven because Brussels was quite cold today so I needed a warmer place. It helps the dough to rise.

bakpao 9.jpg

bakpao 10.jpg

  • Roll the dough into a long log and cut into even pieces. You may use scale to have even weight. Mine is 50 gr/piece.

bakpao 11.jpg

  • Roll flat half a piece dough to make the ears and the other half for the nose. I used a small piping tip and skewer to make the nose.

bakpao 12.jpg

bakpao 13.jpg

  • Take one piece of dough, roll into a flat dough, place 1 full teaspoon filling in the middle and roll into a ball. Place the ears and the nose then place two sesame seeds as the eyes. Put on small parchment paper. It will prevent the dough stick to the steamer.

bakpao 14.jpg

bakpao 15.jpg

  • Leave them on the counter top for 30 minutes before steaming. It will still rise a little bit.

bakpao 16.jpg

  • Steam over high heat for about 12 minutes with the lid covered with towel.

bakpao 17.jpg

  • Leave it to cool a little bit. I like it served warm :-)

bakpao 19.jpg

Woooww.. it's quite a long post. I should've edited some photos to be put in the grid but I'm so sorry I really dont have so much time to do so. I thought I wouldn't make it because it's been a really really busy day.

Last but not least, I'd like to thank the host, sponsors, judges, participants and everyone who always support Steemit Culinary Challenge <3

If you like this post, please upvote and resteem.

Love,
signature-fonts

Sort:  

look beautifull

They really are, indeed. Thanks @padmakshi for stopping by! :-)

omg, are you serious? that is too cute...I love beans too! upvoted (-:

I know, it's too cute to eat but I ate it anyway :-D Thanks for upvoting @clumsysilverdad! :-)

I can not eat because it is so cute!

I know it's not easy to eat when you see those cutie faces @paran :-D But we have to move on! :-D

These look amazing! And so creative! Well done and good luck ;)

Million thanks @amy-goodrich! Simple yet tempting for the kids (well, for me also) :-)

Not only for the kids! I would love one too ;)

Oh I'd love to share one (or two) with you :-)

That would be so cool! Might have asked this before but where do you live in Belgium? We are visiting end of September... we might be able to do a small steemit meetup ;)

I'm living in Brussels. Good news that you'll visit the country. Yes, a small meetup would be nice. Just let me know @amy-goodrich! :-)

Ohh my parents live in Hoeilaart and my husband's mom in Halle.... so that's very close to Brussels ;) We have to go to Ghent too since all our friends are there. We lived there for 13 years. I hope we can find some time to meet up. That would be so cool.

May I ask if you are Belgian @amy-goodrich? I know Hoeilaart even though I've never been there :-D But I go to Halle once a year for its bluebell flower carpet :-) We (me and my partner) normally aren't going anywhere soon so just let us know when you find some time to meet up.

Love these little piggies!! Ah my girls would go nuts for them! Mmm and sweet red bean is so yummy. You've got talent girl!!

Yesss, my friend's sons were too happy to see these cuties as well. I'm so happy looking at those kids got crazy for these buns :-D Many thanks @jaymorebeet for your kind words ❤️

Hai, Putri. Kami dari Indonesia Trail ingin menulis dan memperkenalkan profil kamu kepada Steemian Indonesia. Kamu bisa cek akun kami. Jika bersedia, kami akan menuliskannya. Sebelum diposting, kami akan mengabarkannya kepada kamu. Terima kasih.

Halo @indonesia-trail, boleh sekali dan dengan senang hati dikenalkan ke komunitas Indonesia. Kalau ada yang bisa say bantu, kabari aja ya :-)

Hai, Putri. Kami sudah menulis profil kamu. Silakan cek steemit chat kamu. Mungkin ada beberapa poin yang perlu diedit. Terima kasih.

Yup, saya udah bales mas :-)

Simply the best @ikaputri3 - Definitely too cute to eat. They are like a piece of art and should be displayed at a gallery, lol.

Haha.. I know! But they were made to be devoured :-D Sorry piggy... anyway, thanks for stopping by @steemit-foodie! :-)

No - Thank YOU for sharing such great recipe. I don't have kids yet, but I am saving this recipe for my future kids, lol @ikaputri3

Anytime @steemit-foodie! Dont wait until you have kids! You can try it now and you might like it, like I am ;-) Also, you can substitute the filling as you like (sweet or salty).

Omg I'm completely stunned by your steemit culinary challenge creations. You're awesome @ikaputri3! I will definitely win another price this time. That's such a great recipe idea for kids. :) Resteemed and upvoted!

Dear @alinalisa, thanks for your support by upvoting and resteeming! It means the world to me. You should join SCC because it makes you creative and you'll discover loads of things ;-)

I'll definitely join SSC in the future. You're right! But I need more time for that. Soon! :)

You'll see it's fun! ;-) Once, you're in, it's hard to get out :-D

These are so cute hahhaha! Piggy

Love it! Upvoted =)

Dont look at them too often! Otherwise you'll end up not eating them because they're too cute to be true :-D

Super cute piggy buns @ikaputri3, I adore them! I think a child would have to have a 'pig-phobia' not to find these tempting! I like your choice of using adzuki beans in the filling... most people never think of these creative ways to get things like beans into their children's diets and instead keep going through the stress of cooking something with beans and their kids saying 'yuk don't want it!' But with a little bit of creative thinking, like this, there's all kinds of ways to nourish children. May I suggest though that this recipe could be made minus the sugar? I'm pretty certain you could replace the sugar in the filling with honey, and maybe ripe banana or something sweet like that. And for the buns perhaps use half of your wheat flour, half coconut flour (for the sweetness of it) and also again use some honey or natural sweetner. The quantities may require a little adjustments, but with natural sweetness instead of sugar these would be nice and healthy for kids :-) Good luck!

Thanks @woman-onthe-wing for the input. It's possible to substitute the sugar in both buns and filling. I was thinking about substituting it as well but I've been so busy and I didn't have time to change the recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73