Steemit Culinary Challenge #30 - Say no to Crappy Tarts

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemian foodie,

I'm so, so, so sorry that I've missed the post about the next Steemit Culinary Challenge "TARTS". I wish I would have seen it earlier. I would have been more than happy to create and bake a special tart for Steemit Community.
19179404_10156303860713275_7178543_o.jpg

Some of you know that soon I will open my own bakery shop, here in Bucharest. My dream will come true and I can't believe it!
THE TART is the core product of my business. Why did I choose it?17475457_1537896696251329_1792400165_o.jpg

It’s easy: I adore tarts - savory tarts, fruit tarts, cheesecakes, chocolate tarts, no bake tarts. They could accomplish a lot of tasty desires. Also, I was pissed of by paying a lot of money on crappy tarts from hypermarket or pastries. Sorry guys, but this is the truth
Please, say NO to CRAPPY TARTS!!
You know them: they are all smiling at you from the fridge with their shiny and perfect look. But all that gelatin and margarine are very harmful for your health!

DSC00636.JPG

Being out of time to participate at the challenge, I want to share with you some secrets about baking the perfect tart. This isn't rocket science, but I hope it is helpful for some of you.

  1. Quality, quality, quality! When considering ingredients, remember that quality counts. Use only butter 82%, not even 60% fat butter, free range eggs.
  2. Work with your hands. I know it's easier to blend the ingredients for the crust and make that special dough.
  3. Do not forget to let the dough rest in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, this will relax the gluten and make rolling much easier.
  4. Some recipes require blind baking. To prevent the dough from rising, line it with a lightly greased sheet of parchment paper, prick it with a fork and fill with dried beans.
  5. Bake the tart at 180C/mark 2, for 45 minutes.
  6. The most important secret: your tarts shouldn't ever be boring! Use your creativity for the crust and filling.
    19179524_10156303860658275_712412900_o.jpg

In my older posts, I have written some recipes, like Popeye's Tart & Tart is the new black.

Good luck to all the participants!
19205054_10156303860718275_1614306900_o.jpg

Enjoy,
FoxxyCat

For more easy peasy recipes, you can follow me @foxxycat. I promise, you won't get fat!

Sort:  

Wow. Professional advise! I always use free range egg and milk,and I think it does make a big difference in taste and nutrition .

thank you. I had tried so many recipes to obtain the perfect dough. And it's very healthy, right? Some people are afraid to use 82% fat butter, because of the fats contained in it, actually these are healthy fats, not as the one in margarine, which is basically plastic

Totally agree. Butter is much better than margarine, at least it can be processed through excecise,but most margarine stays inside body as part of bad body fat!

Forever :))

It looks soooo good~ :) You've got talented !

Oh, thanks! blushing here. :)

Amazing looking tarts!! And good luck with your shop. :)

thanks a lot @knittybynature

Too true @foxxycat - say no to crappy tarts!!! Now I see your photos I really think it's a shame you didn't see the theme in time. What fabulous looking creations... all unique and beautiful... I'm super impressed and now want to be at that table sampling samples!!! Great advice too, and you're right, a tart should never be boring! How exciting to soon be set up with your own bakery... what a wonderful dream to come true :-) At least despite not being an entry for the challenge your post has made a decent amount from votes... kinda like a prize!!! :-)

thanks a lot @woman-onthe-wing. but I have seen really good entries for this challenge and really tasteful combinations. I will try some of them, in the future. Thank you again :) hope to be on time at the next challenge. Lately, it's very hard to be on line, I have so much to do with the opening.

I can't wait to see a post of your opening... if you get time to do one!!!

Wow looks really delicious :) upvoted and followed! You might like my travel blog have a look :) #Introduceyourhometown

thanks a lot @redtravels. you have a nice blog

All of these look amazing!

means a lot your feedback :) thanks

Gorgeous food post. Your execution and photos are fantastic. Keep these coming. Good luck in the challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42