This Tart gives Popeye his Steempower

in #food8 years ago

Hello, Steemian foodie!

I don’t know about you, but I do love tarts - savory tarts, fruit tarts, cheesecakes, chocolate tarts, no bake tarts! I hope you do, too, because today I want to share one of my best savory tart recipe.

Being the “Queen of tarts” (my friends are calling me this way, I am no longer Catalina), I started a small home based business - TARTELICIOUS.
Another reason for choosing the Tarts family was that I’ve always considered that the world of tarts, quiches, pies and cheesecakes offers endless possibilities. A tart is like America, the land of opportunity.
You can be very creative when choosing the main ingredients for the fillings.

From classic quiches to caramelised onion tarts (no, this isn’t a dessert), savory tarts are perfect for brunches, lunch, or light dinner, picnics, parties...
I even ate one during my coffee routine. Oh, those sweet potatoes, blue cheese and cumin made a perfect couple with my Ethiopia single origin flat white.

But this isn’t the recipe I want to share with you today.

Today, I will suggest you to try the POPEYE’S TART, as I like to call it.

So, let’s bake and make Popeye and Olive happy! No worries, it doesn’t take so much time from your precious STEEMING time:

Preparation: 30 minutes

Cooking: 50 minutes

You will need:
For the PASTRY CRUST:
300 gr white flour
150 gr butter (82% fat). The butter should be at room temperature.
1 egg
4 tbs milk
One pinch of salt

For the DELICIOUS FILLING:
500 gr spinach
2 small red onion
2 eggs
100 gr heavy cream
150 gr ricotta
100 gr goat cheese
10 gr butter
Salt and pepper
Some seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, pine). I like to add these seeds for crunchiness.

Mmmm....Smooth and crunchy, THE PERFECT COMBO

Now, preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4.

Mix together the ingredients for the PASTRY CRUST.
Roll out the pastry and use to line a 23 cm tart tin. Chill in the fridge or freezer for at least 15 mins.

After, prick the base with a fork, and line with baking parchment and baking beans. Bake blind for 12 mins, then remove the beans and parchment (I used chickpeas because I was out of beans).

Return to the oven for another 5 mins until pale golden.

Meanwhile, make the FILLING:

Heat the butter in a frying pan, add the onion and cook it until is caramelized. Add the spinach and the seeds and cook for another 3 minutes.

This spinach is blushin'

Beat the eggs and the heavy cream. Add the ricotta, goat cheese and salt.
Combine all the ingredients and build up the tart. I mean: THROW THE FILLING INTO THE PASTRY CRUST.
Bake for another 25- 30 minutes, until the tart is golden.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool, if you have patience. If you don’t, grab a slice or two, or the whole tart and enjoy it.

TADAAAAAAAAAA...At least, I had the patience to take a photo for you guys :)

If you have questions/comments/suggestions or ideas, please share. Don't be shy!

In case of a GREEDY EMERGENCY , you can find me here:
https://www.instagram.com/tartelicious_s/

Till next tartelicious-time,
Foxxie
Steemit baker

Sort:  

This is the perfect steem profile for anyone who really wants to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to...HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a subject thats been discussed for many years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.2 and reading ease of 88%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38