A Few Notes from my Desk on the Topic of Aging.

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

I sometimes present my writing (prose) in short lines to help me (and maybe you) track my thoughts. There is no rhyme or rhythm but, perhaps, there's reason. Maybe. Let's see. OH! and Yes. I did make the fractal.

I'm just going to start in early talking about
soon I will turn 60 years old.
Yeppers.

This is the age that I froze my grandparents.
No matter how old they got,
in my head and in my world,
they never moved passed 60.

Well, all my grandchildren are too young for that sort of thing.

But ... the other thing about aging,
and me, and my younger mind, is  
I've watched old people hobbling around or
behaving fixed in their brain,
them telling me they didn't want to think about
something in a new way because they were too old ...

Annnnd I've wondered,

"Does this happen suddenly?
Do people know they're giving up?
Does something traumatic, dramatic happen and
they just freeze in this fixed mindset or broken body?"

I'm here to tell you ... I'm starting to find out.

It started to change as my eyes changed and
reading became more difficult.

And then as my hormones and
my circumstances changed,
no little birds in the nest
chirping out my schedules,
and my ability to track all my
ADD thoughts and scattered ways
became much much more difficult.

And I could feel myself becoming
slightly more resistant to change,
simply because of the effort.
It was not fun to read and
building the internal scaffolding that
I hang new thoughts upon was
much more challenging since
I would be inclined to start
intense interior decor design on
floor five
before the levels below were even
50% framed.

An example could be, we discovered
I do best with setting up a new phone
while sitting in the middle of
a coffee shop because
I'm probably less likely to say
profane and wasteful words and
I'm less likely to say them very loudly and
I'm less likely to throw the phone into the wall.

Not that I ever do these things normally but
I couldn't promise not to
if I didn't go sit somewhere with built in social pressure.

Now, some will stop me for an argument right here.
"But you learned about blogging, VR, SEO,
photography, digital art ... "
It's true.
But I know that resentment towards the
increased effort to concentrate and consume words
was present and increasing.

And then I started having
physical encounters with the ground.
I slipped on an icy slope while sneaking out
leaving a cemetery. True story.

And, I slipped down a clay covered slope.
Oh, the year before it was a picnic table
that tripped me up and
the year before that a moss covered stair.

And All of those were not a big deal.

BUT then,

I just about cracked my heal by
smacking it into the door frame to
block Mrs. Kitty McKitty from coming inside.

And then I fell in a hole while pushing my reel mower,
and I fell chasing my cats with a water hose because, garden and
I fell because a very large dog pulled me off the path to my back door.

And all of these happened within a one year span and
all of these added up to me
getting to know the local Chiropractor very well.
She once asked me, "What does your husband say about your falls?"
I said, "He says it's a very good thing I have a very good Chiropractor."
No truer words ever.

And then, just as we had me whole,
then came the fall to top them all.

One fateful rainy day, I opened the door to Starbucks.
Who would have ever thought that someone would
remove the door mat because it was an eye-sore?

I took two steps inside and BAM! I landed on all fours.
That doormat could have caught up all the rainwater.
Instead, I slipped and landed on the wet concrete.

I acquired a unique headache,
difficulty swallowing,
numbness in my cheek and
a popping in my ear. Like the little bones moving about.

My top rib wouldn't stay in place and
my right shoulder was a mess.

I suppose I should mention my atlas spine bone
had a new preferred resting place.

It took my chiropractor and
my new best-friend massage therapist
six months to iron me out.

Sooo I have spent the better part of
the last two and half years being told to

limit my motions.

So I felt pretty good from about mid summer

Unless ...
We probably should count the over-active histamine
issues I had all summer that I thought would never end.
I was especially resentful that it brought back a
childhood allergy to wheat-germ.

And believe me, I moved very little in the heat.
Deep-seated, insane-driving, itching can be
highly motivational when it comes to being still.

Then the weather cooled and the bugs left.

I recall a peaceful, enjoyable
Feast of Tabernacles.

October.
November.

Thanksgiving.

4 days of exposure to high levels of allergens.

Result. Two weeks of intense bronchitis
followed by 3 more weeks of gradual healing.

I have a little news flash ... I didn't want to move or think.

Then came the cat scratch fever disease.
O. My. Word.
That will have to be another post because
ya'll should know!!

It also has caused me to not want to move or think.
It has brought added bonus points for also
inflaming the old Starbucks wounds.

So let me tell you ... the bottom line ...
is this

Aging creeps up with a promise.

Tomorrow you will feel all better. Then you will catch up.
Then you won't feel you need to draw a road map
or a mind map to track your thoughts --
to place one idea next to the other.

Tomorrow you will feel all better. Then you will catch up.
Then you won't feel like you'll break if you
plant a plant or swing a sling sickle or
do pooh patrol in the dog kennel or
walk up the hill with your husband
or walk down the drive in the rain.

Tomorrow you will feel all better.
Then you won't be afraid to move.
Then you will chase down all your profound thoughts.

I am convinced that specific tomorrow
doesn't come around as frequently as it once did.
I now find myself pondering how to
keep myself from freezing my body and brain at sixty.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 11 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you. I did notice my mention :-) like 5 days late. You presented a fun ponder. What are we doing next?

Фрактал, интересное искусство. А у меня не получается так.

Sure! You can do this! Do as I did. Download JWildfire. If you have challenges, return. We will exhaust the translator. Also, there are forums for the program. Perhaps one is in Russian. Also, JWildfireMini is available for cell phones and tablets.

I once tried to make a fractal))). not successfully. I'll try with this program))).

This is the easiest ever! You will also need Java if on the PC. Most of us start with a random generated fractal and then move things around. Also, the MutaGen feature is amazing fun.

Your English is much better than my (nonexistent) Russian. ;-)

I perfectly know Russian))). I perfectly know Russian))).
imgonline-com-ua-FRACTAL-Hv6z00s5bAo0.jpg

LoL I perfectly like your response!

Спасибо). Я старалась). А вот ещё. Захотелось научиться. https://steemit.com/art/@olesia/learning-how-to-do-fractal-friends-let-s-look-at-the-effect-of-transformation

Good luck master

Around 60 I would agree is the age my grandmother will remain in heart as she gets older.

Everyone always seems to be in such a rushing in life to get to the next point they appear to be wishing away what could have been wonderful years. I am blessed to see this and try and enjoy time when I can. While still being always to busy that I miss out on the little things most of the time.

It’s great you are at least trying to embraces new things. Even if they don’t always have an expected outcome. I’ve known a few people they just are done with anything new in their world. You step into it and its like time traveling backwards in time. At least back then they made things to last. Now a days forget about it breaks as soon as warranty goes.

It is so nice to hear from you here.

The thing that most disturbs me, in the world of people who refuse to travel forward, is the amount of anger I hear. There's anger over being required to change to stay relevant. Anger over the missed opportunity of training. Angry with the futility of learning only to find they are still behind or being left behind again. And yes, anger over loss of productivity and longevity in new products.

An example would be an older person who had to move from line command DOS to Windows. At that time, for him, it was a dumbed down process that made productivity grind to an excruciating snail's pace.

Anyway such is life. :-)

Some people just allow anger to grasp them around the heart strings. That is just no way to enjoy life. There are so many beautiful and wonderful things out their!

It's good to see someone your age here on steemit. My mum is also 60 but she won't be able to handle this platform. Thanks for this post @marrillaanne

Oh, with enough desire on her part and hand-holding from you, she would make it.

At first, she could just participate in the simple day challenges and practice leaving comments. This is the path I always recommend. That and you set up automatic log in with her posting key.

Nice to visit with you here. Stop by any time you catch me writing. ;-)

Ahhh, aging. I guess it's something those of us who are fortunate to live long enough become experts in. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it. You had me smiling as well as thoughtful. I recently read a book about aging I enjoyed very much called, "Younger Next Year: For Women." Written with a lot of insight and humor and practical advice. Following you now :)

Very intriguing. I work in physical therapy with geriatric patients... mean age is people in their 80s actually. I don't really look at people as "young" or "old." All my life my intellectual level has been above those of my peers and I always related better to people older than me. I've been called "mature for my age" & told I have an "old soul" before. Still feeling the same and turning 30 soon. Life is strange.

I really feel for you with all those falls though!! And, how freaking careless of Starbucks!! Also feeling you on the allergies. Hang in there.

I'm glad to have a new steemit friend and know also anther person who uses silk paints. Lol :)

I wish I had a bigger upvote for this post. I laughed, and sympathized with you. I especially loved the part about programming your phone at Starbucks, but you are less likely to curse or throw the phone against the wall! LOL...and I agree, once those little birdies leave, it gets very, very quiet. This is why I talk to myself these days. You may want to add that to your repertoire. I hear all the cool seniors are doing it. I can make that joke now, I got my AARP membership card in the mail on my birthday. I continually reject them, but AARP is wooing me hard.... I'm beginning to wonder if it is a cult. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23