Coriander Curried Mince with Stir Fry Veg & Egg Noodles

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

20180719_214844.jpg

Food and the preparation of such, outside of other creativity is without question one of my greatest passions! It does not matter whether I am frying eggs or prepping a 3 course meal for guests - I just love the therapy of it! Actually, if I am honest, I quite like ALL THREE of my passions combined - preferably simultaneously...lol! - That being food, music and wine! They truly are a fabulous combination!!!

Yesterday, as I shared in my Tomatoes, Tea with Audrey Hepburn and Dinner Decisions - #Ulog Entry No. 5 post - I had spotted a recipe in a magazine after using it as a backdrop to my brunch photo haha... and so I decided that "this" would be what I made for dinner...

This was the snap shop from the mag which caught my attention....

20180719_132533.jpg

As ususal, I skimmed briefly over the recipe ingredients and then immediately summised my own evil and NON recipe compliant plans moving forward... MWAAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!


thanks Giphy

and so, as promised - here is my recipe/rule breaking concoction!!! hehehehe...

Coriander Curried Mince with Stir Fry Veg & Egg Noodles

......

Ok so I did not do the mince in a traditional sequence and that was because I had to cook the mince "plain" to accommodate my 8 yr old son who is really not that in to curry yet lol (although, having said that - I did make him eat it as is tonight, and despite the moaning about his mouth spontaneously combusting - he actually finished it - with the help of the good Samaritan cucumber on his plate obviously. lol)

Right, so to start, I heated the pot (DUH!) with little olive oil, added one finely chopped onion a generous amount of chopped garlic and ginger and fried that until golden. Then I added the mince, a little salt and freshly ground pepper, a chicken stock cube and some red wine... Yes, I am turning my 8 yr old into a food alcoholic just like me LOL

After about 6 or 7 min, I removed his portion of mince and proceeded to add the HEAVIES haha... which consisted of Mother in Law Masala (you know its bad when... lol) and Eleven in one Masala and then some random generic "HOT" curry powder, compliments of Cartwrights. lol - I then added some more garlic and ginger, a generous handful of freshly chopped coriander - and some more wine - HAHAHAHA... just kidding!!!!! (maybe) lol

20180719_161336.jpg

20180719_161242.jpg

Once the zing zing was in,
I added the can of coconut milk and stirred that in...

20180719_161603_1.gif

Then I added the pre-packed stir fry mix, (yes because I was lazy 'n all) lol and let that diminish for a few min, which it does... and fast!

20180719_161640_1.gif

Turn the heat medium to low, pop the lid on an walk away! Thats the main done - all you have to prep after that is the pasta / rice etc. On this occasion, I opted for egg noodles over zoodles (@thereikiworld), mostly because Jude manipulated my rubber arm in the shop hahaha!!! Eggggg noodles mommmyyyy, EGGGGG NOOOOODLES!!!!! - it is challenging to say no to that lol!

And as a palate cool down, I did a salsa style, diced salad - consisting of cucumber, tomato, baby spinach, fresh coriander and feta cheese. (no seasoning - it REALLY isn't necessary, not in my opinion anyway lol)

20180719_170809.jpg

and so peeps and @herverisson there it is... my re-hashed version of the original haha!

voila!

20180719_214811.jpg

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers


Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

Sort:  

@jaynie am quit sure this meal will be super delicious. Cus am salivating already. Also love the fact that you did considered your son and not adding much mince tho 😀 ...Great content i must say, and thanks for sharing.👏👏

Glad you enjoyed it @jayfamous ;) thank you so much for stopping by to read x

You're most welcome

Wonderful recipe.... looks delicious!

Thanks ;)

Wow... I already ate breakfast and im hungry again. 500g pasta in one go lol everything is great! Haha

Hahahahaha!!! Brilliant!! 😁👌

OH man!!! Does that look not only delicious and healthy, but also refreshing!
The pasta... the ginger... the garlic!

I do have to be honest.... it really WAS a LOT tastier than expected, considering the way I kinda "gooi'd" it all into the pot lol... thanks hon xxx

Lets call this fabulous dish "Diffusion Curry". Just the thing to start your weekend with ZING!.
The pics look great but a side question red wine and curry is curious No?

wine is good with ALL meats @sarez :) red wine for red meat (in this instance, which was beef mince) and white wine or rosé for white meats such as chicken and pork ;)

Good Point! Us Curry nerds are just stickler types!
Keep Steemin

I KNOW NOT OF RULES good comrade ;) hehehehehehe!!!

This looks wonderful! I love the colorful presentation! Why not wine in curry??? Your kitchen should be an unlimited palette guided by the creativity of your own palate!!! Just as long as there's enough wine left for the chef!!!

What a beautifully creative comment @rwedegis!!! and there WAS wine in my curry.... I just meant I didnt add MORE because of Jude hehehehe ;)

Poor Jude, he doesn't realize how lucky he is to have a gourmet mom!

hehehe I think he curses it some days lol!!! (wishes he could just eat KFC or mcdonalds like the fat kids lol) hahahaha - I know this is probably wrong of me, but I do exactly that to him when he asks for take out... I refer to his chubby friends and ask "do you want to look like so and so?" - he always answer NO! hahahaha

He will thank you someday! Hahaha!

Haha I hope so!! 😁

Congratulations @jaynie! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

AJ picked your post @jaynie for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Awesome. Thanks 😎

Super... Danke schön 💗

It looks fresh at the same time feel like spicy... Great combination @jaynie.

Thanks luv xxx It was pretty darn tasty! Even if I do say so myself hehehehe ;)

Hahahaha... You are the best!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44