Is The Cowboy Code Obsolete?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I don't have any grand visions of spectacular posts today because
I forgot to appoint myself the task of coming up with an idea when
I went to bed last night. So I woke up empty headed. Again.

However...I DID see this painting called Sweet Return on a cowboy
rodeo website( yes they do have those) some rodeo stars even
use social media. Or at least their promoters do. Although most
cowboys consider it a necessary evil.

The painting has nothing to do with the subject of the Cowboy
Code which I wrote about earlier in the week and yet it reminded
me of that Code because of the reverence and protection and
respect that the cowboys and men of the West showed their
women folk. And still do today in most of Texas. The rural areas
anyway.

35062861_10155928610526725_1613921239502422016_n.jpg
that there's a Texas scene, look at that landscape!

That unbreakable bond created by husbands and wives in a
time of hardship, pain and suffering in breaking in and settling
the West became the bedrock on which society grew and thrived.

It seems like most of the time today marriage is denigrated or
even scoffed at, being old fashioned or too much of a hassle to
fool with. And women demanding equality...geez in my world
and in the Code, women were exalted ABOVE men..to be
cherished, honored and protected.

Now they want to be brought down to the level of men?

Up North there were quite a few times when I'd taken the
time of course, being a redneck gentleman, to stop and open
the door for a young woman and got THE most hateful,
disgusted, offended, DEATH STARE that one could ever get!

I mean they were FURIOUS at me. Has anyone had that
experience? For a long time I tried to avoid being in that
situation again, to not ever being in a position where my
gentlemanly manners might offend a woman.

Now, in Texas you don't have to worry about that. In fact
you might get a Death Stare if you DIDN'T get that door!
The women here are super tough but boy you better be
acting right and manly.
(most women in these parts carry a gun too, just to add a
little incentive to be polite!)

that's my thought for today folks, men..let me know if you've
ever offended a woman by offering a hand or opening a
door..and what that says about modern society. Maybe I'm
just too old fashioned?

thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know, you might just be a redneck if:

your last words before you woke up in the hospital were
"here hold my beer, watch this!"

texas-facts.jpg

Sort:  

Great post and you got some great comments too.
I don't need to comment, though.
My name speaks for itself, hehe.

haha! you are right sir..God bless you!

Up North there were quite a few times when I'd taken the
time of course, being a redneck gentleman, to stop and open
the door for a young woman and got THE most hateful,
disgusted, offended, DEATH STARE that one could ever get!

What is polite and kind in one area is seemed to be offensive in another. Sometimes frustrating to everybody. In Korea it is polite to refuse once or twice even though you accept the offer. It is also polite and necessary for the host to offer three times. If not then it is not considered hospitality.

I recommend accepting the stare and apoligizing honestly,
"I'm so sorry Ma'am. I'm a red neck from Texas and don't know any other way to treat a lady. Have a good day."

You might get punched or you might get a smile.

I will be in Louisville and for about a week and won't have no problem there. Chicago is also a hospitable town... but you get both kinds there: "Country and Western."

hahaha! oh man, even your comments need to be entered into the comedyopenmic contests! thank you sir, that is very interesting about the rules of etiquette in Korea, I'd have to memorize those so I wouldn't offend anyone! thank you sir, too bad you can't stay there awhile longer on that island.

First off, where up north exactly did you offend a woman? I get doors opened for me often, and I am always thankful for the extra hand! I’m a little surprised even when it’s a high school aged or younger gentleman too. Someone is raising their boys right!
I agree with you there, equality for men and women has, in some aspects, brought the woman down.
I have my concealed carry license and even bought me a special cc purse :)
Hope you’re having a great blessed day!

howdy today @hebrewhousewife! thanks so much for reading and commenting. I was in Akron, Ohio.
love to hear that respect for women is still strong where you are!
also love to hear that you carry, great job!
God bless you guys up there!
ps- it was many times with many women who were furious that I dared to offer them a courtesy.
I would never have mentioned it if it weren't a cultural phenomenon.

I guess I am old fashioned in some respects. I can work right alongside a man and I can hold my own, but I still like to be treated like a lady with respect...

yes Ma'am @cecicator, that's how it should be.

Hi @janton. It is like you can't win anymore. Your damned if you do and you are damned if you don't. Wish women would make up their minds. Central locking has made it a lot easier though. I wander if it was a man or a women that invented that. My bet is a man did.

hey @cryptoandcoffee..what is "central locking?

Hi @janton. You are kidding right? The button on your key that opens all the doors on the car.

oh lol. I've never heard that term before. hey some things have to be explained in redneck terms!

Well, I am not a man but I find I can't resist! I must respond.
I wasn't born in Texas but in the Carolinas. Women there back in the day, were much like you describe your Texas women. I was squirrel hunting with my dad when I was 6.

We were taught to shoot, hunt, work the fields AND cook, clean and tend the babies. We were not taught to hunt and shoot by my father because it was expected of us but because they were valuable skills that we needed to know. He taught us girls that if he can't open the door for ya he ain't worth your time.

@janton I don't want to be a man! As a homesteading wife, I see it as my responsibility to stand by and behind my husband. If something needs doing then whoever gets to it does it. When he is not around I push, I pull, I lift and I haul but when he is around I don't dare. It would truly hurt his pride to stand idle while his wife did the heavy lifting.
And I would never allow him to stand idle if we were in the company of another woman that needed a hand.

Married over 30 years I would have to agree that when you work through the tough times together it creates a pretty strong bond. You learn to love and respect each other but you also know that without the other all of the good times would have never happened.

I am new here on Steemit. Still trying to learn how it all works and connect with like-minded folk.

Enjoyed your post very much! And if we ever meet in person.....I would appreciate it if you'd get the door.

hahaha! God bless you @sugarcreek! I so appreciate you coming by and commenting, what a blessing. I'm so thankful that we have strong women like yourself but what of the younger generation of women in your area?

Are they demanding and spoiled or are they still, for the most part, being raised to be strong and self-reliant? like you were raised.

I see that you are following papa-pepper so you have an excellent start here and your posts are very interesting. Also you write really well so you are going to grow fast on Steemit, you fit right in!

Thanks again, it's a pleasure to meet you. Your husband is a lucky man! God bless you and yours!

Thank you!
I've raised my daughter to be strong. There are some strong young women in my area but I will be honest not enough.

I will make sure my husband reads this😉

howdy back @sugarcreek...do you guys have your own well, or how does that work it you're off the grid?
I can imagine that your daughter is super tough and strong mentally, spiritually and physically!

My daughter is a wonderful person. She doesn't live on the homestead... Yet. But we are planning for her to come home and that will be a blessed day for me.
We have a couple water options at this location. We have a solar pump for the well but can use Genny if needed. I also have rain catchment.
We are moving to our larger property that has springs and creeks. Plan to use the Solar pump and water catchment until we can save for a well there.

I didn't know that solar would be strong enough to run a pump but then I haven't been keeping up on the solar technology which I hope is increasing rapidly.
You are moving! to a place with springs and creeks? oh my gosh, I thought there WERE no more springs bringing forth water anywhere, what a blessing!
where is this new place and how much acreage?
but if you're getting ready for bed or something just reply tomorrow, I'm a little nuts and stay on here till 2 am lots of times!

I've been up with one of my guinea babies. It is a bit behind the others hatched 3 days later.
I think it has imprinted on me. You'll have to watch for that post. Lol
It is I think they call it low flow... I'll have to ask my husband and get back to you on that. Lol
Yes there is really so much out there it is amazing.

haha! now that Guinea will be following you around! that's cool though, they're great to have around. ya'll don't have coyotes or have dogs to protect the birds there?

I never give a death stare to someone offering kindness. I smile and say thank you. Now, that's manners!

I agree but in some places it's not that way unfortunately.

I agree but in
Some places it's not that way
Unfortunately.

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I've heard of men being scolded or stared at for holding the door, I've just never had it happen to me. What happens more is that it just goes ignored. Generally, though, people say thank you if not smile. Maybe you should avoid Akron.

Many times when I've opened the door for one person, I keep it open for another four or five that are exiting at the same time, so in those cases it doesn't look so much like I'm helping the woman that came through as I am just holding the door. In some instances, it's so I can get through myself.

At any rate, holding the door is a very small part of being polite to women or men and I would hope that it wouldn't be such a big deal. Of course women can get their own door. It's about being nice, not about saying, "Oh, you're too weak. Let me help you!" or whatever else might be thought.

I guess things are the way they are and we hope we run into more people who understand what we're trying to do rather than those who will accuse us of doing something terrible.

howdy Glen thanks for commenting. oh yeah I hold the door open for everyone regardless of age or sex that's why this happening so many times told me that it wasn't just a person in a bad mood or something against men but a cultural thing... at least in Northern Ohio.

Oh don't worry, I will always try to avoid Akron! lol. meth capital of the world. the city morgue has so many dead that they put the overflow in refrigerated semi trucks! That was even featured on 60 minutes.

In a way it helped us in our real estate business because we were strictly working for the banks selling their foreclosed properties and a large percentage of those were because of drugs.
thank you sir!

hey where's your posts at today? went to your blog and nothing! is the sky falling in?

There aren't any. I told someone—you maybe—that I try not to post on Saturdays. As it is, didn't have much to talk about anyway, so this week will only have six posts for it.

I'll just have to regroup and see what I can do next week. I'm getting used to regrouping, though, so maybe something good will happen. :)

ok, well it wasn't me, you told me that you would like to get 4 posts out today but that wouldn't happen but you didn't say you weren't going to post anything, well, you could have said it and I misunderstood that's true.
I did misunderstand something someone said one time so that's not out of the realm of possibility. well since you weren't posting today what were you doing all day?

Working on comments and curating. Like you. :)

I did say I would need to get out four posts in order to get to 10 for the week, but that wasn't likely to happen, but that I might go for two if I could come up with topics.

Instead, I've just been enjoying going through my feed and then branching out to other places and seeing what I could find.

Still got an hour or two to work on the commenting. Or I might wrap it up earlier and do something else. The wife and the daughter-in-law are watching the Mamma Mia sequel, so it's not like I couldn't come up with something else to do, right. :)

hahaha! the Mamma Mia sequel yes indeed! hey that's a fun movie I'm sure, you might get into it! lol.
what did you find when you branched out to other places?

Oh, there's been four or five different posts I've commented on so far. Been basically going through the list of the Top 40 in the engagement league looking at posts. It's slow going because the articles are longer and some of them a little meatier, but I've been finding things to comment on so, that's good. Might need to jump into some photography tags before we're through, but there's only so much I can say before I'm saying it over and over again. :)

I've not seen the first one. I guess it was on. I do like musicals, though. I'm not that big of an ABBA fan, though. So, maybe I'll catch up on them, but probably not. :)

what does that movie have to do with ABBA?

Its really a great quote

howdy there @steyn! thank you I really love that as well and know it to be so true, thank you for commenting!
what is your location?

Morning @janton, respect and partnership is so essential for a happy long lasting marriage. And yes a good husband looks after and protects his wife. Thank you for the post.

thank you @angiemitchell I so agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88