You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The Cowboy Code Obsolete?

I've heard of men being scolded or stared at for holding the door, I've just never had it happen to me. What happens more is that it just goes ignored. Generally, though, people say thank you if not smile. Maybe you should avoid Akron.

Many times when I've opened the door for one person, I keep it open for another four or five that are exiting at the same time, so in those cases it doesn't look so much like I'm helping the woman that came through as I am just holding the door. In some instances, it's so I can get through myself.

At any rate, holding the door is a very small part of being polite to women or men and I would hope that it wouldn't be such a big deal. Of course women can get their own door. It's about being nice, not about saying, "Oh, you're too weak. Let me help you!" or whatever else might be thought.

I guess things are the way they are and we hope we run into more people who understand what we're trying to do rather than those who will accuse us of doing something terrible.

Sort:  

howdy Glen thanks for commenting. oh yeah I hold the door open for everyone regardless of age or sex that's why this happening so many times told me that it wasn't just a person in a bad mood or something against men but a cultural thing... at least in Northern Ohio.

Oh don't worry, I will always try to avoid Akron! lol. meth capital of the world. the city morgue has so many dead that they put the overflow in refrigerated semi trucks! That was even featured on 60 minutes.

In a way it helped us in our real estate business because we were strictly working for the banks selling their foreclosed properties and a large percentage of those were because of drugs.
thank you sir!

hey where's your posts at today? went to your blog and nothing! is the sky falling in?

There aren't any. I told someone—you maybe—that I try not to post on Saturdays. As it is, didn't have much to talk about anyway, so this week will only have six posts for it.

I'll just have to regroup and see what I can do next week. I'm getting used to regrouping, though, so maybe something good will happen. :)

ok, well it wasn't me, you told me that you would like to get 4 posts out today but that wouldn't happen but you didn't say you weren't going to post anything, well, you could have said it and I misunderstood that's true.
I did misunderstand something someone said one time so that's not out of the realm of possibility. well since you weren't posting today what were you doing all day?

Working on comments and curating. Like you. :)

I did say I would need to get out four posts in order to get to 10 for the week, but that wasn't likely to happen, but that I might go for two if I could come up with topics.

Instead, I've just been enjoying going through my feed and then branching out to other places and seeing what I could find.

Still got an hour or two to work on the commenting. Or I might wrap it up earlier and do something else. The wife and the daughter-in-law are watching the Mamma Mia sequel, so it's not like I couldn't come up with something else to do, right. :)

hahaha! the Mamma Mia sequel yes indeed! hey that's a fun movie I'm sure, you might get into it! lol.
what did you find when you branched out to other places?

Oh, there's been four or five different posts I've commented on so far. Been basically going through the list of the Top 40 in the engagement league looking at posts. It's slow going because the articles are longer and some of them a little meatier, but I've been finding things to comment on so, that's good. Might need to jump into some photography tags before we're through, but there's only so much I can say before I'm saying it over and over again. :)

I've not seen the first one. I guess it was on. I do like musicals, though. I'm not that big of an ABBA fan, though. So, maybe I'll catch up on them, but probably not. :)

what does that movie have to do with ABBA?

Oh, it sounded like you had seen it. The movies, as far as I can tell, are based on Abba music. Mamma Mia was one of their bigger hits.

Here's one of their music videos if you'd like a refresher:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73