You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The Cowboy Code Obsolete?

Well, I am not a man but I find I can't resist! I must respond.
I wasn't born in Texas but in the Carolinas. Women there back in the day, were much like you describe your Texas women. I was squirrel hunting with my dad when I was 6.

We were taught to shoot, hunt, work the fields AND cook, clean and tend the babies. We were not taught to hunt and shoot by my father because it was expected of us but because they were valuable skills that we needed to know. He taught us girls that if he can't open the door for ya he ain't worth your time.

@janton I don't want to be a man! As a homesteading wife, I see it as my responsibility to stand by and behind my husband. If something needs doing then whoever gets to it does it. When he is not around I push, I pull, I lift and I haul but when he is around I don't dare. It would truly hurt his pride to stand idle while his wife did the heavy lifting.
And I would never allow him to stand idle if we were in the company of another woman that needed a hand.

Married over 30 years I would have to agree that when you work through the tough times together it creates a pretty strong bond. You learn to love and respect each other but you also know that without the other all of the good times would have never happened.

I am new here on Steemit. Still trying to learn how it all works and connect with like-minded folk.

Enjoyed your post very much! And if we ever meet in person.....I would appreciate it if you'd get the door.

Sort:  

hahaha! God bless you @sugarcreek! I so appreciate you coming by and commenting, what a blessing. I'm so thankful that we have strong women like yourself but what of the younger generation of women in your area?

Are they demanding and spoiled or are they still, for the most part, being raised to be strong and self-reliant? like you were raised.

I see that you are following papa-pepper so you have an excellent start here and your posts are very interesting. Also you write really well so you are going to grow fast on Steemit, you fit right in!

Thanks again, it's a pleasure to meet you. Your husband is a lucky man! God bless you and yours!

Thank you!
I've raised my daughter to be strong. There are some strong young women in my area but I will be honest not enough.

I will make sure my husband reads this😉

howdy back @sugarcreek...do you guys have your own well, or how does that work it you're off the grid?
I can imagine that your daughter is super tough and strong mentally, spiritually and physically!

My daughter is a wonderful person. She doesn't live on the homestead... Yet. But we are planning for her to come home and that will be a blessed day for me.
We have a couple water options at this location. We have a solar pump for the well but can use Genny if needed. I also have rain catchment.
We are moving to our larger property that has springs and creeks. Plan to use the Solar pump and water catchment until we can save for a well there.

I didn't know that solar would be strong enough to run a pump but then I haven't been keeping up on the solar technology which I hope is increasing rapidly.
You are moving! to a place with springs and creeks? oh my gosh, I thought there WERE no more springs bringing forth water anywhere, what a blessing!
where is this new place and how much acreage?
but if you're getting ready for bed or something just reply tomorrow, I'm a little nuts and stay on here till 2 am lots of times!

I've been up with one of my guinea babies. It is a bit behind the others hatched 3 days later.
I think it has imprinted on me. You'll have to watch for that post. Lol
It is I think they call it low flow... I'll have to ask my husband and get back to you on that. Lol
Yes there is really so much out there it is amazing.

haha! now that Guinea will be following you around! that's cool though, they're great to have around. ya'll don't have coyotes or have dogs to protect the birds there?

We do have coyotes here in winter they feed heavy.
There is a cattle farmer down the valley that they favor. My neighbors have given up the fight and let them take what they want. So there are easier pickings all around us. My dog passed last summer. She was amazing but at 17 not a coyote killer. Here that is my job for now. Even in winter I keep a window cracked so I can hear at night. Over the years they have come here a few times but my critters are all housed at night and I am out there on them pretty quick, well maybe not as quick as I once was lol, but fast enough. So I don't make it easy for them and I'm always on alert.
My chickens and ducks are trained to go in at night. I will train the guinea also.
The neighbors think it's amazing. So funny.
I am a lover of life. Any wild animals even a coyote that needed help I would help them but there are rules here... We will not hurt each other and we will get along. If you come here with intentions of hurting those in my care it will not end well for you. I try to be a good shepherd and tend my flock and my own business. Lol
I plan to get another dog after the move. A puppy is like a child and needs a lot of attention to be on the right path. I would prefer not to take that on until after the move. But my heart is almost ready. I miss my girl.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76