You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Need suggestion To Make Steemit Alive For Long Term

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Here's some suggestions for you:

  1. Proofread your posts before publishing them
  2. Spellcheck and grammar check them
  3. Start a curation group for new users
  4. Start a curation group around a certain niche
  5. Reach out to brands and ask them to sponsor you if you write in their niche
  6. Publish your Steemit posts off of Steemit to bring more people to the site and thus better content creators
  7. Try and recruit content creators from other sites to start submitting here as well
  8. Create a high quality piece of content and use bid bots to promote it
  9. Hold a writing contest where the winner is rewarded with 200 SBD worth of upvotes to get their post to the Trending page
  10. Reach out to high value SP accounts and ask them to join a Mega Curation Group
  11. Start your own resteem/upvote bot that only upvotes users who don't buy upvote bots
  12. Start a Discord chat that talks about how to make better content
  13. Reach out to a major publisher and submit high quality Steemit posts to them for consideration
  14. Reach out to local news publications and tell them to start building a presence on Steemit
  15. Go on Medium and try to poach high quality writers from there and ask them to republish their content on Steemit
  16. Email your favorite author and tell them to make/promote a post on Steemit about their next book
  17. Connect top Steemit contributors with major brands and act as a middleman to offer Steemit promotional services for high quality content/commercials
  18. Reach out to production studios and tell them to post their shows on dtube (if they own the rights to them)
  19. Send emails to art galleries and offer to help build their presence on the platform
  20. Start a music curation group that poaches artists from Spotify and offers to create a profile for them on Steemit so they can start advertising themselves here.

I literally just came up with these off the top of my head.

Upvote bots are not your problem. Creativity is your problem. Laziness is your problem. There is nothing stopping any of you from doing every single thing on that list.

You all have email accounts. You all have fingers for typing. You all have eyes for reading. You all have mouths for speaking.

You want to make Steemit better? Stop posting about muh upvote bots and how they're ruining your circle jerk. Get out there and actually do something to make the platform better.

Bring people here who can contribute something. Create a business that earns money from creating high quality content. Jesus fucking Christ people get your shit together.

Sort:  

Pretty coherent list, I would also suggest inviting your friends to join steemit. However, DTube is probably what is going to really blow, just this morning I've read a news article in my feed about how traditional social media gives ground to Steem, DTube and others.
That speaks loads, as soon as the correction ends, we will probably see an explosion in value and size of steemit. Especially if something could be done with that pathetic excuse of a trending page. Personally I have hugh expectations for Communities that we are (hopefully) going to see soon.

I shilled Steemit but to no avail. And the person who introduced me the Steemit is powering down.

I see a great idea failing and old accounts telling to work harder. That might have worked a year ago.

Said it before:
The technology is great, but the challenges are figuring out a sustainable economic model that works.

When I signed up in June last year, I got a $0.10 cents upvote every 20 comments. Nowadays I rarely get a penny vote.

I noted that the values of upvotes have dropped to low. Also wrote about that:

https://steemit.com/steem/@krischik/seven-upvotes-and-no-payout

Including an update on the correlation between steem power and VEST. And I might even make another on that one.

When they changed the voting to a linear model, they also changed the voting strength - before you could make 40 votes a day without losing too much power. Now it's just 10.

The few power voters who kept the site clean can't vote much any more (because of the 10 vote rule), and everyone else just self-votes. That's why voting in general has collapsed.

That's very interesting, that explains a lot. When was the change made and what was used before?

Of course self voting only works if you are are at last minnow. Plankton votes are worth noting.

June 2017. See

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptodrive/welcome-to-steem-hf-19

And this:

https://steemit.com/steemvoter/@steemvoter/steemvoter-week-in-review-for-may-21-26

Perhaps the most notable change to your voting well-being is that your 100% vote will post-hardfork be 4 times as strong as before the hard-fork, but will also drain 4 times more power. So if you previously were voting 40 posts per day at 100% you can now only vote 10 posts per day at 100% without draining your vote power any lower than what you have been used to.

It was combined with a linear voting system instead of the previous exponential one.

I think they thought they were taking power away from the whales and giving it to minnows. But what actually happened is that the small group of power voters who were keeping the site stable by dishing out 40 votes a day to anything that caught their eye were discouraged and everyone else just self-voted and you get the mess we see now.

Same here. And knowing a programming and math I figured out the actual problem: The linear correlation between steem power and VEST. I wrote about this here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@krischik/answer-to-somebody-tried-to-tell-me-steem-is-dead

Thank you for your service, let's work to get your ideas implemented. Have you talked with the dev team?

No. I should really work out the details and make a post on in and put it up to discussion. But will anybody listen?

We just have to figure out where to post it. I'm sure there's an official area for such things but since I'm one of those idiots who never reads any of the instruction manuals for anything and just figures it out with trial and error, I haven't discovered where we are supposed to submit those types of things yet, but my guess is that it is covered somewhere either in the FAQ section, Welcome section, or elsewhere on the list of links in the drop down steemit menu in the top right. Let me know if you find it!

Downvoting was a mistake, wanted to Upvote.
Cheers

So what do we do? are all old accounts set to a downward spiral. That's not good o hear.

Basically a steemit YouTube. But I'm new to all this.

Acho que esta plataforma tem tudo para ter sucesso... só precisamos de bons criadores de conteúdos. parabéns pelo artigo .

I love how it was all nice at the start, then went all fuck you, you lazy wanker at the end. Brilliant !!

I'm new to all this, have no clue really. tried to use a bot once and didn't really get it, or any response from it. I've still got my learner plate on. Confusing stuff to an old fart.

Anyway !! I think I would prefer to be an Organic page. Though loosing momentum as I have put lots of posts on and don't think I am getting anywhere, but I do what I do for fun, so not overly bothered. I would still do it anyway. Tight Lines

2017-03-20 02.34.51.png

I have enroled you in steembasicincome, good luck keep posting.

Hi. Had a look at that. Thanks can you explain it a bit further in dumb dumb terms lol
How do I delegate to it. ?

you dont have to do a thing now, in a few days you will be a member and your posts will get upvotes from sbi5 or sbi6 - if you post daily they wont be much at all, if you post once a week it will give maybe a 4 cent upvote, it isnt much - but its for life and every little helps

That's awesome thanks.

hi, i think we should take steemit just like we take our other buisness plans.Hard work ,Quality and skills find their place.

Hey, man, welcome to Steemit! I relate to your sentiment. I have been here since early January (his year) and it feels like forever--but in a good way! Point is, there's a rather "steep learning curve," so to speak. Takes a while to really start to get the ball rolling. As far as bots: I just started to feel confident using them a couple weeks ago. If you are interested, I'd be happy to tell you my "method" on their use, and kind of a run down on what I've learned. There is so much on this platform to discover and do... Feel free to find me on Discord @gjones15 if you have any questions!

LOL at your first sentence.

I'm new here as well. I feel like a new kid who's started at a funky high school that has the art classes she really wants, while trying to work out which of the kids are the ones that are putting fart bombs in the cafeteria and messing it up for everyone else. Who are the scammers and what's acceptable and what's selfish shit I don't want a part of. It's quite trippy.

If you want the light to shine, you don't just complain about the darkness. You light a candle or turn on a flashlight or something.

If you want steemit to be a better place, CREATE better content and promote it!

yallapapi for president!

hey friends,I agree with you

Now this is exactly what we need. Steemit is about creativity and free speech. That should be our #1 priority. The power of good outweighs the negatives. Basically don't curse the dark, light a lamp instead. I mean with the exception of few instances, every time I see someone complain about reward pool or voting abuse, flags etc. They are all using bid-bots! That alone shows that bid-bots are resilient. on top of that people lose money when using bid-bots 99.99% of the time. Massive self-upvotes are a much bigger problem that should be fixed at the protocol level.

oh, great one of few with positive sentiment, thank you. I see a great list of suggestions in the post here and you condensed it to the bare minimum to take some action! I tried these bid-bots as a curious fresh Steemian and can't understand the model from the user side.. it's gambling with your hard earned SBD.. a few "succeed" using timing but in the end get bad reputation (i was a bit angry about someone who used it excessively).. I thought exactly the same about your last point some time ago.

I did self-upvoting some time ago once for every post and stopped it completely, also the minnowbooster self-upvote even if i get under $1SBD for huge posts. I can understand people who are annoyed of the current state but don't wanna blame anybody because here are enough points to improve the situation.

But for me there was one great suggestion recently by i think @modernpastor who thinks of rewarding the true value of posts by an algorithm like YouTube use (reading time, calls) and create from this true trending posts. Use the power of such evaluation methods to reward enthused authors with great content!

One sad case was for me a scientist who wrote about his disappointment because he realized that no one was interested in his posts (good stuff from my point of view) and he left like many Steemit.. and not everyone has the persistence and strength to withstand the $30 upvote for a senseless strawberry cake photo without any narrative.. especially if you are a scientist with serious stuff 😉

Steemit can change that!

But for me there was one great suggestion recently by i think @modernpastor who thinks of rewarding the true value of posts by an algorithm like YouTube use (reading time, calls) and create from this true trending posts. Use the power of such evaluation methods to reward enthused authors with great content!

Unfortunately this would defeat the purpose of holding VESTS (SP). Dolphins and above would sell off large parts of their SP. Some would actually prefer that kind of a system. But what would happen when people use software and servers to emulate views, watch time etc. It would create a quintessential "Nothing at Stake" scenario. It'd be an interesting idea to try out as an SMT and see how many would give up steemit for the new platform.

Here are some of my suggestions: https://steemit.com/news/@vimukthi/the-initial-token-distribution-problem-of-steem-and-dan-talking-about-steem-2-0-on-eos-telegram-q-and-a

https://busy.org/steem/@vimukthi/steem-improvement-proposal-a-different-kind-of-promotional-tool-to-help-gain-exposure-without-using-bid-bots

One sad case was for me a scientist who wrote about his disappointment because he realized that no one was interested in his posts

That's really sad. I think STEEM has some serious marketing problem. @ned and devs seems to be pushing the idea about earning money to the front. But what if you sell it as medium on blockchain where you could also get some rewards. You get ZERO from medium and most blogs and science forums. Reddit gets you nothing. So why not post you stuff on the blockchain.

But these devs are pushing the "make a living on STEEM". Just imagine if somebody starting a literature course pushing the narrative that you can be a world famous writer. It can happen but in most cases it won't happen. People would enroll with wrong expectations and become disappointed.

It is quote a bit the wrong way. :)
Or maybe the word "rewards" spread a wrong meaning.

What I was talking about was not that the algorithm takes over the role of the different upvotes weights. No, I think this would be the wrong way. What I meant was that the algorithm could determine which post will get into the trending section. This would not destroy the purpose of holding SP. BUT the big weights of Upvote coming from bid bots or self-voting would no longer be the decisive factor or. People could also have high rewards but are not in the trending​ section.
Steemit has big Marketing problems not so Appics the first SMT. I think the team behind STEEM is not satisfied with the current status of the platform.

It would be funny if someone would create a new version of Steemit based on the SMT protocol :D

What I meant was that the algorithm could determine which post will get into the trending section.

Now this is exactly what we need. Current trending page can be renamed into something different or we could have few new tabs named ""Most Voted" "Most Engaging" "Controversial" etc. STEEM doesn't need to change for this. It's a job for the front ends like steemit/busy. Maybe HiveMinds could deliver something similar (I Hope!)

HAha, :D I like your expressions.
Oh yes, it's what I meant. Not STEEM but Steemit/busy.

HiveMinds? Never heard of them.

This is the perfect recipe to succeed in Steemit. Make a post about this.

You brought in a great list and is more helpful than the post itself. There are lots of people these days talking about why bots are wrong, the trending page and blah blah.

If the goal is elevating the truly better content. The fact that up-voting yourself is even possible indicates a structural design flaw. I imagine it to be the tip of an iceberg of problems that will continue to surface. I believe the goal stated to be paramount and the solving of the problem, the design of a system, to be the single most important task any community should tackle. The failure to bring the best to the top is systemic in our world and Trump is a shining example of how often the opposite of the goal is achieved. I concede he is the best at what he does, just not the best humanity has to offer. The system I describe has been my personal focus for some time. If anyone would like to collaborate with my team, let me know.

This is my first post on steemit and I know very little about it , as I only just heard of it on the radio, KPFA 94.1 Visionary Activist show. It's a great idea and shows great potential. I wonder if my design could be applied to it.
I do love the closing yallapapi ! but I've heard this before, here's an idea :
We let Jesus AND Christ off the cross, I think they've been fucked enough! wouldn't you agree? Maybe shit should be flowing down the pipe, do we need gather it together?
perhaps we need to let it go.
HA, Easy to say! Great advice but how bout when you're living in the midst of a firestorm, a hurricane, a nuclear tsunami, a school shooting, a Trump tweet storm or the shit storm that makes up life today?

I do love the closing yallapapi ! but I've heard this before, here's an idea :
We let Jesus AND Christ off the cross, I think they've been fucked enough! wouldn't you agree? Maybe shit should be flowing down the pipe, do we need gather it together?
perhaps we need to let it go.
HA, Easy to say! Great advice but how bout when you're living in the midst of a firestorm, a hurricane, a nuclear tsunami, a school shooting, a Trump tweet storm or the shit storm that makes up life today?

English pls

tl;dr It's Trump, Jesus and most importantly yallapapi's fault. :)

Jesus fucking Christ people get your shit together.

Don't you get tired galloping around on that high horse of yours?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54