Seven upvotes and no payoutsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

I am still on Steem because I like the site. Blogging with markdown is very easy and expressive. You can do a lot more here then for example with GAB or Google+, which I also use. Also I like the idea of idea of the attacked cryptocurrency

However that is also where the problem lies. Here a few pictures from posting I either made myself or resteemed:

image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png

Some of those posting have up to 7 upvoted but even that is not enough to make it to the Ȿ0.02 mark. I want Steem to succeed and this is a bad sign. As i pointed out in the comments of Somebody Tried To Tell Me Steem Is Dead any vote should be worth at least Ȿ0.02 and now not even seven votes make that treshhold. Very discouraging for new users.

I should point out that a few month ago this was not the case. If you had seven plankton upvotes you would have got at least a few cents.

So what has changed? For one: Upvote bots have taken off big time. And I am not the only one to notice:

With wales having almost unlimited steem power and not using there steem power to upvote the best I fear for the platform.

Suggestions for improvement have been made enough in the link I supplied. I also made my own by suggesting to replace the linear connection between steem power and VEST with an inverse exponential connection:

image.png

This function has the advantage to have a steep start giving plankton minnows a leg up and then flattening getting closer and closer to a given maximum without ever reaching it.

Sure some might spilt there accounts but that is more work to handle and still no one account has all the power.

PS: The current plot probably has a to high up maximum. 2×10⁹ VEST instead of 1×10¹⁰ VEST might have been better. For comparison 1×10⁹ VEST is the threshold for wales and the currently most powerful account has 9×10¹⁰ VEST.

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention.

This is a fine idea and a great post. I wish this platform had any viable means to allow quality to show through.

Let's keep fighting.

This will most likely cause more problems than it solves. With this structure you encourage the usage of multi-accounts. Whales will distribute their wealth across thousands of accounts and voting script bots will be used to manage these. As a consequence, detection of circle jerking will become almost impossible.

Besides, you have to reward wealth on Steemit, if having a lot of Steem does not give you an advantage, the entire worth of Steem in general will collapse. Steem is only worth something because it is a scarce resource. If only having a tiny bit of it will be sufficient, why should anyone have a lot of it then?

The whales are already doing that and it's not that difficult to detect:

image.png

BTW: I have not said anything bad. I commented under a posting berniesanders did not like and he (or she) down-voted the posting ** and every comment** regardless what was said with all of his (or her) sock puppets.

I am very disappointed and now I wonder if the system is broken beyond repair.

Besides, you have to reward wealth on Steemit

It's not a cap on your wealth and it's not a hard cap on your VEST. Any steem invested in steem power will continue to increase your VEST.

If only having a tiny bit of it will be sufficient

Do look at the numbers I suggested 2×10⁹ VEST is still incredibly powerful. And you would still need to invest 2 million steem into steem power to to gain it. Those are still very big numbers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66