Steemit StuffsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So there is a lot of stuff here on Steemit, but what does it all mean? I will give you a quick rundown of the important stuff

coverimagevfinal.png


reputation.png

What it is about
This is the number behind your username on your profile page. The more you post and upvotes you receive, the higher the number gets.

Why it is important
It shows people how cool you are, it is a ranking of your swag. Wear your number with pride. If you are uncool and your number is too low, people will not see your posts. It's just like real life, you are either a somebody who can sit with the cool kids or you are a nobody and no-one will listen to you (harsh ain't it? but that's life so just suck it up and get on with it.)

What you should aim for
If you have a rep of 60 you are playing in the big leagues. This means you are a Steemian Supreme.


followers.png

What it is about
This is the number of people who are following you. Your posts will pop up in their feeds.

Why it is important
If you have a large following chances are you will get a lot of upvotes, which is good for moral. Be sure to have "real" followers though because "fake" followers will do nothing to boost your posts. Remember that a large following does not always equal bigger payouts. The important thing is to interact with your following and make sure that they are really interested in your posts and not the result of "follow4follow" campaigns.
It's like having bunch of groupies just waiting on your posts to drop.

What you should aim for
Real rock stars have a loyal following of a 1000 groupies. Yeah baby one thousand! So rock on and get those followers, you are an aspiring Rockstar, you know how we play!


following.png

What it is about
These are the people you follow.

Why it is important
Their posts will fill your feed. These are your sources for some good info on the things that interest you, or maybe you just like the personalities of the people you follow, either way their posts will clutter up your feed.
These are also the posts you are most likely to upvote and will provide you with some well deserved curation rewards.

What you should aim for
If you follow too much people your feed will have too many posts for you to go through. Start with the people you really find interesting and who write about things that interest you. Weed out the spammers and scammers and try to only follow serious Steemians. Rep is a good indication if someone is serious about the platform.

Go for about half or a third of the amount of people following you. So if you have 600 follower, try to follow 200-300 people.


posts.png

What it is about
You write posts and submit them, if people like you post they will upvote the post granting you a reward.

Why it is important
Are you kiddin' me, this is one of the most important things on Steemit. Posts will earn you rewards. It's what Steemit is all about.

What you should aim for
Depends on how much time you've got. At least one post a day is a good thing but I can understand that not everyone has that luxury. There was a 4 posts a day maximum but since HF19 (Hard Fork 19 - a nerdy way of saying that Steemit got a software update) this rule doesn't apply anymore.


curation.png

What it is about
The art of finding good quality posts and/or authors and upvoting them.

Why it is important
Separating trash from quality content is very important for the platform. It will lure more quality authors over to Steemit, which helps the userbase, the reward pool will grow, rewards will get bigger, you will have more money in your wallet. So long story short: More quality posts means you will get rich, baby.

What you should aim for
I am probably Steemit's worst curator. But the best advice I can give is to use at least 9 of your upvotes on posts that you find to be of high quality. Remember good curation will earn you good curation rewards.


steem.png

What it is about
The cryptocurrency of the Steem blockchain.

Why it is important
It's cash, moolah, money baby. The more you've got, the richer you are.
Also you can turn Steem into Steem Power, that's when things get really interesting.

What you should aim for
The moon, duh!


steem_power.png

What it is about
Your Steem invested in the Steemit platform.

Why it is important
It grants you power of mortals, gives you special powers, makes you more attractive to the opposite sex, makes you look half your age, gives you a six pack and much more. It also increases your voting power so your upvotes are worth more and you have an increase in your curation rewards, but that is just a small detail. the most important takeaway is POWER.

What you should aim for
Most of us are either Redfish or Minnows meaning that we have less than 10 million Vests (5000 Steem Power) invested in the platform. There is one common goal though and that is to become a Whale among Whales. There are too many zeroes for me to count in the amount of Vests you need to accomplish this but 1 Billion Vests is a good start. Remember, Rome wasn't built in a day. Steem on my fellow Steemians, we will get there eventually.


steem_dollars.png

What it is about
Your main currency for payments on Steemit.

Why it is important
Chances are that all your Steem is invested in Steem Power. This leaves you without a currency to pay people for services or give them tips. Steem dollars is the solution to this problem.

What you should aim for
It is good to have a couple of Steem dollars available, how much depends on your wealth. I find that 10-25 Steem dollars is a good amount to have lying around.

When submitting your post you can choose to have the payout in 50% Steem Power and 50% Steem dollars, this is default but you can also choose to have your payout in 100% Steem Power. At the moment the price of Steem dollars is very low so it is better to go 100% Steem Power.


estimated_account_value.png

What it is about
The thing that you will look at the most when starting with Steemit but over time you will realize that it actually is the most pointless statistic.

Why it is important
It isn't important at all, it says absolutely nothing. Better use an app like blockfolio to see the real worth of your Steem coins.

What you should aim for
You should aim to get this removed or linked to an exchange to give the real current price of Steem.
Keep repeating the following over and over, Steem is real, dollars are just fugazi.

Hope you enjoyed my list of important Steemit Stuff. Tomorrow I will be at Gamescom in Cologne Germany. Expect many pics, videos and info about this epic Gaming event. Stay tuned.

classy_signature3.png

transparant_background2.png

horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
Highly Recommended!-Steemit Key Indicators
Authorship.com, has the competition arrived?
Steemit Gamers Unite!
The Thing about mobile Gaming
CentrO one of Europe's biggest shopping centers
Boruto: A Worthy Successor?
Marvel vs Capcom Infinite Preview

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

I love this post and so much valuable information 😊 so true about engaging and I love getting to know my followers and to read their posts. And I answer all my comments, if they take the time then I can to.. Lol
Such a great place and so many amazing people. If you don't make an effort then you get no response.... And comment without even reading the post are the worst.
OK. @saffisara is a comment that says nothing. Ok what?
I like the way you explain all the different categories. Steem power, reputation... Oh I'm not that big yet... On 54 not 60.. Lol 😄
But I'm happy with my accomplishments so far and all the great people I've met and all support. I'm one of the blessed ones.
Great useful writing. Thank you for taking your time to share this. Will help many.
Cheers

Thank you @saffisara, Don't worry about the reputation and steem power, just enjoy yourself here on Steemit. If you have fun doing what you do, the rest will follow.

Follow me and up vote me

Hello @rakilbulce, It would be nice if you actually commented on my post. I spent quite a bit of time on writing and editing this. The fact that you completely ignore my efforts kind of hurts the blogger in me. If we exchanged some witty banter I would be more inclined to follow and/or upvote you, but as it stands now I feel unappreciated, neglected, ignored and depressed. Of course you can rectify this by adding an insightful comment relating to my post. This will brighten up my day and motivate me to write something else tomorrow. Thanks in advance.

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Now this is what I call a useful post. It covers all the basic features. If I had seen this post when I first started it would have helped in avoiding the common mistakes newbies make. I will resteem because I think your post adds value.

Thank you, sometimes we get so caught up in our posts that we forget to share what we've learned with others. Steemit for me also means sharing.

I totally agree. I share the sentiments with some of the other steemians who responded to your posts. Number 1, quality of post. Number 2, do not beg for followers. If your posts are consistently good , you will get followers and they will be the right ones.

I agree, especially the part of following/follower was good for me to read. I needed that!

Nice rundown of the basics of the platform! Good for newbies. Though we can talk about the numbers. I for one like an active small following with which to interact with, rather than a large mostly silent one, though I won't say no to that either :p

I agree, a large following of people might seem like it's a good thing but I see a lot of people with thousands of followers and still getting low payouts and almost no upvotes or comments. Quality over quantity is my motto in regards of followers.

Well, some people only have alot of followers because they beg for follows everywhere with the promise of returning the favour. That kind of thing does not generate good content and relationships. I prefer lower numbers if it means they genuinely like what I post, I'm not doing this purely for the money, though I'd be a hypocrite if I said that I'll deny said money. But I won't beg for upvotes, I'll promote my post wherever I can so it can reach as many eyes, but that's it. In any case, if people get a large following through honest work, that's awesome, nothing against that :)

Well said 😊👍

Thank you!
May I ask how do add emojis and such?

My pleasure 😊😉 I wondered the same thing as you about the emojis
I got a great tip to download a app called SwiftKey tangentbord
And now I use it every time I write. Not only does it have cool emojis 😆😉👍💕 but it also corrects my spelling errors, I'm Swedish so I spell wrong sometimes so this is a great help. Just a tip.. Lol

Thanks! I write from my PC though, so I was wondering about the markdown list or something. But thanks, I'll surely use it while I write on the move if need be :)

Thanks I was also wondering about that! Hehe I'm a translator so it is very embarassing when I make grammar or spelling mistakes.

My pleasure 😊 I think many of us was.. Lol
Ohh cool you're a translator 😉 admiring job
Have a wonderful day

Yeah that's what I did, now I have to weed them out. I guess the only problem with not following many people is that you may not have much in your feed, but that should be ok if what is there is quality and you have at least only like ten per day even.

Yeah, but rather than get spam in my feed, I'd rather get less, but better content. I also check random pages from time to time, so ... there's plenty to see either way :)

I agree. Less is more in this case! Thanks for the comment. I hope you have a WONDERFUL DAY!

Yeah :)
No problem, have a great day too, mate!

Thanks, where are you from? What do you do? Sorry for all the questions, just really curious! I hope you have a wonderful day!!!

Thanks for this. Simple yet powerful. I would recommend that every new person read this. I like the fact that you say only maybe a third in terms of your follower/following ratio.

I must confess I followed hundreds of people randomly just to see if they would follow me back. The shortcut is often the longest way to get somewhere. Now I am weeding out the one's I don't like.

I think you can even do well on here with few followers if they really engage with you and you engage with them and the people you are following.

I didn't know that reputation depends on the number of your posts and upvotes. Does it also depend on the value of the upvotes or the reputations of the people who upvote you? I don't know what vests are.

I hope you have a wonderful day!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83