Steemit Gamers Unite!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Calling all Steemit Gamers to band together and get the Gaming section back on the Steemit front page where it belongs.

covertitlefinal.png

Why the call for Unity?

My fellow gamers something awful has happened, #gaming is not visible any more on the Steemit front page. I know the gaming section is not as popular as the Steemit section but it does not deserve to be banished from the front page.

frontpage.png

Why this is bad

A lot of people only look at the sections on the frontpage resulting in less visitors for our most favorite topic on Steemit. Also the list on the frontpage is made up of the most popular topics, which means that posts about gaming are becoming less popular on Steemit.

What Happened?

I am not really sure but my best guess is that the number of posts with the #gaming has has reduced. The list on the front page is either based on total payouts or number of posts, if I compare the list on the front page and the list of categories arranged on number of posts it looks very similar.



The top list based on number of posts

listbasedonposts.png

From top to down, life, photography, steemit, art, blog, bitcoin, travel, news and story



the top categories on the front page

frontpagelist.png


What we need to do

fasttyping.gif

Do as this Carrey guy I found on Giphy and type as if playing Eddy in Tekken. Just button mash those keys.


It doesn't matter if you are a part of the PC master race, a console warrior, a casual mobile gamer, just get your Steem on and post like your life depends on it.

edit @badastroza mentioned in the comments that it also likely that Steemians are using the #games tag instead of the #gaming tag. This way we have 2 weak tags instead of one strong tag. I would like to ask all gamers to use the #gaming tag as your main tag when posting about gaming. Remember that we can use 5 tags so you will still be able to add the #games or #game tag if you like.

I am going to increase my #gaming posts, join me and let's get Gaming back on the frontpage.

proud_to_be_a_gamer.png

classy_signature3.png

transparant_background2.png

horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
Highly Recommended!-Steemit Key Indicators
The Thing about mobile Gaming
CentrO one of Europe's biggest shopping centers
Boruto: A Worthy Successor?
Marvel vs Capcom Infinite Preview
Selling and Buying of Steemit Accounts

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

Thanks - agreed.
Could it not be that many people are dividing their posts between #gaming and #games? Thus we have two weak tags rather than one strong one?

I believe if everyone's gaming content used #gaming as their primary tag, it would no doubt help, right?

Perhaps what we can actively do is if we spot gaming posts tagged as #games, then comment on those posts explaining why it's best to go with #gaming instead.

That's a good idea. this way we can increase the number of post in #gaming. We can add 5 tags so people can still add the #games and #game tag if they prefer that. Upvoted the comment and I will add your suggestion to my post ,crediting you of course :)

Retrogaming is also a popular tag. Should retrogaming be the second tag even when discussing retrogames?

I often use it - but it has its own place. #games and #gaming are creating unnecessary fracturing. I want to keep #retrogaming as it is, as it has its own dedicated following (myself included!) :)

Has there been any further movement on this? From what I can see, the strategy here would be to use #gaming first, as that is what counts towards getting a category listed. We have over 1000 for #gaming and over 1000 for #games, but these need to be added together (and my suggestion is to go with #gaming as the opening tag to build that up).

Could be that we really do have to actively go around and post on people's posts where they have used the #games tag first. I'm going to post the following for a while today - you can all help out by copying and pasting the following to new content appearing that has #games as the first tag:


Hi! Thanks for posting and contributing to the Steemit gaming community! This message is part of a campaign to unite the #gaming and #games tags. As many authors are using either tag, the total number of posts categorized for each is now so low that gaming content has fallen off the main list of Steemit "Tags and Topics" entirely. By unifying under one tag, we'd easily make the top list.

We propose that any gaming related content have #gaming as the first used tag. This way, we can see all gaming content become that much more prevalent on Steemit. If you agree, please help out by copying and pasting the following to new content appearing that has #games as the first tag.

See this post for more info:
https://steemit.com/gaming/@xervantes/steemit-gamers-unite

Thanks!

Hey @badastroza the last 3 days I have been at Gamescom. I just came back yesterday. I see that #gaming has disappeared from the frontpage again so that is not good. But I am back ready to reboot the campaign. I love your initiative. I am going to do a post about the #gaming tag today and see if we can get some supporters

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sherryblossom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Lets go gamers. It's time to take back our

That's the attitude! I am ready...
anigif_enhanced-5734-1411489208-22.gif

Oh glad there is gamers here. I thought there are non thats why i never posted gaming related content. I am gonna start posting lets go bois

There are quite a lot of gamers here (including me), just check the tags in my post . I actually earned my biggest payouts with articles about gaming.

Ouch, that's bad news ! I will try posting more about gaming after my exams !

Yeah, I always go to the gaming section to check out what's going with the latest and the retro posts. Imagine my surprise when I could not find the #gaming link on the front page.

It's JUST snuck back in there! Last item in the list. We can do it :D

Yeah, it just popped back. To be safe we need it further up the list.

Totally agree! :)

#IMissGaming This Is A Wonderful Post. I'll Be By Again Real Soon. I Just Got Super Duper Swamped. Thank you for the support.

way to take the lead

Thanks, The gamers need to band together and make some noise up in here.
battle.gif

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 4.17 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @binkley. alt text .


Using @steemthat Is Easy. Just Transfer 0.010 to @steemthat and The Steemit Link You Want Upvoted In The Memo.

It is true friend to set up some game post should be devoted to both play and fix the video and upload. To the end is neither valued nor seen It is my case, I try to revive it. And I work for it

Just keep steeming, you will get there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50