Steemit Status functionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Interacting with people over the world has one major problem, we all live in different time zones. So when one person is wide awake, the other might be sleeping or at work. At the moment there is no way to tell if someone is active, idle or offline.

The request for an additional functionality

Now I don't have the technical background to accomplish the following but I am looking for someone who might be able to pull this off.
The question is if it is possible to have a function built into Steemit so you can see if someone is online, offline or idle.



xervantes_online.png

As you can see in this image, there is a green indicator behind my username. In this case this would mean that I am online and actively Steeming.

check out my cool cover picture :)



xervantes_offline.png

In this picture there is a red led behind my username indicating that I am offline. So any comments on my posts would not get an immediate reply. I am probably sleeping, at work or spending some quality time with my family (more likely gaming).


Imgur

In this image the yellow led means that I am logged in but idle.

Why is it important?

More and more people are getting involved in projects or groups and not all of these people live in the same time zone. This functionality could help us check if someone is online or offline. The same goes for if you comment on a post it would be beneficial for both the author and the person who comments to see if the other person is online or not instead of just waiting for a reply.

If a group of people working on a project wanted to get together on Discord for example it would be easy for them to check who is online and who is not.


Is it possible?

Now I don't know if this request is technically possible but I would like to know if there are people who are able to research this and implement this. Either on Steemit or with a Steemit tool. I am willing to back the project to make this a reality.

Poll

  • A good idea
  • A bad idea
  • Has already been tried but failed
  • Already exists
  • Willing to give it a try
  • I know somebody who can make this work

Let me know in the comment section

classy signature.png

comments posts rewards votes

horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
PC vs Console: Match of the Century
500 Followers baby, Let's Celebrate
How do you explain Steemit to someone
The Dilemma: Sell or Hold
Beware of Flags
Games in need of a comeback

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

No, thanks, I'd like to have some privacy. Technially, Steemit could do this based on browsing activity, and you can already check Steemd to see if someone is voting.

Maybe it would be possible to change your status manually, like on Lync/Skype and PSN. If you don't want people to know that you are online you could just indicate that you are offline.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jocasta from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I think this is a good idea, I've been wondering why is there a blank blue background left with no function at all when it can be awesome if we could put a cover image.

You can put up a cover image, this feature was recently added to the site. Check you settings...I believe the size of the image is 1920x300 but people are reporting different sizes.

Wow I didn't know if they added this feature already. Thanks for letting me know. And I think it would be awesome if the next feature is the activity indicator that you asked

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68988.65
ETH 3774.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43