How do you explain Steemit to someone?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

How do you explain Steemit to someone. I still have difficulty explaining the concept in layman terms. Things like blockchain and cryptocurency are still too difficult for some to understand. So how do you explain Steemit?

howtoexplain.png

The conversation

(random friend) Hey, I don't see you on facebook anymore"
(me) No, I am on Steemit.

(random friend) What's Steemit?
(me) It's like a cross between Reddit and Facebook only you get paid for posting.

(random friend) Really, that's interesting. So I can get money?
(me) Yeah, it's great. It's a social media site on the blockchain.

(random friend) What's a blockchain, and how do I get that money. Is it real money?
(me) You get rewards for you posts, you get paid in Steem, it's cryptocurrency. The blockchain is really great.

(random friend) Cryptocurrency? You mean Bitcoins?
(me) No, not Bitcoins, you get Steem. It's a cryptocurrency like Bitcoin. There is a whole innovative technology behind it.

(random friend) Yeah, yeah whatever, so it's not real money?
(me) I guess you could turn it into cash if you wanted to. The community on Steemit is really great. They are helpful, friendly and there are a lot of great projects.

(random friend) Sure, sure. So how do I turn this Steem into dollars?
(me) Well there are a lot of different ways but that's not the most important part you...(can't finish the sentence)

(random friend) So how much money you got?
(me) Well you can see it in my wallet, let's look.

(random friend) I want that too, how do I sign up?
(me) Well, you just go to the Steemit.com page...No not Steam but S-T-E-E-M.

(random friend) Ok and how do I get money?
(me) Well you post and if people like your post they upvote it and you get Steem or Steem dollars. You can do the same if you like something just upvote the post and the author will receive Steem.

(random friend) I have to give them my money? I don't want to do that.
(me) No, You don't give them your money. It's money from the reward pool.

(random friend) Where does this money come from, sounds fishy, you just can't conjure money out of thin air.
(me) No, no. I told you about the blockchain right?

(random friend) Did you? Can't remember. All you talked about was the money you got on Steemit.
(me) No I tried to tell you about the blockchain and the community and the proj...(can't finish the sentence).

(random friend) I don't believe that this can be real. I never heard anyone talking about it so...
(me) Well it is real, just look at the Steemit site here.

(random friend) (Looks at the trending pages.) OMG 500 dollars just for a post about some restaurant, that can't be real.
(me) Don't get too excited those are well-known Steemians with a loyal following.

(random friend) I want to earn some Bitcoins too, they are worth a lot now.
(me) I told you, it's not Bitcoins. It's called Steem.

(random friend) Whatever, What should I write about to get the most money?
(me) You write about what you like, your hobbies, interests whatever.

(random friend) And then what, when do I get paid?
(me) Well the payout is 7 days after you posted.

(random friend) Whooeeh, sweet so all that cash goes directly to my bank account?
(me) Sighs, No. It's in your wallet and if you want to cash in you first have to do a power down..

(random friend) Power down?
(me) Yeah, that's when your Steem Power gets turned into Steem but this also means you lose your investment in the platform. The power down means that your earnings will be paid in 13 installments over the following weeks.

(random friend) Why?
(me) This way they encourage you to be involved with the platform. If you are committed then you will be rewarded.

(random friend) That sucks, I want my Bitcoins right away so I can sell them.
(me) I told you already, it's not Bitcoins but Steem and investing in Steemit will grant you more and bigger rewards in the long run.

(random friend) Sounds like a lot of work, think I'll just keep doing my thing on Facebook. Send me a message when you are online. See ya!
(me) sighs

So how do you explain Steemit? Let me know in the comment section.

classy signature.png


horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
The Dilemma: Sell or Hold
Beware of Flags
Games in need of a comeback
Gamescom 2017
Check Before You Upvote!

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

Steemit is like GreenStamps or coupons.

That is a good one. So you get coupons for posting. Still I will get the "how do I turn this into money?" questions or "what can I do with it?".

easy
...you 'redeem' them at BitShares (turn them into BitCoin) then buy $$$ with Bitcoin on CoinDesk...and have it sent directly to your Bank ...or ShiftCard.

OR...
If that proves to be too much trouble..
Send them to me.
I'll provide a good home for them.

LOL, I am sure. I have a Payeer and Spectrocoin account myself. They give you a card that you can use for payments or at an ATM. You can only sell Bitcoins for euros/dollars however at the moment. It works great, it is fun buying stuff with your crypto earnings.

I use something else here in Texas but it works fine for me.

Thanks, actually happens to me a lot. Still haven't found the right way to explain Steemit

haha I can relate! People just don't get it or think it's a scam.

Exactly, They just don't seem to comprehend the concept or think it is some kind of ponzi/piramid scheme.

nice post mate, hehehe I tried to explain a few times to some friends and gave up. :-)

Yeah, me too. It can get really frustrating. I want to share how great Steemit is but can't find the right way how to do it.

even to my wife I couldn't explain hhaha :/

I just showed my wife how it works. Although I don't think she understands the concept she does understand that I can turn those virtual dollars into euros and that is all she cares about. She is on Steemit too, I hope she doesn't read this :)

hope not hahaha :)

HAHAHA Really enjoyed reading this one. I could picture the conversation happening in the my head. Sounds like a conversation I would have with some of my friends.

I explain it to them in a way they would understand and keep it simple. Just like you, I just tell them that it's like Facebook, YouTube, and a Blog site where "Likes" actually earn you Steem which is like Bitcoin in a sense that it's a digital currency. The Steem can be converted to regular money, but there's a process.

I have a lot of friends who are into cryptocurrency but even they don't understand how you can earn Steem without buying it. I get asked all the time "but how much did you buy it for" and every time I have to explain that I didn't buy the Steem. To make things easier for myself, I bought some Steem when the price was really low and now I just say that I bought Steem for around a 100 dollars worth. Not the whole truth but at least they can relate more.

Exactly! One of these days, cryptocurrency will be more well known and people will actually know what we are talking about. But to be fair, I am still a newbie in all of this and just interacting with others who dabble in crypto has made a world of a difference! Sometimes you just have to explain it in terms that they would understand. Now if you excuse me, I will have to buy some Steem.

I have the hardest time convincing people that fiat currencies (US Dollars for example) are also just conjured up out of thin air. Only with USD they're only "Lent" into existence, and have to be paid back.... Plus interest!!!

I don't even try to do that anymore. People talk about real money (fiat currency), not realizing that fiat currency's value is actually "a bubble". It's literally not worth the paper it's printed on. But when I talk about cryptocurrency they tell me that it's not real. We will see what will happen in the future, I believe that cryptocurrency and the technology behind is going to play a major part in the way payments will be done.

Following!!!

I haven't really talking to anyone, except my son who's 18, just a bit... like most things, people gotta figure it out for themselves. I'm still educating myself as well.

God, the "where is all that money coming from ?" question always kills me when I try to talk about Steemit. I have not yet found a way to explain Steemit too...

That one is the most difficult thing to explain. I am also just figuring out how the reward pool works. But the concept of a reward pool and a community distributing those rewards among others is almost alien to most people. Just imagine the government doing this in real life :)

Same, I have big troubles understanding how it works but I'm sure I will slowly get it over time. But it puts me in that situation in which I am trying to make my friends join a platform that I can't even fully explain.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jocasta from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice post..upvoted and followed you

follow me as well please am new here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36