Steemin' by XervantessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

How do you do your Steemin'? Are you relaxed, tensed, excited? How do you come up with ideas for your posts? Here is my take on the process.

titleblogv1.png

How it starts

Another day has come around and it is time to share something with the Steemit community. Will it be a gaming review of the last game I played, something relevant to Steemit, or some other worthwhile news?
I check my Evernote to see if I have some good subjects to write about.
My eye catches a good topic and in my mind I start to envision how my post should look like.

thinking.gif

Preperations

First thing is a good Blog title and a nice pic to make my post alluring. Do I got to Lunapic or Canva to peronalize my picture and add some text? Luna pic for the complex editing of course and Canva for the quick designs. Then I go to the stackedit.io template I have created for Steemit (don't forget to sync with google drive for backup). All that's left now is to fill in the blanks.

The writing

I always have some vague idea what I want to write about but when I am tapping away on the key, more than often I tend go off script. The writing relaxes me and the world just seems to fade into the background. I am focused on my writing and at that moment nothing else matters.

I always start with an introduction (in bold) so that on the Steemit page people can see what my post is about. I follow up the introduction with the picture that will be visible on the page.

Next is deciding on the chapters. I always try to keep the same layout: What's it about, Why it is important, Examples/data/sources and the Takeaway/conclusion.

I end the post by reaching out to the readers and asking them to give me feedback in the comment section.

answer_me.gif

The checking

After the relaxation and the zen comes the tedious work, Are there any spelling errors? Is my grammar correct? I proofread my posts at least twice (and even once more after I post and even then I always seem to find some kind of mistake). I use Google and Google docs to double check if what I have written is correct (the woes of not being an English speaker).
My final act is copy-pasting my text from stackeditor into Steemit and a final check to see if everything looks ok.

Submitting the Post

Now it's time for doubt. Am I sure everything is in order? Is it the right time to post or should I wait a while? Do I upvote or save my vote?
Which tags should I use? (I spent waaay to much time deciding on the tags). It always takes me a while to hit that submit button. But every time I do....Joy!

happy.gif

The waiting game

After submitting the post the exciting part begins. Will the post be interesting enough for people to read, will they think it is good, will they comment?
I switch from my laptop to my mobile so I can check how the post is doing and reply to comments.
While I wait I check out my feed for quality posts to upvote and comment on.

Then it's onto Steemitchat, Discord (and now Mangosteem) to see what's the latest on Steemit. Last but not least I check my wallet to get those latest rewards.

money.gif

Satisfaction

I can now rest easy knowing that I got to share what was on my mind and getting some nice feedback on my post. But whether I like it or not my mind already starts to wander about what I should post next.

What does your Steemin' look like? Let me know in the comment section

classy_signature3.png

horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
The current state of the gaming tag
Building a Home Theater PC: step 1 Components
Gaming channel live on Mangosteem
Posting in Multiple languages
Mangosteem: get paid by chatting
Telltale's Game of Thrones Review
Destiny 2 Clans and a prize
The One About Alphas

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

That's a great overview of the proces / I can dig it! (-: upvoted / I find that when you get the right idea, the rest kind of takes care of itself, but definitely checking / double checking your post is important, for a quality post

When you write about a subject you are passionate about, the writing just naturally flows. The checking , double checking, correcting errors, making small adjustments takes a lot of time. But alas as you say it is necessary for a quality post. Thanks for the feedback.

😁

A nice walk through I can relate to.

I didn't find a spelling or grammar error so that's a pretty excellent job for a non-native speaker!

Have a good evening!

Now that's the kind of feedback that makes my day. Thank you and a good evening to you too :)

Glad to be of service dude!

@xervantes, I agree that the waiting game is the most exciting part. For me it is also one of the most stressful parts.

When we put ourselves out in front of other people, we hope for affirmation and interaction. It is hard when they do not come, but we must keep pressing on.

We must keep Steeming on!

Great article.

That is true, perseverance is key. We will get there eventually. Thank you for your insights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66280.44
ETH 3536.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13