You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you explain Steemit to someone?

in #steemit7 years ago

HAHAHA Really enjoyed reading this one. I could picture the conversation happening in the my head. Sounds like a conversation I would have with some of my friends.

I explain it to them in a way they would understand and keep it simple. Just like you, I just tell them that it's like Facebook, YouTube, and a Blog site where "Likes" actually earn you Steem which is like Bitcoin in a sense that it's a digital currency. The Steem can be converted to regular money, but there's a process.

Sort:  

I have a lot of friends who are into cryptocurrency but even they don't understand how you can earn Steem without buying it. I get asked all the time "but how much did you buy it for" and every time I have to explain that I didn't buy the Steem. To make things easier for myself, I bought some Steem when the price was really low and now I just say that I bought Steem for around a 100 dollars worth. Not the whole truth but at least they can relate more.

Exactly! One of these days, cryptocurrency will be more well known and people will actually know what we are talking about. But to be fair, I am still a newbie in all of this and just interacting with others who dabble in crypto has made a world of a difference! Sometimes you just have to explain it in terms that they would understand. Now if you excuse me, I will have to buy some Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68897.34
ETH 3759.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44