Advertisement on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

While I was busy "rebranding" the layout of my posts one of my ideas was to add promotional banners for projects I support like Make-a-whale and Qurator. It occurred to me that during all my time on Steemit I have never seen anyone displaying ads in their posts.

I don't think that it is against the rules and it struck me as odd that no one has ever come up with the idea of generating more revenue by placing ads in their posts.
Being the entrepreneur that I am, I reached out to Umbrella Corp, aka the most evil company in the World and asked them if they would sponsor this one post. If it turns out to be a success, they will sign me up and sponsor my account with Steem Power for the coming three years.

Umbrella Corp. is widely known for developing the t-virus and turning people into zombies. You can find more about the Umbrella Corporation here.

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

The very obvious upside to ads in your blogs for the author is money. You can earn some extra cash by displaying ads or writing positive reviews about a company or product.
In this case there is no denying that Umbrella corporation is one of those companies that has nothing but good intentions and is willing to do anything for the improvement of mankind. If I get paid in the process of broadcasting their positive message, well that's a win-win situation.


Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

There are some downsides however, although some minor ones.

When you are paid by a company for promotion, what does that say about your objectivity? It might seem to your readers that you are just another money-grabbing sell-out that will do anything for a couple of bucks.

Also ads can impact the quality of your blog, they can be quite distracting and divert the attention of the readers away from the message you are trying to send. As a blogger you are constantly trying to capture your audience's attention and advertisement can get in the way of that.

Most importantly, unless you have a sweet deal like mine with Umbrella, chances are that monetizing on the ads (by clicks) can be painstakingly slow.


Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

Even if the idea of generating some extra income through ads seems tempting, the disadvantages outweigh the upside(s). Especially on a platform like Steemit is seems obvious that there is no place for advertisement.
Authors do write positive reviews about products or services but those are things they really believe in or support and not because they are being paid to do so.

There is one type of advertising however that I fully support and that is the advertisement of fellow authors and projects. like.....

Imgur


Disclosure- There is no advertisement deal. Umbrella Corporation is a fictional company from the Resident Evil games and is responsible for turning a large part of the human population into zombies. Definitely not people you want to promote

Don_t_forget_to_leave_a_comment_banner.png

newbreakline_darker_color.png


newbrandsignaturefinalscaled2.png


newbreakline_darker_color.png

Read more about: Umbrella Corporation | Why ads are bad for bloggers |

newbreakline_darker_color.png


recent_posts_header.png

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur


recommended_posts_header.png

Imgur

Be sure to also check out Cryptocurrency Mining For Dummies - lesson 1 and 2 by @gregory-f.

Imgur

Sort:  

Very funny!

There is no advertisement deal. Umbrella Corporation is a fictional company from the Resident Evil games and is responsible for turning a large part of the human population into zombies. Definitely not people you want to promote.

As if we don't see right through that ploy. The best way to make us think there is NOT a deal is to say Umbrella Corporation is a fictional company. I've seen the Resident Evil documentaries. I know the truth.

Lol, you got me :)

Interesting idea. i wouldn't risk my reputation for some minor ad incomes. What will happen after 7 days? There is part of your post that you hand to a third party and allow them to inject whatever they want. You have no control over it anymore because you can't edit it away.

I guess the ads are on the blockchain forever. Good point hadn't thought of that. Seems more reason not to touch the ads. I must admit that I played around with the idea but after doing some researsch, I felt it wasn't worth it.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 14.40 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @xervantes. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Although ads get one some few bucks but they become really annoying to the reader when it tends to pop-up constantly, personally i rather stop going to that page due to constant pop-up some even go as far to open a new tab on window but what really caught my attention in this post are the banners below with link embedded within truly beautiful I must ask how did you do it, if you ever create a room for tutorials about how pls sign me up and if you have a link or video on how to do it mind sharing winks.

Thanks for the compliment. The banners are pics made in canva. In my post about the tools I use here you will find a post from @infobunny about how to make pictures with an embedded link.


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 100.00 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @xervantes.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Hehe, Umbrella.. it's long ago i played the RE games and it took some seconds and a Google search before that Aaah-moment. I personally do advertisement like you describe driven by pure idealism for supporting projects of the platform Steemit, like DTube, SteemWorld or DSound, because i think it's important to strengthen the whole ecosystem in the end, we all wanna see grow!

Thanks for that fun piece of a post! 😂 Maybe Xmas i have the courage to play RE7 on a PS VR 😱 but the could create many bad dreams..

Isn't everything an advertisement in one way or another ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48