Lessons learned after my first week on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

first-week-steemit.jpg

So getting started in my first week I quickly realized I was a bit in over my head. I found Steemit, got excited and jumped in before I knew enough about how to use it properly and how to build effective content for the audience here. Because of this I took a step back from content creation and did a lot of research and focused my time on applying the tips and tricks I learned to my Wife’s account (@shoogie). For this post I hope to summarize what I learned and how we reached some minor success.

Disclaimer:

Our approach requires some monetary investment, that I cannot guarantee you will get back. I only share what has worked for me.

The TLDR;

Steps taken to gain initial account growth after the first week!

  1. Join beginners community
  2. Read the resources in must read list (below)
  3. Invest some money into your account in the form of SBD
  4. Create at least one quality blog post a day
  5. Use SBD to pay for upvotes on each blog post
  6. ?????
  7. Profit!

DQmRC8gckTpohh2ZTeyquZPnbQZwJq225tKEDZts7ZFfjGq_1680x8400.png

Getting started

For any new Steemian getting your content seen while also growing your account level is not as simple as it might seem. After my initial post I did a couple quality posts but was shocked at the steep drop in value return by the community. My first post had a pretty good return; as I have now found, this is very common. A few higher value users will upvote your first introduction post and after that you must fend for yourself. That’s fair just not something I knew. As I used Steemit more I began logging questions and tips I learned. I will simplify my learning track for you below with a few bullets…

Many of the other things I learned are available within the ultimate link guide for new users (above). Make sure you keep this bookmarked for reference.

DQmRC8gckTpohh2ZTeyquZPnbQZwJq225tKEDZts7ZFfjGq_1680x8400.png

Account growth for beginners

You might be wondering how some people on Steemit are earning $10, $100, sometimes even $1000 dollars per post. Well… they’re not it’s more complicated than the number you see and the prefixed $ only adds to the confusion over post value. Those posts are actually worth more! Example, a $1000 post once rewards are redeemed might be worth around $3300+ USD! Again I won’t go into the math you should really read the posts on “links for new users” guide above. To this point the especially the link about how steemit rewards system works.

The economic goal of earning money on steemit for writing is to make great content that reaches a large audience. If your content is good the people will respond favorably and upvote your content and maybe even follow or comment on your posts.

Sounds good and easy right… for new users not so much. But as promised here is the approach I took over my first week on Steemit.

A new user that posts content has minimal influence. Steemit starts you out with a stipend of Steem Power to help you out initially and this will diminish overtime. However that SP is barely worth anything in comparison to the large pool of established users who post daily sometimes upwards ten times daily. You will find that all of your posts will be buried in seconds on the New category and never show at all in Trending or Hot categories. This is because you simply don’t have enough influence. So you can either proceed to fight against the current, posting consistently OR you can try what I will share below.

My approach is using paid votes from bid voting whale accounts. This requires some investment up front but most good hobbies will and if you care for the site I think contribution at some point is necessary… it stimulates the Steem currency economy. Lucky for me I had some Bitcoin “dust” on one of my exchange accounts.

Dust is left over crypto currency sitting on exchanges after transfers. I had a very minor fraction of a bitcoin which at the time was worth a few bucks at most and not enough to withdrawal. Eventually Bitcoin surged to over 15k and I transferred this BTC dust into blocktrades to buy SBD.

So starting out I purchased 25 SBD. Using this SBD I pay to bid on votes from whale accounts to upvote each daily post. I spent between 3-4 SBD per post, one post I did almost 9 and the first few none. Initially I was still learning so I only paid for votes on the last 4 posts of the first week. By the end of the week I had spent almost all 25, somewhere around 21 SBD. Being a over week now we have redeemed the rewards for all of those posts and have netted a little over 31 SBD… 10 SBD profit! With the value of SBD being $8.62 USD at the time of righting this; thats roughly $86 profit on the investment!

The added upside to this process is those whale votes boost your reputation. We watched the account level grow from 35 to 45 in the first week! Another benefit is the other reward for your posts is Steem Power, which also boosts your posting and voting influence.

Although the Steem Power earned is much less than SBD, I can see over the course of months this process would snowball any user into a influential account on the Steemit community. Its not all about paid votes however, the posts being written were high quality with nice images and prompt interaction with commenting users. These are VERY important considerations because some of the value earned no doubt is from additional votes gained when these posts were bumped into the first and second page of “Hot” category after the whale accounts I paid for had upvoted.

So bot upvotes are simply not enough on their own.

There are many bots which provide this service as a means to help new users or minnows catch up. I was extremely skeptical that this would pan out as profitable. I was only hopeful to break even on the SBD invested. I also asked the community about the ethics of bot votes and it seems pretty widely acceptable; in fact, many whales still use bots as a value add to their post value.

Choosing the which voting bots to use is largely based on opinion. I tend to lean towards ones with not just higher % payout, but also pre-voting trails. Also there is some personal preference that comes into play. I first heard of Steemit via @jerrybanfield on Youtube so I like to throw him some SBD love when I can.

One last useful resource to add if you found this useful and decide to follow this approach toward account growth…. @yabapmatt has an excellent application to track all available bid bots with their voting value and schedules, here - https://s3.amazonaws.com/yabapmatt/bottracker/bottracker.html

This post represents my experience and learning track over the first week. It contains my opinions on how to start successfully on Steemit and is not paid financial advise. So follow this at your own discretion.

DQmRC8gckTpohh2ZTeyquZPnbQZwJq225tKEDZts7ZFfjGq_1680x8400.png

Thanks for reading upvote, follow and leave your thoughts in the comment section!

Cheers, Willsling

Sort:  

More important than bot votes is getting out there and leaving thoughtful comments on a lot of posts, and engaging with the people who comment on yours.

Those bot votes will help get a little more attention on your posts,and are especially helpful for new users, but unless you build relationships in the community the bot votes won't do much to grow the reputation of your account.

Quality content, and being in touch with what your followers want to see will go far.

Also, find a mentor. Someone who is more experienced than you who will help you learn how to get better ... Glad to see some of those resources have been helpful to you

Absolutely correct, thanks for your valuable input! I still have much to learn in some of these regards. Further improving my content and community engagement I will be focusing on more often.

This would really helps newbies, great post by the way! =)

I hope so and thank you for the read and comment!

Thank you so much for this post! I just stared a few days ago and this answered A LOT of my questions!

Glad it helped you out. Welcome to Steemit!

while i cannot agree on paying sbd for upvotes (i think most of the time the cost is not worth the payout), this is a well written article! great work :)

I agree with your opinion

Thank you for your thoughts. I agree that there is a risk and ethically the consensus I've gathered is bidding for votes is pretty par for the course here on Steemit. As mentioned, you can't rely on bid votes alone they just provide a good boost to you account level and ROI if done correctly. I will share the return on this post comments in a day or two for anyone interested.

you are doing a great work and for a week you have a very good start, keep up the great job.

Thank you for the support and motivation!

Wow! Thank you so much, this post really helped me understand the platform better, made me understand why MY results seemed to differ from other people's results and some actions to consider. You really explained the whole thing well. Again, thank you for this.

I appreciate you reading over the post and I'm glad this helped. Best luck on Steemit!

Great post. I've recognized much of what you've just said. I'm happy I came to the conclusion faster. Also I cracked up at your Step 6: ???. Glad to be apart of the community.

Thanks for checking out my content, hope some of this helps even if it just enforces some of the conclusions you've come to. Cheers to your future success on Steemit!

This is very helpful thank you! I just joined yesterday :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45