Challenging My Feelings - My Brain Working Through an Issue.

in #steemit8 years ago

This article is risky, because I want to talk about some recent activities on SteemIt without causing those involved more attention, either good or bad.  No names will be mentioned, but I know many will know what I am talking about.

Recently a person posted a fact finding mission regarding some accounts.  The way it was presented caused some internal drama on SteemIt.  Even some whales disagreed on whether or not the topics involved should be discussed here in this forum.    The people who were the focus of the article responded and gave some reasons why they had deceived the community.  




There were 3 issues that struck me as all being separate:


1. Whale and Bot voting
2. A person's deception
3. Whale Flagging and not being allowed to talk an issue through as a community.

Many, including myself, took the response story at face value, but it still didn't change these negative feelings and I just couldn't shake them, even after the response.  I wasn't sure why.  As a real-life minnow who does not have whale friends I know how the minnows live.  We post, we promote our posts in chat, we comment for each other, we know each other and we are slowly growing together.  So, when a new account shoots into posting valuable posts immediately, it raises questions.  Not so much if it is a "one hit wonder", but when every post and comment gets rewarded, it is atypical and raises eye-brows.

"Am I jealous?",  I asked myself. 

Absolutely not.  I also understand "Networking"  and why who you know is sometimes very important.  So, knowing all of that, why did I still have strong negative feelings?

It boils down to I am making friends on SteemIt, and involved in conversations where a person is specifically answering as 2 people and engaging in conversation.  I do feel deceived, and a bit "Catfished".  Catfished for my vote.  (Super funny, because my vote is very small)

When that person is then elevated into a "Whale of a Project", and comes to me saying, "I want to give you a boost".  This is a dilemma to me.  Integrity is important to me, also votes are important to me.  This person has the connections to help me move forward, but what if I just can't respect how that influence was used?



Integrity on this platform is extremely important, because there is money involved and people are potentially choosing to invest or not.  When I combined all issues, I actually questioned whether SteemIt is something I want to support.

What did I decide?  


I decided I was a making a big deal out of a momentary "butt-hurt" reaction to feeling deceived.  Kind of a childish moment of "You are not going to be my friend anymore". My feeling were valid, but my judgement was harsh, I was being arrogant and insincere.  (since the minnows are voting for each other too)   However, I also felt it was important to talk about how things in the community might impact others.  I wish the post hadn't been flagged and we would have walked away knowing things could happen in the community, be discussed and then we could carry on.  A strong community can handle some controversy and dissent.  In fact, in my opinion the fastest way to ruin a relationship or community is to silence concerns.  By discussing issues, we can work them out, gain understanding, and challenge our own feelings.  



Mostly I decided, I over think things, and I need to get over myself.  Everyone here is responsible for their own behavior.  So, there it is.  How I got over a negative feeling.   We still have issues, every thing does.   I am done harboring grudges over a past issue.




 We all live together in the land of SteemIt, we don't have like everyone, but we should due to best to add positive energy into the community.

And that's @whatsup

Follow and vote or whatever, you know the drill.




Sort:  

@whatsup, this world is a big fat bastard and steemit isn't immune from being infected. the stemmit community will have police itself or it will join the rest of mainstream media. When the poopie-doo is on our path, hopefully we see it and walk around it, and not walk right in it.

It's true that we need to look after each other and the platform - especially if it's to be "decentralized." But instead of just walking around the poo, we should let others know that it's there and maybe clean it up, or at least spray some air freshener. Ignoring it will only keep things dirty and smelly. Pointing to the turd and saying, "Hey, watch out!" shouldn't be condemned and the person pointing shouldn't be vilified for it.

I like the poop analogy. Some will call me a hater or tell me to leave the platform (yes, that happened) for saying that. But they're the poop in the analogy, so...

Agreed, I was only looking at the part about the deceit, but I too want to see discussion of the poop.

Boy, isn't that the truth. Nothing is immune, my brain just takes a while to work through things once in a while.

@whatsup, why do i always use poop in my post? What's wrong with me? Another awesome post

You are a poopy poster

not that it is or will, but if this platform descended, smoking, into oblivion today, i would count myself lucky to have been a part of it. the contribution of everyone here has been great, even the people with whom i disagree. short of the actions of a few power flaggers and some who overreact on emotion, i have had only a positive experience here.

oh, i've had to clean some poop off my shoe, now and again, but i can usually find a post that will explain, in detail, how to go about it.

so cheers steemit! thank you. this is the least dysfunctional family i've ever been a part of.

hello @whatsup, just stopping back to let you know that your post was one of my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble yesterday. You can read what I wrote about it here

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

hmm, well I ain't all that sure what we're talking about but it's well written and heartfelt.

I support it :)

Perfect, because I don't want to rehash the actual drama, just the process of talking things through and "getting over it". :) Thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57459.32
ETH 3055.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30