Home Stretch - Reaching a Milestone

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Goal.png

img source with a little touch up

logo divider.png

I officially joined the Steemit blockchain on 12/15/2017. It was a new world I wasn't sure I was ready for. I am not a writer. I had no idea what I could post or do that would make any difference. My primary purpose for joining at the time was extra money for a car. There were few people on Facebook that suggested I try out Steemit. I found out that they had absolutely no clue what they were talking about. They heard something and so on.

I had set some goals for myself.

  1. To make it to 15 SP. This way it 'paid back' the initial starter of 15 SP.
    Ok a goal LOL.

I didn't know what to shoot for. Everything was completely foreign to me. The more I read the more I got confused and got to that dreaded point. Why am I doing this?
It was at that time, I was discovering groups, initiatives. I figured if I found a purpose then that would give me a direction.

My direction became, helping others like myself. The lowly plankton that drifts around seemingly without purpose. Plankton have a purpose, they provide nourishment. So why couldn't I do the same? So I set my purpose as just that, helping and encouraging others.

I am trying really hard not to bog this down with details. It's not an anniversary/birthday post it's an I am going to meet this achievement post. I guess the easy way to say this is because of my wanting to help others and the choice I made with my postings opened doors, that I didn't know where there. With a lot of help and encouragement from 2 people that have stood by me enough to do what they can to help and delegate some SP to me @thedarkhorse and @simplymike. I am finally about to reach the 1st major milestone anyone has once they figure out Steemit. That is to become a full fledge Minnow.

The goal was to have this happen before HF20. Sadly, HF20 sucked the life out of me in addition to so many others. I was starting to see increased payouts, had people following me that wanted to not because they wanted me to follow them. HF20 hit and my payouts almost disappeared. I little disconcerting for someone like me. I lost faith in the platform. I showed up to make my commitments, but my posting was few and far between. It still isn't where I want it, it will get there though.

So, current goal ...Make Minnow by the end of June! Crazy not at all. 13 days to make 30 SP. I am currently sitting at 470 SP (my own) With a little dedication and some love, it is completely doable.

logo divider.png

@thedarkhorse and @simplymike Thank you so much for helping get me this far. I honestly thought this was going to take me another 6 months at least. It even seemed unobtainable. I keep joking with @simplymike that I want to be like her when I grow up. I'm probably going to get in trouble for this. I have met so many wonderful people through this platform. @simplymike is one of the most generous and helpful people on this platform. She helps others achieve their goals. What seems like a little to some is a big thing to those who are helped. @thedarkhorse, you've kept me going. I'm glad you had faith in me when I didn't. You are another one that I don't think people see your generosity. You didn't have to help me out like you have. Just like with @pifc it all started from that one incident that affected and lead you to do more for others.

logo divider.png

PS - I have to add just a little bit more. One other person who has been one of the best cheerleaders anyone could have has been @wolfhart. He believed in me more than I do myself. He helped me to change perspective in a lot of ways. Would tell me when I was being too female LOL.
Sadly, was told he passed yesterday. When I was putting this post together it was to thank not only the ones who helped me with delegation, but to thank them and @wolfhart of their support in general. I know he was keeping an eye on things. RIP my friend.
logo divider.png



Pay It Forward Contests

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Brought to you by @quochuy (steem witness)

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral



Thank you for your continued support!
Love,

Sort:  

Wouldn't be the same without you here @tryskele 😊 Great job! And yes, @thedarkhorse and @simplymike are both pretty awesome!!

I forgot someone and I didn't mean to. It was part of the reason for the post. @woflhart didn't get to see me make minnow 😢 He kept insisting I could do it. I knew I could, but he took away my doubt. My silent cheerleader.

Thank you so much @lynncoyle1 !! 💜💜

I think he was everyone's cheerleader :)

...and you are most welcome @tryskele! Congratulations again!!

He did meet his own goal, however: he reached dolphin status a couple of days before he died. It made him very happy. Glad he had a chance to enjoy that.

Oops! Wrong account, lol

It's awesome that you are so close to this milestone! Congrats! We are cheering you on to your goal! 😃

Thank you very much @thekittygirl. 🤗

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you @steemitboard That should be an easier goal 😊

Well done, @tryskele. I'm so proud of you!
I don't remember whether you were once one of my Redfish Rockets or not, but I do remember the post in which I met you first.
I was feeling all down because summer had started and I wasn't able to do anything, because the last surgery had not been so long ago, and somehow I can across your second or third Mindfulness Monday post. I remember how it felt reading it: it was like you had written it for me. It was so spot on, and helped me to realize not all hope was lost.

Then, I assume it was some time after HF20, you seemed to have disappeared and although we hadn't been really close, I missed you. I'm glad you returned and found the will and strength to push through.

Your efforts paid off. I was so proud when @naturalmedicine picked up your Mindful Monday posts :0)

A couple of months ago, I decided to make sure your SP would be above 500 all the time, until you had gathered your own. Simply because I like(d) you, and your posts. It mad me happy to see I could retract a part of my delegation every so often because you were getting closer to that 500 SP mark.
I think I retracted it completely 2 or 3 weeks ago, because you reaching minnowhood was just a matter of days.

I should actually pick up on your mindfulness posts again. I think the first one I read was about meditation, and I wasn't ready for that back then. (If I'm not mistaking, you gave me the idea of coloring books in the comments section of that post. have bought a couple, but haven't colored yet, lol)

My mindset is a lot more positive than it was back then, so it might be a good thing to start following up again.

(Now if only I would have the time to clean up my feed, it would be easier to not miss them. I've set you up in Gina, but I rarely find the time to follow up on my Gin notifications. I should really find another way to be notified when you post.)

Anyway, I just checked your wallet, and noticed the 500SP mark has been crossed.

proud.png

Keep on Steemin'!!!

Aww 😊 Get to coloring!! LOL. I haven't in a while and I know I need to. I was one of your Redfish Rockets @headchange was with me. It was that delegation that brought me back to life so to speak after HF20. Since then, things have had a decent growth rate.

It makes me feel really good when I hear anything I write touches someone. It means more coming from you and I think you know the answer to that. That is/and has been my goal with those posts. You're not alone and you don't need to suffer alone. Someone out there understands and wants to help. I admit I haven't been able to join in like I want to

Don't worry about the meditation thing either. It's not for some people. I'm 50/50 on it. Too much going on in my brain to turn off and have some peace. When I am able to experience it, I feel so much better. You should try one of our Discord sessions. Next one is Sat 8:30pm London time. I should be on for that one. Those are longer but on Wed is 30 mins. If anything just sit and listen, it's good energy. If I can meditate I do, If I can't I just sit and listen. It is wonderful just being around others that don't judge, that are supportive because that's who they are not because of any pre-tense. Maybe I'll get my mic fixed LOL.

I agree about cleaning up the feed. I have things I want to see, but then there are others that seem to push everyone else down. My Gina is narrowed down, but doesn't seem to catch everything I want it to LOL

Again thank you so very much @simplymike. You have a genuine heart, you help because you want to, not because it is asked for or expected. It is not a quality many have. You do bring light to this world, at least to mine. I'm proud to have you as a friend.

Thanks... and likewise 😉

Aaah, @headchange.... I do miss her being around. I just checked... it has already been 6 months since she left. :0(
I've always hoped she'd return some day, but I guess I can forget about that...

Someone out there understands

I've learned that this is so important: knowing that you're not the only one, that other people are struggling (or have struggled) with the same things, and they get what you're going through.

I used to keep everything to myself. As a result, there were many things for which I considered myself to be different, and assumed people wouldn't get why i acted in a certain way, or why I felt something I thought I wasn't supposed to feel.

It's this place that taught me to open up about things, in real life too. And it is só funny to discover that half of my friends are dealing with exactly the same issues - but we didn't know about the others, because we never talked about our 'stuff' and all thought no one would understand.

About the meditation thing... It was only last week or so that I read about how for some people, meditation can turn out wrong. I don't remember the exact context, but I do remember people had nightmares, and went way downhill afterwards (this was about the meditation 'courses' for which people leave to india and stuff - to go sit on a mountain for a couple of weeks.)

I didn't know that. I thought the worst that could happen was being bored and uncomfortable... Apparently not.

Who knows, I might even tune in on a Discord session ... you made me pretty curious 😉

I am glad you're learning to open up. I'm learning too. I still think if anyone really knew what goes on in my head they wouldn't want to talk to me. Heck, sometimes I don't even want to talk to me. To me having someone to talk to that actually understands what this is like is priceless.

And it is só funny to discover that half of my friends are dealing with exactly the same issues - but we didn't know about the others, because we never talked about our 'stuff' and all thought no one would understand.

This is why I post what I do. We shouldn't be afraid of talking about our 'demons' or 'stuff' I try to look at things this way. What has happened is what has shaped us into who we are, it's a part of us. We can't take that away and sometimes I do think, why would I want to? Everything in my life has set me on the path I am on. While I am not in the best place in my life, there are things that I don't want changed.

I have read loads of stories on how meditation has gone wrong. For someone like me to sit quietly with my own thoughts....BAD, very bad idea. Most of the time. My goal is to not think, to learn how to turn my mind off. If I could that I would be one happy girl. I might even learn how to sleep. That's why I like SMG, @bewithbreath keeps it very simple, clear your mind and focus on your breath. One question he poses which is a great way to gauge yourself in general. "Are you breathing in or are you breathing out?' If you are doing the whoosh breath out because of life, it's time to take a step back and collect yourself. I was wrong about the time. Its 8:30 pm on Wed and 5:30pm on Sat (London time) I am trying to make it a regular part of my routine at least once a week.

I've know/known people who have done the retreats. Most of them are 'practiced' they know what they are doing and have been living this lifestyle. It isn't anything I could do, maybe in 30 years and hopefully by then, I'm too old to care.

Sorry, a little chatty today. 🤗

🎁 Hi @tryskele! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @bewithbreath!

@bewithbreath wrote lately about: Looking To Wind Down? Could Meditation Be Cheapest Way? Feel free to follow @bewithbreath if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Sorry to hear about wolfhart - RIP.
Good Luck with your target.
Love your energy, openness and honesty. It’s always nice to have you in the virtual Meditation Hall - to share the energy and healing.
!tip

Posted using Partiko iOS

Don't worry... sorry for the delay. i haven't been really chatty these last couple of days.

Everything you say is so recognizable

I still think if anyone really knew what goes on in my head they wouldn't want to talk to me. Heck, sometimes I don't even want to talk to me.

Same here. It has a lot of influence on the perception I have of myself. I definitely don't like myself in the same way others seem to do. (But of course, they don't know what's going on in my head, lol).

I don't really have a high level of self-worth, but that's a bit of a contradiction, because I try to deal with things from the past in the way you say:

What has happened is what has shaped us into who we are, it's a part of us. We can't take that away and sometimes I do think, why would I want to?

Exactly. I even hear myself say it to others. And then I start questioning whether I really have such a low self-esteem, because the sentence above proves I'm pretty happy with who I turned out to be. It really confuses me sometimes, and then I keep going over it again and again in my head. Analyzing myself, one of the few things I'm extremely good at. 24/7, 365 days a year. Questioning everything, trying to find a reason or cause, and then I start questioning the questioning and analyzing and I get completely lost in my head.

For a couple of weeks now, I've been talking to a therapist, trying to get out of that neverending merry-go-round in my head. Surprisingly, she understands a whole lot - something I had not expected.

I already knew I was a highly sensitive person, but she told me to take a couple of tests, and I scored extremely high on every single HSP test.
I was never taught how to deal with emotions, and because of the HSP, there's a truckload of input every day, since I pick up every small signal from other people. I now realize that, over the years, I developed the analyzing and the overthinking and just going round and round in my head as a form of self-defense. I try to rationalize everything I feel so it can't get to me and I won't have to deal with it emotionally.

But knowing is one thing... putting things into practice is an entirely different thing. But working on it... in my head, for now, lol - where else??

Sorry, I got sidetracked, and actually forgot the point I wanted to make ... it's been a very busy day in my head - chaos all around.

@simplymike you never have to apologize to me.
I think that a lot of people that are like us are have some of the same issues as far as being HSP. I wish I could turn it off when I want. Nothing worse that have the moment of sanity, being happy with life and the world only to have it torn apart because someone in the same space is just oozing something negativity, anger or what have you.

But knowing is one thing... putting things into practice is an entirely different thing. But working on it... in my head, for now, lol - where else??

That is my life. I have been working on this for past few years. I only have a couple of friends and my husband. None of them like seeing me go through what I do. They see me trying and working at things, I think they're starting to think what my therapist thinks. That I am as good as I am going to get. Which as an overthinker you know what that does.

So, my peace of mind for the past year has been letting others know that there is some nut out there who understands the 'crazy.'

beautiful post. You have been a positive person in my journey.

@rebeccabe that is truly one of the nicest things someone has said to me. Especially today. 💜💜💜

Plankton have a purpose, they provide nourishment. So why couldn't I do the same? So I set my purpose as just that, helping and encouraging others.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this attitude of yours. And look, you are still here. We will all get stronger. And keep on swimming in this Steem ocean. =)

Thank you!! @iamjadeline. It's hard some days but I have no reason to stop now. The only thing I might stop is Facebook. Even when people disagree it's not an ugly fight. Well minus a few people, but we know to steer clear LOL. As of right now... I am officially a Minnow.

Almost there! With the help of such awesome people, I have no doubts you will hit that milestone!

Tyvm @plantstoplanks 💜 Most of the time when I type in your name I put it backwards. In fact, I read it backwards too. My mind sometimes.

I suppose I should come back and say congrats on hitting that mark so soon! Well done! I totally didn't think of people having to type it in all the time when I created my username, but it can be a challenging one, haha. Ah well, makes for a good laugh trying to get it correct. ;)

It does. It's just funny how the mind works. I giggle every time too. And thank you 🤗

it's not that bad, lol. It took me a while, but now I never misspell it anymore.
Can you imagine: I started here with the username @mike314-0005, hahahaha... after misspelling it myself for the 1000th time, I decided to create a new account. (Imagine a whale would have wanted to send me a delegation and forgot a zero ,... lol)

LOL. I like this name, it's ....simple LOL

You can't imagine how much thought I put into that new username, lol. It took me weeks.. I even published a post about it.
At one point I was tired of thinking about it, so it became 'simply'mike.
The simply refers to the simple username, but it's also a little sarcastic, because of all the things I am, 'simply' is not one of them. My friends laughed when they heard the name the first time, lol. I'm such a messed up, complicated person - so I liked the contradiction.

(Recently I started to think that there's more to it than just sarcasm. It was my inner-self, the unconscious part of me that eventually decided. Because it is actually the struggle I'm dealing with these days: to just be, and to live in the now, 'simply' be myself. And because of this username, I am confronted with it every day, so I won't forget... Life works in strange ways 😉)

Oh, gosh, yeah you had me beat there! Haha, anything with that many numbers would throw me every time. ;)

Right! Me too. It was so bad that I left the account I had worked hard on to get it from rep 11 to 51 behind and started a new one. Best decision I made here on SteemIt 😉


Congratulations @tryskele!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you :)

HF21 will almost give us nothing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay LOL. I'm a little gun shy on 'big patches' So many years as a gamer and what happened with the last one. Make the little ones along the way then things don't break.

Why are u happy 😂😂,

Posted using Partiko Android

Kind of sarcastic is all. I have a very odd sense of humor

Kind of sarcastic
Is all. I have a very
Odd sense of humor

                 - tryskele


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Lol thats a nice haiku poem xD

Such a beautiful way to celebrate a milestone, and to set goals. I know you'll reach Minnow easily before the 13 days are up, but I'm sending you a little something (wish it were more) to get you there faster. Here's to dedication & love & never giving up hope! 🥂

Thank you @traciyork. I'm a little emotional today and at a complete loss for words 💜💜💜

sending steem hug, red heart.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64367.46
ETH 2522.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65