Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (17.11.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 3529 SBD and 19322 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 Introducing FirstByte -- by @first-byte with a current reward of 115 SBD

eli5 Making things for stuff takes a lot of time. Blockchains use lots of stuff, so it takes more time to make things for them. FirstByte is really smart and creates negativetime so you have more time to make your blockchain things. tl;dr We are making it deadsimple for you to create native apps and websites for and with ByteBall using the Quasar Framework. This post introduces the project, its goals and timeline. Follow firstbyte to keep up to date! repo byteball is awesome, and there a...

#2 Strategies for reversing the programming of environment on our genes Part 1 noninvasive brute force -- by @scienceblocks with a current reward of 66 SBD

It was never a question of nature vs nurture. It always boils down to nature and nurture. And we are just beginning to unfold the mechanisms by which nurture reprograms the nature to behave in a certain way. Given that this reprogramming can be crucial for our health, the question arises if we can reverse the ill effects of nurture that we may encounter, ever? Lets regulate genes! Adapted from image by CNX OpenStax CC BY 4.0 classpullleft Box 1 Histone modification By packi...

#3 The Scenery near the Beach on the West Sea, Korea -- by @slowwalker with a current reward of 66 SBD

In this posting, Id like to show you the pictures I took on the beach The beach is located near the port in the name of Daeya, small fishing port of the West Sea. What I focused at first was the mud and its scenery. The mud on the beach probably looked dirty, but it is the origin place of the life. But now it is under the destruction, there are lots of scars on the mud and the sea. I tried to take these images from various point of view to express the tragedy, but it seemed not so...

#4 Is It About What Women Want... Or Can It Be More For The Cryptocurrency Business -- by @goldendawne with a current reward of 54 SBD

In the world of cryptocurrrency why does it appear that more men are involved? More men heading up the exchanges and speaking at conferences. Is this another maledominated industry? Is this a mans world only? alt Source Pixabay When Bitcoin exploded onto the scene a decade ago, it was risky to say the least; so does that mean men are more of a risktaker than women? Perhaps. While there are no scientific facts or studies proving men are more willing to take a leap of faith and gamble ...

#5 Suggestions category Weekly report 4 -- by @favcau with a current reward of 50 SBD

This is a weekly report of the Suggestions category. It contains basic stats, tips and interesting open source projects to start contributing. Also, I will show you the most common mistakes of this week and how to fix them. In this post Category summary Top scored contributions Mini contest for the Suggestions category Common mistakes and how to fix them Interesting open source projects Useful posts source Week 46 from Nov. 8 to Nov. 15 There were 5 contributions of which 4...

#6 Creating a water drop photograph timer LCD, Menus and Buttons Part 3 -- by @markangeltrueman with a current reward of 46 SBD

Hey everyone, The next stage of building the water drop timer is to add an LCD and menu system to enable me to easily adjust the timings for the system. Going to split this into three parts LCD wiring, Button wiring and Menu Coding. The normal way of wiring up an LCD is something similar to what is shown in this link. The problem with this method is that it uses 6 output pins on the Arduino and that doesnt leave you with many spare. What you can do in this instance to reduce the amount of...

#7 Introducing new Steemhunt User Score now your HUNT Token Balance Matters -- by @steemhunt with a current reward of 43 SBD

Today, we are delighted to announce our new user score system. Now your user score will increase and gain a larger voting weight if you have a higher stake in HUNT tokens and are more active than others. This is based on a relative percentile scale. Steemhunt has tried to create our own user reputation and voting system by adapting an accountbased voting system. You can see our full journey in these two previous announcements Steemhunt Initiates Account Based Voting Ranking System St...

#8 Smoked Paprika Couscous and Vegetable Wrap -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 38 SBD

Smoked paprika and the smallest amount of tomato sauce lend a lot of flavor to the grains in this wrap. I used the veggies I have on hand, but you can use whatever you like in your version. That said, I should state that crisp and fresh flavors added by the cucumbers and radishes added a brightness to the wraps and I wouldnt forfeit them in any version. Ingredients 2 tortillas 2 radishes, sliced lengthwise cucumber, diced 1 cup greens of your choice cups couscous 1 cup vegetable ...

#9 booking flights is still a pain in USA -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 37 SBD

I used to own a couple of businesses and I successfully managed several others in my life. Therefore, I understand that the ultimate objective of any company is to make money. When companies appear to do this in an intentionally scammy manor and force their customers into a situation that is a pain in the butt Im afraid I have to disagree with their business practices. It becomes a much more irritating situation when you have no choice but to not use their services because all of their c...

#10 The Best Pasta Recipes -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 36 SBD

If there is one food Im always in the mood for, other than pizza, its pasta. I love the endless ways there are to prepare it and it is the basis for some of my favorite meals. For all you other pasta lovers, here is a roundup of all our pasta recipes. The Best Alfredo Ever A creamy dish that is as simple as it is tasty, and an absolute must for your pasta repertoire. Spinach and Herb Cheesy Stuffed Shells alt20180723235459.jpg Undeniably fantastic and universally loved, these cheesey...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54