Community Interaction vs Post Payout

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

STEEMIT12

With my past couple weeks of posting, I noticed an interesting trend in a lot of different posts including mine, and I thought I would bring it up and see what people thought about the topic.

The trend is having the highest payout posts, are for some their lowest viewed and commented content. I've put some of my posts as an example of this as you can see my much higher payout posts, at 70 and 15$, have not even half that amount in views or comments.

It isn't that surprising to me to be honest. It is somewhat apparent to me that much of the high payout content is majorly due to bot votes which is why we aren't getting the views. I say we because I have noticed LOTS of trending content with this problem.

STEEMIT12_1

For now, really my only point with this is to urge people; keep posting good content! I have seen my numbers climb a little bit over the last week and my interaction with my followers has increased 100%. I no longer am getting 190 votes and no views, and I would prefer that. I would rather have people be reading my content and learning something interesting rather than creating articles essentially for bots and having no discussion with the userbase.

I'd like to ask you guys to do the same! Support each other and remember that your votes are meant to mean something! It's fine to show support for support and upvote those who upvote you, but also remember to be exploring your niche and upvoting the new and old content the same amount! If all of our votes are tied up in post promotion and upvoting a trending post just cause it's trending, we lose the chance to support new content creators who may lose interest when they don't see any reward for their work.

Thanks for reading and remember to

Check Out More Content:
How Do Birds Find Their Way During Migration? The Emergent Field of Quantum Biology!-
https://steemit.com/science/@trismegistuz/how-do-birds-find-their-way-during-migration-the-emergent-field-of-quantum-biology
The Most Massive Structure In The Universe?-
https://steemit.com/science/@trismegistuz/the-heaviest-object-in-the-universe-oc-video

Sort:  

Yeah, I also think a lot of payouts come from bots these days. I'm sure it will be better in the future once more people use the site, and SP is distributed amount more people.

You are very right in what you say. There are a lot of wasted content and even a lot of people writing just to get upvotes, which is not all bad, but I think, in my opinion, that is not the idea.

Good post, good point of view.

A greeting.

I can understand their frustration. Writing really solid material and spending time on it only to get $0.20 is frustrating, especially when you see a crappy post can get the same thing.

I think the answer is more community. If the platform doesn't make it easier we need to do it ourselves through commenting more and getting to know each other.

Exactly! I think the same that you

Thanks for your post. As a noob on here, I'm seeing many writers are doing very active self promotion (note: can promote comments, too), and I think this is really good. Seeing that their hard work does pay off... very inspiring. The comments have been an entertaining read too.

just stumbled across your innovative approach to steemit. hope to see some posts as well. follow'd!

I just don't get it. Why are people always panic voting high earning posts or posts from popular authors? Don't they understand that you make almost nothing from the curation rewards?

Also absolutely hilarious that posts have 20 views and 200 votes! I seriously don't think many of them are bots, i seriously think people are that stupid and the system is THAT flawed!

Honestly I don't think its a flawed system, maybe just a flawed mindset. It's more like a "I'm gonna upvote and comment and hope Senpai notices me" kinda think (if you get the reference). I DEFINITELY feel you on the curation reward thing, I barely care about curation rewards cause my reps so low, and I know my vote wont do much so it's better to do it on those new great posts then old trending stuff. ALSO random question, kinda a markdown noob, how do you separate paragraphs??

You can also press Enter twice to make a new paragraph without having to use headers.

It will look like this.
If I only press enter once it looks like this.

If you are new to Markdown, check out this guide. There is a link to this guide every time you post, but many people don't really notice it :)

I use headers for paragraphs with #, ##, ### and so on. Hope that helps. Kinda a random question, how did you know i knew markdown? :S

well we all gotta use markdown its like built into steemit thanks though haha il be using this from now on

Oh so nobody uses HTML anymore? I took a 10 months break from SteemIt lol

You can use a lot of HTML tags with markdown, or even use the editor when making posts. However, I think it is best to learn Markdown sooner rather than later, because it is a lot faster once you get the hang of it.

Maybe I should or get a friend todo a SteemIt compatible markdown learning series and post it on here.

Great points. I have noticed this a bit as well. Never had a high payout like you. But I see things with very few views with high payouts. And topics that create good conversations not do well at all.. with the next part of the hardfork I hear this will change, at least a little. Have you heard about the hardfork? I try to be active commenting and making the people newer than me welcome and with hope. And try to make posts that hopefully some people find good. But I always encourage dialogue and never get enough haha! But thanks for posting and pointing it out

Yeah just keep active and discussing!! Thats all I hope to do and hopefully the community will turn around and start recognizing newer content creators

I noticed the same thing and it's kind of frustrating.

I am trying to just focus on being awesome, I hope it will attract a lot of great minnows dolphins and whales to upvote and make up for this issue.

Yeah bro forsure just keep being yo awesome self :P I hope we both start getting some of that whale love

Honestly I'm trying a mix of consistently rated content based not just on rewards but also total votes and followers and resteems... I also have a percent set a side to upvote/comment: new users, good content, and consistent content. I'm still playing with the numbers. I wanna target good earnings... but not just do it solely... maximize activity I'm already doing but still have a big chunk towards things that just won't pay but deserve attention on here. Any thoughts to this strategy? Constructive criticism is welcomed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70