The Most Massive Structure In The Universe?

in #science7 years ago (edited)

What is the heaviest object in the universe? Trust me the first minute is not what it seems!!

videosteemit1

In order to show support for Steemit and the community any videos I post here I will not be putting live on youtube until 3 days after they've been up as unlisted. Please feel free to subscribe to me anyways. Enjoy & don't get thrown off by the opening :)!

Thanks for watching! Leave me some pointers in the comments about what you think I could change, I definitely could use a better mic. I tried to not just dive straight into science and keep it lighthearted and kind of silly to keep people's attention, but I think it may be too fast at the end.

Regardless PLEASE upvote and follow!! I want to keep making content like this for you guys on Steemit and support shows that you guys want me to keep making content like this as well. SO, IF THIS POST GETS 50$ BEFORE MONDAY, I will promise you guys to have another video out on Thursday next week.

So again, THANKS FOR WATCHING!! Upvote and Resteem for effort and unique content!! And I'll bring more of it! All credits can be found in the youtube video description!! Full article will be posted sunday.



AND CHECK OUT MORE CONTENT OF MY WRITING CONTENT :

How Do We Decide On Virtuous Role Models?: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@trismegistuz/the-philosophy-of-ethical-environmentalist-role-models-and-how-to-identify-them-the-exemplar-theory-of-moral-education

The Strange and Bizarre Behavior of Electrons! What is Quantum Mechanics?: https://steemit.com/science/@trismegistuz/the-strange-and-bizarre-behavior-of-electrons-what-is-quantum-mechanics

Steemit Currency Breakdown for New Minnows!:
https://steemit.com/steem/@trismegistuz/steemit-currency-breakdown-for-new-minnows

Sort:  

I don't quite understand....is the star heavier or the black hole?

Hey sorry tried to be as clear as possible :( At 2:36 I say "NGC 4889; A super massive black hole located at the center of a galaxy called Optimas Comae Berenices. This incomprehensibly huge cosmic structure is what astronomers have determined to be the heaviest observed object in the universe." This black hole weights in at about 21 billion times the mas of the sun, the heaviest observed star is 315 times the mass of the sun. NGC 4889, the black hole is 3.1 million times heavier than the heaviest star we know.

Ive always wondered what a black hole is and what it leads to. Is it directly in the centre of the galaxy? could it be what some call the galactic centre?

100% accurate!! every galaxy has a central black hole. Even the milky way! It's central black hole clocks in at about 4.3 million solar masses. I might explain how exactly black holes forms and works in a future video but as of yet no one is quite sure where it may lead.

great video and very informing!!!

That intro tho! Haha
The video format is dope man, I personally prefer watching a short video as apposed to reading a long post.
Well informed, well executed. Keep it up!

Thanks!! Its nice to hear some feedback :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97