You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DON'T LET GREED DESTROY STEEMIT

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

PSA : The above post was promoted by the poster by buying votes for about 2000$ USD worth.


Complaining and expecting people to lose opportunities to make curation reward and to distribute the reward where they think it should go to police the system isn't going to solve much in the long term.

Something like implementing a separate down-voting (aka. flagging) power pool might.
https://steemit.com/steem/@transisto/separate-downvoting-power-pool-concept-visualized

I also suggest having two negative curation buttons one called a downvote (DV), placed right next to upvote and one similar to the flag we have now but with a twist.
DV Would bring down a post reward but wouldn't bring it below 0.00$ (no censorship)
Flags v2.0, Can bring a post below 0.00$ (bury it) but would burn the reward instead of just redistributing it back into the system as it's usually ending up benefiting other abusers or already over-rewarded posts.

I down-voted your post because it's ignoring a very basic concept of any semi-anonymous decentralized system.
You can't assume an entity to not be able to create and control multiple accounts.

Thanks for bringing the problem to our attention though.

Ps: I only downvoted your post by an amount that should be less than the money you might have received buying votes. Next time assume we might want to take your post off the front-page for wasting people's time with an obviously flawed solutions to a known problem. You also used the word STEEMIT all along when meaning STEEM. It's confusing and show you may not understand at which level the problem lies.

Sort:  

He is fairly new, he posted an opinion. While I agree the concept was flawed, to downvote him and upvote your own comment... Well, I disagree with your rewards.

I appreciate your downvotes more than you can imagine.

I think it should be good practice for posters to disclose when votes have been purchased.

An independent bot should warn the public by reporting as a comment how much votes where purchased on a post. It's unreasonable to assume new people to know these names = purchased votes.


Source: http://www.steembottracker.com/

I agree with you on the downvote part, negative feedback is a learning opportunity
That why I find it irritating, that it's so hard to keep track of leaving followers.

It would actually be pretty nice to have a bot that automatically posts a comment on posts that have bought votes. I hope someone with the time and skills will make this at one point!

I was actually trying to think of a bot idea to spend time on. Thanks @vath for your brilliant idea. One more iron that I'll add to the fire.

You're welcome! I wish you the best of luck :)

If you want another idea, then consider making a "Remind Me" type of bot that they have on Reddit. I was just thinking about how I miss that from Reddit. If you are unfamiliar with it, you can call it in the comment section and tell it to remind you of a post/comment in X days/hours/years etc, and it will pop back up and notify you when the timer ends. It's really handy!

Most of them do comment.

Yeah, that's true, but it would be even better with a neutral bot that come in and said something like "this post has bought votes for XX SBD to get upvotes worth XX SBD". This will make buying upvotes completely transparent, and it will be very easy to see which posts that are heavily promoted.

This post for example has almost 500 comments, but I had not even noticed all the bots who upvoted it, because these are pretty much hidden and scattered.

I admit I was surprised by this response. :)

Thank you for the very instructive comment, as my account was just approved yesterday and it feels very intimidating.

Whales shouldn't be fighting each other but teaching minnows and be an example. Now the first thing minnows sees is the fighting on steemit. And minnows just don't understand what the hell is going on. All we want to do is learn and add content and be a part of this great community.

Good one ; )

^^this, exactly. You're the first person I've even heard mention any sort of "example" that should be followed, or courtesy hahah. Btw, what is this dMania thing? Looks kinda like steemit... maybe i'll check that out. It almost seems like Steemit is imploding and we "got in" a bit late to the party lol. Heck, I'll keep sticking around and see what's up. All the while, do my best to improve what I can!!

Sadly I'm a minnow

I totally agree.. Steemit is being flooded with useless content! Buying votes, upvoting yourself!! Wow, it sounds like dictatorship!

Close. It's a meritocracy.

cute and with some accuracy

(Sadly) buying votes is now almost a necessity for smaller accounts.
if you want your post to be read.

Few followers & Few SP means that your posts will stay in the new section eternally. Which means that your lucky if your posts are read by 15 people.

If he's willing to spend $2000 to get his message across. Then he has a change of seeing his post in the hot/trending section.

While I'm personally not using upvote bots, I get why people are using them.


about the multi accounts. Those are difficult to track. Especially since their isn't a common website that can monitor the IP addresses.

The only thing you can do about it is manually check the votes. And try to find the patterns. Maybe we should have a group for this. We already have utopian to support the developers.

I don't have problem with buying votes, It's just dangerous to do so on the front-page with not so good or inaccurate content.

You are right, like with Bitcoin there is no way to track IPs at the blockchain level.

i knew about the bots even before i started using steemit. Some of my friends were on this platform and they told me how great of a site this was. And my introducing yourself came about, nobody even said welcome to the community, except those people who told me about this community.
My first mentality was to eh, i wont use the bots, they are bad for the community, but after seeing the reaction on my first post, used the bot on the same post after 3 or 4 days, probably.
I've been posting regularly and interacting with some of the people here, and yesterday i saw one of the user write that he was in this acceptance phase, where no matter what he does, it will never get peoples' attention.
I dont want to imply that my posts are great but i've seen some posts that are shit as hell and making 100+ just because of his/her influence and reputation.
I think this should be the first problem that should be addressed by the community and influential people like you.

I dont agree , that new users need to buy votes i am on steemit for 5 days , and without posting links in other sites got 14 followers and some upvotes , so best way for new like me is to make alot comments but not like nice , sad, normal and like that but comments with your opinion and thoughts , and with some point (sorry for my english , not my first language )

Honestly 14 followers in 5 days is not bad. I'm very new as well. It seems easier to gain followers here than say YouTube. First week of hustling for a new channel over there will not likely net 14 followers. I am at 17 followers in a few days and very excited about the potential here. Not sure if I will buy votes eventually I am just figuring all of this out. Cheers

True, a new channel on Youtube is just an atom in the hay stack. On steemit, it's just a needle :)

Yeah, it is probably a lot harder to build a following at YouTube for a completely newcomer as of right now. Just keep being active on the blockchain, and the followers will start coming in regularly by themselves!

Ugh. I have virtually NO idea what pretty much any of that means. AL I know is I
ve been on Steemit maybe a week, and, i'd say... about HALF of the CONTENTS i've even come across has been some kind of fight/ argument about how steem or someone on steem is "greedy" and basically screwing shit up. I guess stuff like this should be expected to a degree anytime you're dealing with other people, and ESPECIALLY when money gets involved. Which I guess is what i'm encountering: the clash between self-governance, power, and as much as I hate to say it: nature. Hopefully I'm wrong, and Steem still has some time before it becomes totally corrupted--and it may never--I'm going to do my best to keep it with what my original impression of the platform was: a decentralized uncensored forum where newcomers are actually an integral part of the system. Actually, I think that's probably where something is lost: getting too "big for your britches," "whales," and forgetting you too were once a minnow... Does it not get lonely in the "deep deep end??"

I think tools for upvoting and following systems should be banned first. Because this is something like liquor prohibition in gujarat india but selling it not stopped by police department instead they are doing corruption with boot leggers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69