How To Lose A $100 On Steemit (or) This Can Only Happen If You're As Foolish As Me.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Before I tell my story I want to make a few things clear.

(1) - - I love Steemit! I’ve only been here a short while but I am convinced of it’s potential and benefits.

(2) -- The incident I’m about to describe is totally my own fault. (Steemit can never fool proof it’s system against a world class fool like myself.)

(3) -- I’m an idiot.

Now that you know that, let’s proceed to my tale of woe.

I was waiting in the cafeteria of where I work.
I didn’t start my shift for another half an hour so I was playing on my phone.
A cheap Samsung galaxy phone.

I logged into Steemit to check on the variety of posts there.
After a while of looking at the results of my posts I decided to experiment with the promotion function.

Now I guess I’m a minnow.
So I have no illusions of grandeur.
I don’t think promoting any of my posts are really going to give me some huge return on my investment.
I was just fooling around.
(Please note the word “fool” in the word “fooling”)

I picked a random post of mine, which happened to be a post I made for the @openmic contest.

Being the big spender that I am I decided to spend one dollar on promotion.

That’s right, I know this seems extravagant, but I was going to spend an entire dollar (that’s one hundred cents American) on frivolous self promotion.

When I came to the part where you typed in an amount, I typed with my aging clumsy fingers, “1” dollar.
On my faithful goofy phone I saw no indication that anything was entered in at all.

So I back spaced and tried entering the one dollar again.
Still it did not register.

A couple of more attempts later I decided that for what ever reason, this function did not work on my phone.
I figured with my sharp and highly tuned reasoning that no amount had actually been entered.

So now with the wisdom of a drunken monkey playing with a loaded gun, I decided to submit my foolishness to see the result.

Steemit at this point will give "the stupid", a second chance to save themselves and requires you to enter your super complex password.

My handy dandy, never reliable when I need it, phone, kindly saved my password for me so all I have to do is hit enter.

Now at this point I expect to see the words, Transfer 0.00 SBD to null.

But much to my shock (and a thrill to my penny pinching heart) I saw the words.

TRANSFER 100.00 SBD TO NULL!!!! (I added the caps and exclamation points)

Again this was not Steemits’ doing.
This was
Through my fault,
Through my fault,
Through my most grievous fault.

So I’ve learned some valuable lessons.

  1.   I’m even a bigger idiot than I thought.
    
  2.   Never play with money on my phone.
    
  3.   Don’t promote myself because I look like a self centered clown.
    

The moral of the story,
Don’t do what I did kids.

Oh and here is a link to the post I promoted.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@tombalistreri/open-mic-week-38-narrow-road-original-song-tombalistreri

I never expected to win the contest.
I didn’t expect promoting my entry would help me win.
At this point I’d be thrilled if I make ten cents on the dollar for what I spent.

Thanks for letting me tell my tale.

Tom 7-4-15.jpg

Sort:  

I Upvoted your $100 openmic since it shows up at the top of the list when you click the Promoted Tab on the top left.

A few suggestions if I may...

Keep a 1/3rd of your SBD in your Savings which can be withdrawn in 3 days when needed. And a 1/3rd in the Internal Market in VERY LOW BUY orders for STEEM, say like .50cents .25cents .05cents you never know!

And last 1/3rd can stay in where its at for spending or promoting as you have been.

Next suggestion is if you want to change a few of your "TAGs" to like I don't know?

steemit
life
blog

That way I will just send a penny to your post after you change your tag if you like, and it will be competing with the other post in those categories which MAY be more visible to have Upvoted or Commented on?

Thank you!
And thank you for the good advice.
I'm certainly one who could use it.
😃

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wilx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Upvoted that post as well as this one! Hope I managed to help at least somewhat! :)

Thank you!
I appreciate it.
😃

I am sorry for you loss but thanks for sharing this lesson with all of us new steemers

Thank you!
I'm glad I could be of service.

😃

that vid got tons of engagement though! Great job!

At first I was like, 'come on get to the point', then when you started being sarcastic I couldn't help myself! That was flipping hilarious man! Like seriously, I haven't laughed like that in ages :D

Let's hope the community can help you make your $100 back ASAP!

PS. Follow @ENAZWAHSDARB for entrepreneurial value content, my blog!

Thank you!
I followed back.
Thanks again!

This was one of the most amusing (not in the way of laughing with you, but more in the really nice style of writing and honesty) post I did read in the past 3 hours of "hanging and reading" on Steemit! I gonna check that 100$ promoted post now ;-) keep up the good work!

Wow, your song is great, I just checked it out and was very surprised! Damn!! I love it! Gonna resteem this post & follow you! You have a great voice vocally and with your writing style!

Thank you!
I appreciate it!

Thank You!
It's either laugh about it or cry.
Well, that's not true.
I did both.
😃

Hey, on the bright side you might earn some of it back!

That would be nice!
😃

Well, I do hope you can get your dollar back.
But I think I will stick to SBD transactions on PC next round. haha.
Thanks for the "experiment" that you have unconsciously made. As a minnow myself I also lost some SBD because I did not really read the guidelines properly (or forgot).
upvote for you (although I think it is still only 1 cent worth) and I wish you all the best in your competition.
Maybe one of my latest post (please do not vandalise it because I think it is not enough power lately, as a lot of minnow is doing that) , that might help a little in gaining your earnings just a tiny bit at a time. With the HF19, there's a lot to learn in the new set of rules in this game of post and earn .
HF19 limitations could stop you from helping more, but creativity and generosity could help you gain returns
ps: I was doing this to help someone, and trying to get people to do something meaningful for those in need

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58402.42
ETH 2727.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34