Steemit, Plankton Life : How to Thrive from the Bottom

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1549.JPG

U5dsnksPyVRepfJavV89TASr4xv1v96_1680x8400.jpg

Plankton life can be hard on Steemit but it's possible to thrive and grow from the ground up with no investment.

Many new members to Steemit ( Plankton ) feel it's impossible to get seen, gain traction, get big upvotes and lots of followers. While as a Plankton you have more work to do than other higher up the ladder, this really applies to all aspects of life. The early adopters have the luxury of having good followers and high investment into Steemit, they deserve it.

You can spend all your energy blaming whales, blaming Steemit and the system is place but the pure fact is the only person holding back you is yourself.

You can gain traction on Steemit from Plankton status with no investment or paid bots, it just takes good content. Starting at the bottom with no investment means not all your post will hit trending/hot like the bigger fish right away, some content will feel under paid but don't let that destroy your motivation. You need to take the upvote hits as they come and be happy with growth and followers.

U5dshaKFHcHWjzvzw5RHV82DdQnuMDd_1680x8400.png

You might want to sit back and think " what can i do to increase my chances of a good payout" rather than blame the system. Negative energy and thinking can destroy your motivation, drive and shut doors. Honestly, many new members don't take the time to do a decent post.

I've recruited many people to Steemit over the last month. Very few took the time to learn Steemit, spend time on the platform or get involved with the users. People just see dollar signs, rush into Steemit and copy/paste You Tube videos with almost no description, this gets no traction in Steemit.

I can't blame them, I made the same mistakes with my early post. Here is a example of my first post ...

https://steemit.com/music/@toddjsmith1979/live-electronic-jam-9-6-17-cyberspace-jam

This video is a You Tube video and has almost no description, I made a bad post. Steemit should always have a detailed description at least 4/5 paragraphs, even with video upload. Pics and links add even more value to the post and could lead to better upvotes.

Here is a example of a later post which has better text, pics and links.

https://steemit.com/dsound/@toddjsmith1979/original-song-altered-state-of-beingnothing-but-dirt-a-steemit-based-music-labelfree-dowload

You can see I added a lot of text, pictures and links to this audio upload, increasing the chances of upvote and traction on the blockchain. I'd say the thumbnail and other parts of the post still need work but it's a improvement over my first post. Posting good content on a daily bases will get you eyes on your work.

Many Plankton don't evolve, don't improve the value of their post and give up on Steemit.

download (4).jpg

I've had good early growth in the blockchain and I feel other Plankton can thrive with content but they need to take time and learn Steemit. Even with great post, Plankton has content that goes under the radar but don't let this destroy you Steemit passion.

Maybe you gained a few followers ? You need to be happy with what you get at the bottom.

1c58170.jpg

Growth will come with good, daily content. Steemit will give back what you give into the system and bigger upvote/payout could come at anytime. One thing is a fact, it'll never come if you never post. Stay positive, roll with the punches, make good content, explore Steemit ( it's endless ) and evolve as a creator.

I need to thank anyone who has supported me at all in the past, present or future. It means the world to my music, art, content and music label.

Till next time, stay creative ..

-Todd

Nothing But Dirt ( A Steemit Based Music Label ) : https://www.nbdrecords.com/

steemit.jpg

Sort:  

That is a well thought out piece about being a plankton and how to grow from one cell to many. You have definitely got the right attitude and are looking to continuously improve and evolve. I will look forward to seeing your journey continue with much success.

Thank you,

Your support means a lot. I’m definitely always looking at my content and picking it apart. Looking at what I did right, what I did wrong. The blockchain has the potential to change creativity as we know it, I’m trying my best to evolve and give the most I can to Steemit.

Glad I got to meet you, your write ups are very well done. Stay creative and healthy.

154AF65D-8977-4874-B006-415EC49AA080.jpeg

Hi Todd, another inspiring post, I'm one of those peeps that have jumped ship, Ive read a few of your posts here at steemit, and also your original ones on S&D your enthusiasm, really got me interested and I was just like Todd, I can't see your whole vision, but the glimpses you show are really promising so I'm here as an artist and hoping not for $$ but for people I can engage with not only about my music, but how and why I am an artist.

anyways please keep it up, I'm 100% into this.

Awesome comment ,

That’s really the best way to appeoach this platform. Coming into Steemit with $$$ in your eyes often makes it so you never learn the platform. You’re going to get a much richer experience from just exploring Steemit and taking what it gives you. Glad you jumped into the blockchain and your enjoying the system.

Comments like that will get you upvotes, just add a pic if you want it to stand out a bit more.

6A65FA07-6D01-4579-B673-CF5F3D50FF75.jpeg

It's easy to give up with a negative attitude and if you don't understand why you're not getting votes. Thankfully, there's a large community herr that helps out and posts like this help

Thank you , glad your sticking it out. Many I’ve people I’ve shown Steemit gave up quick, figured a post like this might help people.

Hey Todd, great content brother! i been watching you close and I would love to network with and you and talk about joining your label in fourthcoming weeks! #MaintainYourHustle

Hell yea bro , definitely keep in touch. I’m still in the bu8lding phase but things are moving fast. Glad artist are interested in the idea. Stay creative bro !!

I dunno, one of the biggest barriers to adoption of any tech is the interface. How long does it take to learn how to use Facebook? Steemit seems promising, but in my few weeks on here, it's become clear it's mostly a Pirate Meme War, where people aren't just interacting and sharing for the sake of it, they become Value Mercenaries, looking at how they can tweak every little interaction they do in order to "get something in return". I mean, I'm very glad there is a way to do social community media that keeps the value created within the community of those who created it, compared to FaceSpace where You Are The Product. But one thing I DO like about FaceSpace is that you just have normal people sharing things with each other because they want to, not just because they're angling to Get Rich Quick. I'm sure Steemit has been very valuable to a few people so far, but if that value continues to be hoarded at the top, I'm suspicious if the platform will ever provide the kind of experience that would convert large numbers of users from FaceStagram.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44