Try Writing and Posting on Steemit for 10 Months Without Making a Post About Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Have you read my stuff? I don't mean that title above, or this sentence, I'm talking about the other stuff-- have you seen my psychedelic topographical maps of the weirdly colorful terrains teeming with remarkable occupants, who in their odd journeys do roll and tumble through my noisy skull on most days?

These Things are Not All Human

Starts getting a little creepy in here right away doesn't it? I should explain that last bit right here, I'll try some of that cohesive writing that I've heard so much about: the things that I write about and the things that I include in my artwork and photos are not always human-- sometimes I do nature articles, featuring photos of birds, animals and even plants, or simple photos of my little garden.

Really not that weird.

I do write about humans though: that little post about my garden might be followed by a short tale of pirates, or sometimes a page from a spaceman's journal, or another post may describe a single scene where a girl wakes and finds herself a goddess who has been sleeping all morning, dreaming of another world very much like her own, while never knowing that she herself was the master and creator of the palace she'd dozed off in. Even after waking up in the royal cushions and luxury, she knew not who she really was. Stuff like that.


Writing About Steemit (On Steemit)

At this point it might be clear why in the ten months that I've been posting on Steemit that I hardly ever write about the platform; I'm always writing about either something that I wrote about already, or writing original content and new things for Steemit that I can later write about having written. It's a lot of work, and there's not much time to write about my actual experience here.

At this point though, it has become hard not to write about a place that I go to every day when it has become part of my life in such a big way. It is now what's going on. While everyone here isn't human, most of us probably are, and if I did choose to write about Steemit, I would probably write about how there's usually not enough time to visit with my friends that I've met here-- not nearly enough time.

I Need to Get Out More Often!

If I spent more time socializing here, maybe I wouldn't have to write about things I've done on Steemit, I could begin writing about the things that I'm learning here from the experience itself.


There are brilliant authors here who I have chatted with from time to time, but I type slowly and thoughtfully, and sometimes my 'chat' turns into a thesis, and then I get bored with my tedious paragraphs and I delete the whole thing. I'm going to start hitting 'POST' instead, and I intend to spend more time communicating with the beings who are here with me at Steemit.

Here's the trouble I seem to have with hanging out with friends online: if I were sitting in a forest with someone, they would know when I'd finished my sentence, and I'd know that they knew, and I could listen carefully to their input, and they would know if I knew what they meant. I would like to sit in or near a forest or sea with the people that I've met here, and we could really have some life together. It would be like we've been doing here, but less typing.

Until That Big Day, Though...

There's something that I've noticed too: The top of my page says I have around 650 followers. I know that I didn't go begging for followers here at any time, so the ones who aren't bots must have chosen to follow my page because of it's content, and not because I went and made a nuisance of myself on their page, and it certainly wasn't because I'm such a friendly person who's got lots of friends already, (I'm nice, but not necessarily friendly, so back off a little, you're steaming up my fur) they followed because they chose to, and I can't imagine why, but no matter, I'm glad you are all here with me. I especially appreciate those who have read this far on my Steemit post that is kind of about Steemit, we all know that this isn't what I usually do.

If I haven't visited your page recently, it doesn't mean that I don't like your work, and if I haven't up-voted your post, it probably means that I'm busy writing a sentence like this one, which takes a lot of concentration and focus, causing me to miss yours and lots of other posts in my feed.

If I've never commented on your posts but leave an up-vote, it means that I read it and curated it, as I must have considered it to be quality material. That kind of quality takes time, and I can't just presume that you want to answer all of my comments on your last post, but I've decided to start showing up. I want to hang out, and if it means that I'll be typing and staring at a screen, then that's how we'll do it.

Watch now. I may show up and comment on your last post, or your next one, and you'll know I'm not there to milk you for up-votes, I am intending to get the most out of my Steemit experience, and hanging around with you all is fun-- I want more.

Until then, know that I appreciate the support and input that I get on my odd writings, and I'll see you in the comments later.


thanks for reading along, and thanks to all of you for your input to my page, and making it shine

above images by me

@therealpaul

Sort:  

Agreed, it's always good to switch it up. The more diverse your mind works, the more success you'll have here on this platform. Don't get me wrong; writing about Steemit is great fun because it's easy to talk about how awesome of a platform this is. But being unique works a whole lot better:)

Yes there's plenty of Steemit posts about Steemit, so my posts are mostly about, er... other stuff, but we can then all still talk about Steemit in the comments, since it's bound to come up in the conversations from time to time, being the fabulous place that it is.

It would surely be fun to hang around in a hardwood forest with you and chat, but for now, I must stick to these comment boxes. Great post, with many interesting thoughts. I think your high-variability is what makes your stuff so interesting. Thanks for that, and the cool window-glass Steemit sign as well.

Yes the reply box is where I live then, maybe I should adorn each comment with some scenery pics! I appreciate your support here, maybe someday there'll be regional worldwide steemit forests for just this sort of thing, and beaches...

Comment pic's, I think you're onto something. Nice. And unbelievably time consuming...as if Steemit was not a bit of that already, though in a rewarding way. And if you ever find that forest, let me know, and if a beach down below between the trees, I might never leave.

Been following you since you took me on a great adventure through the fictionarium. Since then, you've always got something interesting on your post.

Awesome, sometimes I wondered if I was the only one in the old Fictionarium back in those days, I'm glad to know you were there too. The real world became so exaggerated this year that I couldn't figure out how to write Fictionarium any further, the little fictional world had blatantly become just like everybody's normal life, my story became less of a 'Fiction'- arium by the day.
Thanks for dropping in, I appreciate it a lot.

ok...and then what? some users...they dont post about steemit for sh*t and they make $$$$$$$$$$ some do an they make$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. I dont think steemit masturbating has anything to do with it yo!

Yeah the Steemit Steemit posts seem to do well, and I've sort of avoided writing them because it seemed cheezy, but I am on here so much-- they say 'write about things that you know about', and now my life seems to be here a lot!

hah -- my next post: how much I enjoyed writing a post about steemit on steemit, and how it changed my life!

I guess I'm not the only one feeling guilty for not being as social as I would like to be! A few days ago I was showing a friend around Steemit and looking at statistics together. I discovered that when I was actively curating and commenting on posts, my reputation climbed quite steeply. Then I took time off curating to create the things I posted and guess what? My reputation leveled off. So it seems that the best practice is to balance out your time and do a little of each. There are some brilliant minds on here and I'm thoroughly enjoying reading their posts.

Just today, I was talking to a library technician about how difficult it is to access theses and other papers written by professors and their students and she informed me that some universities are beginning to offer repositories on their own servers so that these research papers can be accessed by the public and not only by those libraries that pay thousands of dollars yearly to access those papers. I suggested she advertise that if they post here on Steemit, the papers are public forever and they can get paid for it! She's going to run with that idea and start advertising! We may get a whole lot more brilliant minds posting here soon!

That's interesting that the statistics showed how your rep score reacted to the interaction. I think that it does make sense to try to balance the posts with some social activity, and my typing does slowly improve so I can zip out a sentence while it's on my mind.
That sounds like a logical course, for the university to take advantage of the blockchain and Steemit even. The place gets more valuable every day!

Unfortunately for me, my typing speed hasn't improved in YEARS. I suck at typing. Takes me forever to get stuff out.

These typing lessons have helped me, if I'd ever finish the lessons I'd be flying by now, but here try this: https://www.typing.com/student

Thank-you Paul (the real one),

I appreciate the link and your concern. However, if I was to take on one more project I think I'll crack. I just don't have the time to sit and practice; too many things to actually accomplish. I'm not even getting enough sleep lately. Learning to type will have to wait its turn.

I think I'm in a have to start with 10 days and then work my way up to 10 weeks and then maybe maybe maybe maybe 10 months one day we'll see

That 10 months has flown by here, it'll be that long before you know it!

Impossible! Unsteemstainable!! I am glad to be a follower. Your musings are interesting. Don't delete wnymore. Hit that post button next time! Thanks for sharing, you are appreciated!

Thanks doc- that actually makes me feel better, I've been in a sort of funky mood this afternoon. I appreciate your encouragement, and it starts here and now... I'm hitting POST!

I'm a noob but challenge accepted, sir.

If you hang around a while, it starts to become harder to ignore the whole Steemit experience, and might begin sneaking into your posts. Good luck!

Yeah, by the time I wrote this post I had already made a post about steemit on steemit. Soon I realized my mistake and your post nailed in my conviction.

Thank you for sharing this valuable information!

Well it could be valuable information in that I think a balance between interaction on the platform and then also adding good content is a formula for success on Steemit-- I know I've been slacking in the social department, and if there's nobody remembering to check out my page, then it doesn't matter how good my posts are.

Waiting for my power to go up is like waiting for paint to dry (yes I know that's not the precise saying ;) While I'm doing this waiting I've dedided there's no reason why I can't comment, let the author know I will be keeping the post up in my browser for the moment I can start hitting that upvote again.
In your case with this post leaving it in my browser won't be necessary because...it will be on my page :) You love me right? Say you love me. lol.

All in all this might be one of the best posts about steemit I've ever read, the art definitely pushes it up that notch. Definitely the best post sort of about steemit I've ever read :)
(Glad to hear you'll be putting yourself out there--stop deleting!! You are your own worst critic!)

I love you! I didn't get in trouble for using the steemit tag, so it must be about steemit, enough. Thank you for sharing it on your page, that means a lot to me every time. Now I have to go read it again to see what you mean.
One thing I've started doing again is, when somebody comments on my page, I not only reply but then I go see what their page is about, maybe upvote, maybe follow, and maybe even comment! It seems fair.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42