Karen at the Beach

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Following my previous post of photos of Karen - I have some more here.  I'm having difficulty picking between the shots.  Which version and shots do you prefer?  Apologies for the weird numbering - I managed to upload them in a weird order but to stop myself getting confused I have kept the numbers from the the uploading order.  

These were shot in a combination of natural light (mainly for backlighting) and a beauty dish and/ reflector for front lighting.  It was shot very close to sunset and the light was varying quite a lot in both colour and intensity which made for some interesting variation in lighting.  Dunstanburgh beach where these were shot is right next to the North Sea which makes it very cold and prone to sudden winds.  It was a difficult shoot as I described before.  Unlike the previous shots most of these were taken earlier on before we were both frozen to the core!

I have used a split tone filter from Silver Efex Pro 2 for the black and white versions (they are together after the colour versions).  Hope you like them:)


Colour


16


15


14


13


12


11


10


09


BW/ Split Tone Versions


16


15


14


13


12


11


10


09


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics like this too) -  @thecryptofiend 


I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Technical Information:

  • Nikon D800 Camera
  • Sigma 70-200mm/2.8 lens
  • Adobe Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC.
  • Model is Karen Thompson Pringle
  • Location is Dunstanburgh Beach in Northumberland, England.

(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my Previous Posts and Tutorials:

Sort:  

Brilliant quality shots but freaks me out a little as she looks a bit like my ex

Beautiful shots, as always.

I like #14 in color, the dreaminess is awesome :D

Awesome work man, I really like #'s 9 and 10 in color. I think #'s 15 and 11 are good angles for her too, she has a nice sharp jaw line and cheek bone and those really show it off.

Thank you for your kind words:)

Very nice, my favorites are 2 and 15.

I LOVE all the color shots. Your model is simply stunning -- what eyes, lips and I just love hair color. All-in-all, there's so much going on in terms of color that it seems the right way to capture this lovely woman. As always, such wonderful work!

Thank you so much for your lovely words:)

Hello very nice shots @thecryptofiend !! I think i will go with the number 15 in color selection !! so nice this grass effect before !! The BW are real nice too and I like the tone you have given them, it reminds me of the polaroid film i used to use back in the days of film !!

Thanks. Yes I love that old Polaroid film was it like the Fuji FP-3000B - that has a similar tone I think particularly when it has been distressed a bit or is old expired stock which is all of it now since they discontinued it. I love the old film look.

i rather thought it was called Polapan 100 !!it was a monochrome slide film that could be printed on color paper for some very nice color shifts. The bluish grey like your photo,s was my favorite, All gone now I think sadly !!

Wow very cool! Yes I think these are almost all gone. Even my favourite Fuji FP-3000B is now all expired to the point of being near useless and costing about 40 pounds a canister!

yes was cool, came out too late. I had the machine given to me from polaroid at a show. Was a great machine which automatically developed the film. Was beautiful film this grain wise. I saw it for sale on Amazon still this morning while i found yu this photo !! 6 dolars a roll, not so bad !!

Not bad but the question is how well will it work if it is expired. For the Fuji film out the last ten canisters I bought there was roughly an 80% failure rate, as I was getting about 2 shots out of every pack of 10. That might be an exceptional case because it is instant film packs and also those packs were between 12 and 20 pounds at the time. Even at 6 dollars it could get expensive quite quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48