STEEMIT, UPVOTING, CONFUSION

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm confused about the practice of voting exactly at the 15 minute mark and not before. This practice seems to go against the ideal of posting quality content. I recently came across a couple of people whom I follow, and by pure luck they had just posted. With only a minute separating the two posting times, I would have to be on my game.

As I sat there with my finger in the ready position, I was going to win the push button contest and register my first victory by activating the button before all other comers.

https://pixabay.com/en/photos/pointing%20finger/?&pagi=2

The clock struck 15, and at that exact moment I placed my up-vote. To my surprise I did not walk away with the trophy. As votes were recorded and displayed, I could not figure out how 23 people had beaten me to the punch. The second go around I would make sure my
https://www.123rf.com/stock-photo/pushing_button.html?sti=n03ckjjitdhpg3etel|
would be up to the task. I would not be denied this time. With only a minute to prepare, I did a couple of finger push ups, finger squat thrusts and had a chance to get in a couple of finger jumping jacks. I would finally get to celebrate the taste of victory. I pounced on the button, with no regard for the health of the keyboard.
This time I placed 49th. My .06 cent vote was nowhere to be seen in the voting log.

What more could I do, I was a looser, wallowing in the agony of defeat.

After much introspection, I came to my senses and realized I did not even know what the hell I had just voted for. I had totally discarded my convictions to only push the button down for quality content that would be worthy of my vote. I had succumb to the desire to gain monetary wealth over all other principles. I felt ashamed, as I had just joined the MONEY CLUB, where the only thing that matters is the bottom line!

I have since vowed to never again just push the button down to gain fame and wealth. The muscles in my finger would only be activated after the content had been reviewed. One way or another I would control this involuntary response to these tempting seductions. I would never again feel like Eve, plunging my fellow Steemians into a social media nightmare, by voting for what they call Shit posts, before previewing and making up my own mind on what is

https://www.canstockphoto.com/pile-of-poop-cartoon-character-20364566.html
With all joking put aside, how does this practice generate the desire to recognize quality content by voting for it?. If someone is out there can explanation would be greatly appreciated!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm not a fan of the 15 minute mark either. Also at 14 minutes you would still get most of the curation rewards.

Thanks for the reply. It's a good feeling to get some feedback.

Keep up the good work you are doing that will benefit our entire community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45