People who upvote but don't view

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Okay I am going to say it. Why are people upvoting content they are not viewing?
I made a post about 3 hours ago entering a contest that @siragrays is running. After three hours this is what I see.

have I arrvied.PNG
Look at that 18 upvotes but only 6 views. That bothers me that people didn't even bother to read my post. They just upvoted and didn't even look at it, likely because they think they might get a decent curation awards or something and I guess it means I must be doing something right. But it bothers me because I have to wonder if it is bots or if it is real people and if they are really that lazy that they can't open up my post and read it and upvote it if it is good and move on if it isn't. I don't want to be upvoted if people don't like my content.

I want people upvoting me because they like what I have to say. I want people to follow me because they think I am interesting, like my view on things, and like what I have to say. Because when you have followers that do that, you meet great people you click with and wonderful things can be built from those meetings. I have met too many wonderful people to mention every single person. But it saddens me that so many people are just trying to gain rewards without trying to make meaningful contributions.

If you would like to see the post I am referring to you can locate it here:
https://steemit.com/yunk/@tecnosgirl/yunk-style-series-2-contest-entry

But it isn't every post I have this post I made earlier in the day has had one more view than upvotes that shows me at least people opened it up even if they didn't read it.
https://steemit.com/buyanupvote/@tecnosgirl/not-shakespeares-school-advertistment-contest-win-sbd-and-a-one-of-a-kind-prize

Anyways this was on my mind and I had to get it out before going to bed. I guess I should be flattered and this might be a sign that I am arriving that people are rushing to upvote my content.

Remember "Steemit Social Media, Done Right"

Sort:  

I always wonder how many of the upvotes without views are part of the the auto-upvote process people can set up for authors who they like. Almost all of these "helpful" bots are doing nothing but hurting the platform.

Auto-upvotes kill the future value of Steemit. Because that means you are not actively upvoting posts and therefore are bleeding the rewards pool unnecessarily for content that may not deserve an upvote.

Just because you like an author doesn't mean that you should blindly vote for all of their content! If you like it, vote stronger on a single post rather than voting minimally on all posts.

I hate those auto voting bots I call those bad bots they are not helpful at all. Minnowbooster and Randowhale is are helpful bots when used properly. I tend to give them on what I think is really good content to others when my VP is down.
I agree Auto-upvotes kill the value.

I think the idea behind minnowbooster is great, but at the end of the day, it's just the same to me as randowhale.

Both of them are profiting off the backs of minnows and draining the rewards pool. If you want a post to get more views and value from votes, don't give it a $1 from a bot's vote, Re-Steem it. That's how the platform was meant to be used. If the content is great, others will vote for it. If not, then the system is working.

All that the "boosts" do is contribute to the "get rich quick" attitude, not the "build a community" ideal.

At least that's my 0.02

I personally don't randowhale or minnowbooster things of my own, unless it is a fund raiser then I will but the money isn't going to me it is going to someone or an organization in need. But I do find both valuable when my VP is down and I want to give a new user a boost and their content deserves more than my drained power can give. I think many people use them in the wrong way but when they are properly used to give others a boost I have no issues with it. The Auto voting bots I do have issues with though. And I look at it like this if I tip $1 to someone because their content deserves it, it is better to give them the randowhale instead because it is normally more than what you pay into it that it gives as a reward. Same with minnowbooster. But I only use them if the content is really good and my VP is drained.

I know that it can be used for good. It's just human nature that so many people DON'T use the booster services that way. And once one person uses it for a self-vote someone else feels like they're now missing out because they didn't use it, so they use it, and someone else does it.. and so on and so on...

Don't worry, I still respect you and know that you're absolutely one of the good ones on here! :)

I don't always have time to properly read a story or it may be something I'm not all that interested in, but I like supporting those I follow, so I upvote. I do this especially for other minnows like myself. That being said, it could be worse. You could have no upvotes at all like one of my posts. Pretty much a complete waste of about 2 hours of writing.

Upped for props on the observation! Thank you so much for sharing!

Well I have to say I love that your comment is relevant, and it got me to go check your page out, and you have gained a new follower. Read your Magic the Gathering post.

Thank you so much! I try and keep comments relevant. On sites where content is king, even on comments, it does little to no good to post irrelevant comments. I come from the likes of Slashdot where relevancy is everything, so I learned long ago to keep to the subject. :)

Relevancy is so important many don't seem to get it.

It's understandable. Steemit is a place where some people make a lot of money so others try to do the same by speed reading and such.

This is a flaw that can only be corrected by removing the rewards.

I take the time to read posts that interest me. Mainly cryptocurrency posts because I'm learning about and researching cryptocurrency all the time now.

that is the problem it isn't even speed reading I have no issues with those who can speed read and comprehend, it is upvoting for stuff they haven't even read. It could be something evil they are upvoting they have no clue.

By speed read I meant that they only read the title for the most part. Even people who view a post don't read it too often. This is why so many people leave comments which say something like "great post". They only leave quick positive comments hoping to get an upvote.

This is not a good blogging platform. However it does pay. Pennies are better than nothing and it's a good source for cryptocurrency news so I like it.

That might be just as bad when you put it that way. I love the platform I just think over the last few weeks people are joining not understanding the platform so they are misusing out of ignorance.

They're missing out...

What peeves me is when some of the same people will then start writing whiny rants about how this or that site is ripping them off -- which, imo, makes absolutely no sense when they're being given (free-of-charge) a place to express themselves and a chance to actually get paid for the privilege.

Finally, the people running the site end up closing down because this kind of SPAM is choking out the good-quality pieces from the places where they have the most visibility.

When that happens, the ones who caused the problems keep on talking about getting ripped-off by the now-gone sites.

That's too bad. Good chances are tht they've missed some gread reading and, likely, didn't make that much money, either.

Very good point there. And since I am very new here, I am still studying as to how people really find their way around. I want you to know that posts like yours helps a lot.

May you also find my first two posts about offgrid lighting here:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lightingmacsteem/lighting-for-everyone-the-steemit-way
https://steemit.com/offgrid/@lightingmacsteem/7mcde8-lighting-for-everyone-the-steemit-way

I am now your follower. Regards.

I would refrain from dropping links in comments, as some people consider it spam

and I am not trying to be an asshole with my last comment, just trying to help you out from someone who has been around for a while, apparently the other guy took offense. I hope you don't take offense, it was said to help you

Oh, thank you so much for the hints. I am not aware of such, as I said I am really really new in this platform. No offense taken here, I am glad you say things honestly. Regards.

If you want something like it then you should stop giving rewards, or give rewards for curating your content or write controversial things or go to a place where faking attention is not a business.
What about a quiz? or a headline: Don't give a like if you are not going to read, asshole.
E.g., I wrote a post on the argument of why bitcoin is a ponzi and how a single Bitcoin can get to 1 million dollars before the ponzi ends. Well, people hated it and flagged me. True attention.
The answer is, don't think about it.

I would guess it's bots that are upvoting you, you could check the list and go through the upvoters.

I just checked my latest posts but do have the same experience. Unfortunately I always have more views than upvotes, so that's still something to work on ;-)

EDIT: Yeah, I done it as well. One of my posts now has 9 votes and 8 views, and 1 of these views is me. It gets stranger en strangerder.

When I read something of yours, I'm going to upvote it anytime that I possibly can, but you can rest assured that I read it first. I might not get around to doing things on the day that I'd originally planned to do them (as has been evident right here), but, when you see me here, it's going to be me that you're seeing and not some bot living my life for me -- not if I can help it any way.

Anyway, as always, this is a great post.

Of course, we both know that you've been a great writer and illustrator from the time that you were little.

The first bit of writing you did (at least, the first I saw) was your first name done in bright, happy colors and mixed in with a bright, happy landscape. As you know. it never left the outside of my refrigerator from the time when you were a preschooler at Head Start to the day when I carefully removed it and took it to 53rd Street Secure Storage back in 2013 the summer after you turned 35 that February!!!

I love you and am so proud of you!!!
xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Love you too AJ and I know you will actually always read it. But you were the one that helped shaped my love for words.

In a way, I was your Auntie Mame. :-)

Thank you for going there! Ha ha I really don't understand the logic. I know people try to get curation rewards or whatever but it's very obvious when my views are a fraction of the upvotes. Kind of humiliating. I know it's not supposed to be but I'd rather have people read my work.

Me too, I guess that makes me a little weird but seriously I spend the time writing my pieces I would like them to be read.

This happens to me a bit too.

I measure the value of my posts by the conversation it generates. I love the money and it's starting to grow to where it can count as income, so I'm not sad that people give me votes with or without reading. I am especially happy when people engage in conversation!

Some days I want to post random pictures of fruit with the wrong topic ... like "This is an apple"
banana-310449_960_720.png

Just to see if it still gets an immediate $2 in upvotes ...

Great post. I appreciate your thinking

You should watch this

You may not realize this but your comment is considered spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66699.04
ETH 3509.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71