Poor behaviour from @Dlive? Very.

in #steemit7 years ago

I was just scrolling through my feed, something that I do to see the people who I have followed and the things they think worthy of resteeming. For me, this is a personal space curated by me, for me and those I feel worthy of pushing content to me. People I have CHOSEN to give the rights to do so.

So, then this:

dlive.PNG

I have never followed @dlivestarbooster which is essentially a Facebook promoted post account pushing content intrusively into my feed. Again, I have never followed.

To use their service through Steemconnect, one must give them rights. I have never posted at @dlive but some of my friends do. Sorry guys, I am not going to be using the service anymore as I find an app that has chosen to curate my follower list and insert their own self-serving suggestions, scammy behaviour at Steemit.

Any app that thinks that it is okay to push content into my feed will have its rights revoked. Here is a guide how to revoke apps via Steemconnect if you think they are crossing your boundaries of what is suitable:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lolicorn/how-to-revoke-posting-permissions-for-steem-apps-via-steemconnect

Honestly, I am really disappointed that an app I have never even posted upon thinks this kind of behaviour is okay, especially considering that it is exactly this kind of behaviour that has pushed many of us onto the Steemit platform. It is this kind of poor behaviour that has forced content, directs support and takes away the agency of the user. The lack of this behaviour is one of the reasons the platform has so much appeal.

Disappointed that the operators of an app with massive Steemit backing has decided this is OK to do.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

You are absolutely right, that this is unacceptable. You have every right to be upset with this and we have no excuse for our behaviour.
It is unnacceptable for Facebook to do and it is unacceptable for us to do it.
This was an error in judgement and it needs to be rectified, immediately.
This was modeled after other third party apps, however we feel that no third party apps should be forcing you to follow them. This also includes third party apps forcibly telling you what content to look at.
We want people to follow DLive on their own accord because they feel it is a good platform in their own eyes, not because we force them to.
This will be fixed and a public apology will be given.
We do hope that we are able to earn your trust back to come use our platform again, however for the time being we respect and understand your decision.

Thank you, it actually means something that you are here commenting and I am hoping you will work it out as a team and community. I do understand that lapses of judgement happen, they happen to us all.

After this, I came across another issue (not only @dlive) that needs to be addressed for the integrity of the blockchain. Since you guys use Steemconnect, I would appreciate you having a read of this as your team might be able to offer some input also:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@tarazkp/a-hole-in-the-blockchain-steemconnect-please-take-the-time-it-is-important

Thanks for the reply.

There has been a suggestion I heard that you could give a new user the option to follow the dlive accounts during the onboarding process by presenting a check box and telling them why they might like to follow.

Just a suggestion. Glad you listened to your customers on this one.

Wow! Being called out on bad behavior and immediately owning up to it is something you don't see everyday! Everybody makes mistakes, but not everybody admits them right away and opens themselves to the consequences.

Most people I've seen here on steemit being accused of bad behavior went on to give bad excuses (the blockchain is transparent, even I understand that) and/or tried to deflect the accusations by pointing at other power players doing something wrong. It takes integrity to react in a different way!

Respect. Or course, we also have to respect @tarazkp for calling you out on it, because it seems that some whales react to accusations (even well-founded ones) with flags.

There is hope :)

Oh Dlive is really poor in management they have no idea what they are doing. Ps : I selfvoted because I wanted this to be seen

Hello there Steeminator3000,

Yes, that was a mistake that came from miscommunication.
It was rectified and majority of our staff were against it after finding out about it.
That error has forced us to have a massive overhaul on how we operate and function internally.
This overhaul occured this past Sunday, and we are working relentlessly to improve things.

There is a 1 vote in 24 hours rule for every others but I guess this is not applying to your moderators ? I won't take Dlive seriously unless I see some changes , this is solid nepotism and I don't approve this in a decentralized platform. People need to spam the moderators in order to get a vote but I'm observing for a long time all moderators and admins getting their vote in 30 minutes.

That's not so good...

Wow, that's pretty fucked up/sad, lol.

Great way to operate ned's sp for real. I suspect high nepotism in the platform too.

Yeah, it wouldn't shock me at all to find out that there's favoritism going on at that level here.

Pretty shameful

and that's why I have never used steemconnect, steemfollower and anything steemshit that asks anything other than my voting key :)

People really know how to screw a good thing up... pathetic.

Oh... I had plans to venture into the Dlive zone, not that I have an idea what to post there. Just to see what it is about I think. I think I am going to stick to stuff I know about. Lol.

There are so many ways to subvert a system, no matter how foolproof the system is and when there is gain attached to subversion, humans are never far off. It's just sad that we can't just enjoy this platform without human tendency to wreck havoc showing up.

I really hope they will revise their policy on this.

As do I. It is very poor.

That sucks :( I really don't want this place to end up with shitty newsfeeds where there's stuff I didn't subscribe to. That's one of my biggest pet peeves with FB, I spent 8 years curating my newsfeed by following people, groups and pages whose content I wanted to see. NOw I hardly even see my own friends original posts, I mainly see when they share shit from paid boosts...

Even in the messages section now...

Not only that, an actual important message from my Dad got put into my "filtered" inbox not long ago. We're friends on FB, and marked as family too - but since it was filtered I didn't get a notification, my Dad assumed I was ignoring his important message and it almost caused an argument. Not many things I can say I hate, but facebook is one.

I think what you did was the smartest choice... I hope dLive show some "repent" if some of their users revoked Steemconnect rights from them.

Have you corroborated this with anyone else? And can you post more "proof"? This on it's own doesn't stand up as conclusive.

But proof is a problem isn't it? For all intents and purposes I followed..... I marked the blockchain. Is there a way I can prove it? It is not my area but if they are posting on my behalf, does it appear that it is them editing or me?

absolutely it is. if we could read their source then we could see but as far as I know it's a closed source project 😕

This is really sad to see, man. That's some very suspect behavior on their part. I guess I should be happy that I have been too lazy to sign up for any of these services, as this is definitely not the kind of stuff that I would ever want to see on them.

Wow just getting to know this is possible. Can individuals also post thier contents into your feed without you following them? Or is this something only the app can do through steemconnect?

Only through Steemconnect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57