How to end a life

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I wonder, "Should I sit back, turn away, be silent?"

I have been pretty outspoken on this platform of late, something that I never intended to be. I think it has cost me heavily and might have cost me my chance at having a 'successful' future at Steemit. I am unsure yet though as it kind of depends which way the pendulum swings. Generally, those that speak out against authority get consumed as the authority nearly always wins.

Every Steem I have on this platform I have earned on my posts or by trading and buying back in to Steem. I haven't earned it on memes, or competitions or shitposts (in my opinion). Nearly everything I have earned is on long-form posts and in the last few months, fiction stories. Even my photos come with way too much text. It has been a lot of work. A lot. I think that most of my content has some level of interest and value for at least some readers here. at least, that is what some of the readers have said.

Now, I wonder if I have killed my chances at that future. Have I stepped out into the path of a fast moving tram? How much damage have I done to my position in the eyes of those who supported me? How heavily am I judged for speaking my mind, talking about my observations and asking questions? No matter how ridiculous my views might be to some people, I don't think it invalidates the queries.

Once upon a time, I had a vision of perhaps living off Steem or at least, supplementing my current income a little. I run a single-person consultancy, it is difficult and the money isn't great. I figured that if I put in the really hard work necessary, I might have a chance. I wonder how much questioning the bidbots have hurt that chance?

I really enjoy writing, much more than I ever thought I would and I could see myself doing more of it, if that is possible. But, that does require support. Starving artist just isn't going to cut it to provide the food and care my daughter needs. So, do I speak my mind and do and say what is consistent with my perspectives or, do I bite my tongue, suck it up and play the game like many others.

Perhaps I should do every second post mentioning how great some whale is and spam my links to wherever and whoever will have them, maybe throw in liberal mentions of the large apps, draw pictures of witnesses. One good thing about Steem price being low? My vote (even with paid delegation) isn't large enough to get spammed links in my DMs by high earning accounts anymore. It is like they look at a voting list to see who they should DM. Knowing this place, that list probably exists.

But, I doubt that is going to help me now either, the damage might be done. At the end of the day, I don't really know who will be left standing and who will be willing to put their support behind me. The thing about having strong community support is that there are people back the outliers but, when it is stake based and the outliers are outspoken against some of the big stakes? Even if there are others that do agree with me, they are not likely to throw their weight behind.

Perhaps my fate is to live in some obscure corner of Steem writing volumes no one will ever read or perhaps it will be that I can get a little of what I have been working so hard for. I don't know. I hope that it is the latter, I hope that my long term view of steem will pay off for all of us but, my fate, like almost everyone else's here, hangs on the community, their decisions and their grace.

Although I am able to be swayed, I haven't found valid arguments to keep the bots as they are. I am sure there are better options to come but waiting for change slows change and not speaking up means to not be heard.

This is a community that first needs to listen to each other, discuss deeply, change appropriately and prove that a decentralized community can function healthily. Then, it should spread like wildfire so fast and with such intensity, the centralized systems cannot stop it, cannot repress it. At that point, it can say it has achieved its aims and the individual members within all played their part voluntarily, and it worked.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

This is a community that first needs to listen to each other, discuss deeply, change appropriately and prove that a decentralized community can function healthily.

This applies to all of humanity. We are not adjusted to operating in a world without authority dictating everything we do. Therefore, people are falling prey to what they always did.

The first part, "listen to each other" is the starting point....sadly, in this world, there is very little of this.

Over time, things will get better as humanity adjusts to what is possible. The system we all were reared in did a number of all of us.

This applies to all of humanity. We are not adjusted to operating in a world without authority dictating everything we do. Therefore, people are falling prey to what they always did.

This is how you know that the authorities are winning. We are conditioned to do as they have instructed. We can and must do better.

The first part, "listen to each other" is the starting point....sadly, in this world, there is very little of this.

It means hearing what we don't want to hear, it means facing the possibility wewere wrong, taking criticism, forcing us to change. Listening is the most damaging thing one can do to the ego as it risks its destruction.

Over time, things will get better as humanity adjusts to what is possible. The system we all were reared in did a number of all of us.

Yes it has. I would like to at least taste and smell a little of that future. I am unsure if it will arrive in time.

STEEM is an interesting experiment and change for humanity. Those who find their way here are thrust into a place of anarchy. Since there is no high priest or overseer, people are having to deal with things on their own AND collectively. We are in a world without hierarchical rules yet many are looking for it. Even though with a vast amount of SP are calling for other with more SP to "solve" the issues. When that does not happen, they throw a fit just like a toddler in a high chair.

And that is the state of most of humanity...We are like children. So yes, you are spot on with the authorities...the elite...the powers that are....they have full control and most people act like obedient little kids...at least until it gets to be too much then we throw a tantrum.

We are conditioned with so much self importance (while also being conditioned to be an obedient slave with low self worth) and grandiosity that we think that what we think actually matters and is correct. So again, the ego is on the line when we listen to others and they tell us we are wrong. That is something we dont want to hear. Hell most of humanity is asleep to what is really taking place. They do not want to believe they are enslaved...that goes against their self importance. Yet, that is exactly what the system is.

There is a lot changing on many different levels. New energy is reaching this planet which is shaking the establishment to its foundation. The last 5+ years witnessed a huge shift in many people. We are seeing a political, economic, and industrial establishment going to great lengths to keep things the same. Their power is threatened. Ironically, they know it yet the masses are mostly unaware of it.

So yes, unless you plan on checking out soon, you will see it...it is happening as we speak and at a pace few could foresee. In the meantime, we are tasked with learning how to play well with each other. Judging by much of what we see on here, we have a long way to go.

Their power is threatened. Ironically, they know it yet the masses are mostly unaware of it.

The masses do not pay attention. That is why they are masses.

In the meantime, we are tasked with learning how to play well with each other. Judging by much of what we see on here, we have a long way to go.

I really am interested where it will all go considering where we are now. For me personally, I am interested at what ill break me ;)

The first part, "listen to each other" is the starting point

That's the point I was going to hit on :) . We no longer communicate in open debate but shout out our opinion and stiffel anything that opposes it.
I enjoy the post from @taraztpk in brings in debate and thought to one's own opinion

I have been following you for a few days now @tarazkp. I have read some of your content and it is interesting and holds my attention.
I like the way you speak your mind and although several of my opinions are different then yours but that's what I like. What's the use in being surrounded by people who agree with you every time.
Even I like some of the shit posts people post but at the end of the day I need to return to real content. You may have lost a few steem on this platform for being outspoken but you definitely have earned my respect in that sense.

What's the use in being surrounded by people who agree with you every time.

It feels good. ;) I think many people these days are too emotionally unaware to take criticism. Any negative feedback ends in tears and whining so people surround themselves with those who will only praise them.

You may have lost a few steem on this platform for being outspoken but you definitely have earned my respect in that sense.

Is your couch comfortable? :P

At the end of the day, I will be compelled to do what I think is right. Others might disagree and I will do my best to listen but, they have to argue their case toward healthy progress well. Short-term compromise is fine until it becomes entrenched as culture.

I don't know if it feels good or not but I know for a fact that it feels cloying. :P
Short term compromise is usually tactical or a momentary weakness. Even if it is the latter I don't mind succumbing to it as long as it serves the long term goals. For me the problem comes when these 'compromises' start to get a little too comfortable. What you call 'entrenched in culture' is what I think of as a habit. From experience I can tell that this bad habit is difficult to get rid of, at least for me.
Sooner or later a man has to do what he feels right.

Sooner or later a man has to do what he feels right.

It is a weird forum to stand up in here I think but perhaps one that actually has a chance for change. The traditional methods have all been hijacked and compromised. We have some freedom here and we should exercise it and create a little more for many more to move also.

Now look, you made a killing here in January. Even I earned rewards worth so much in fiat that I would never even dreamed of making so much money just by blogging about whatever the hell I felt like. The best couple of weeks were such that had that level been sustainable, I could've quit my job and become a full-time Steemian.

Since then, everybody's earnings have gone downhill and the first ten days of April have seen near total annihilation of my earnings relative to those in January. That was driven mostly by the price of SBD and STEEM going back to under $2 from the towering hights back then and, in my case, certain manually curating whales shifting their attention to other minnows to support. (Thanks a lot for your generous support! Keep up the good work supporting the minnow population!)

You're earning much less here now but so is everybody else. But your earnings have been quite good despite everything. And you deserve every single cent. 80-90% of the photos you post are of very high quality. You are a model Steemian. You've tackled important issues while churning out content leaps and bounds above anything from anyone I've ever personally interacted with here.

It would be stupid of anyone with high SP who cares at all about their investment to organize a campaign against you, a very constructive high-profile contributor.

Now look, you made a killing here in January.

Indeed, but since I haven't cashed anything out it all depends on Steem future, not past. Yes, if things go very well, I will likely more than survive but I am hoping that I can do more than that and I can help others do more than that also.

The reason my earnings are what they are is because of consistency over the last year. No matter the climate, no matter the price, I have kept working. It has been very difficult at times but, long-term view requires it. The only tie I have slowed is when I was getting support from large accounts relatively regularly. It wasn't out of laziness or complacency, it was because I felt that I shouldn't draw too heavily on the pool.

When Steem was very high, I also posted less as I could self vote a little and cover the delegation costs easily. It meant I could share a great deal more SBD. At that time I was at about 15% selfvote (now 40ish) and was spreading a large amount outward to psts and comments. I have retracted a little now but hope not for long.

Honestly, I am hoping that in the long run, me being outspoken will be viewed as helpful, even if wrong at times. I think the discussions now are the things that are going to mke this platform thrive and if the community is strong and well interconnected, even heavy competition may have little effect. There is a lot of space in this type of platform for many players and steem is a great model. It would be a shame to sell it out short.

You've done well so far and you have created your own voice here - that's very important. You have a brand. Maybe you won't get to be among the highest earners on Steemit, but you can still be a good earner and write whatever you feel like. As for living off the earnings, I think that depends mostly on the crypto markets - I don't know if you'll ever get enough to buy a Lamborghini, but at some point we might get to the point where Steem will be high enough to cover everyday expenses.

Steem will be high enough to cover everyday expenses.

I would be happy with half of everyday expenses. Lamborghinis are for children ;)

I discussed a similar issue with someone a week ago and she replied that the end shall tell. You've spoken your mind and you've fought your case, we don't know who will win at the end of the day. But one fact about life is that, being the winning side doesn't always mean they were right. Like you said, no one knows what fate awaits you, we only hope the gods of Steemit will be on the side of the community, else the wolves will celebrate their triumph over the sheep.

I have been your follower from the first week I came up to Steemit. You've made many points, some I might not agree with, but on the issue of community vs bots, I think you have been fighting on the right side.

You've made many points, some I might not agree with, but on the issue of community vs bots, I think you have been fighting on the right side.

I think it will be the losing side but, I also think that there might be enough strength left to force some changes, more transparency, wider distribution, manual checks, quality development incentives etc. I don't see them leaving the space but maybe a change will be enough for now.

I think it will be the losing side.

Losing does not translate to wrong side though no one really would love to be a martyr.

I also think that there might be enough strength left to force some changes,

It is already getting some good responds from all side. Even those supporting have accepted that lots of changes will be needed to pull us out of disaster or just to push it a bit further.

I don't see them leaving the space but maybe a change will be enough for now.

We didn't expect Utopia. Things can be perfect. We all have our part in the imperfection of the, I have mine too.

Fuck money, fuck people, fuck society, fuck humanity!
What else can I say?

PS! This post felt... pure? Man, I don't know how to express myself anymore.

:) I think that expressed it well enough.

I cannot support you with more than 100%, so I did just that to let you know I support you and will do so in the future. I like the way you write very much, you always write something to think about and although I don't fully understand all this stuff about bit-bots (I never used a bot), I understand enough to stand by your side.
So I hope you continue to do what you do and I hope that your views will receive a lot of support from the community instead of your fear that you will have to live in an obscure corner of Steemit.
I wish you all the luck in the world.

Thank you. It really does mean a lot @clio.

I also moved a witness vote over to the blockbrothers last night and hope they are community focused too :)

Yes, they are. I know all four blockbrothers very well. My son @exyle of course, but I also know his three friends since they were children. They are dedicated men and very community focused.
I use their app Steemify every day and I know they are working on more applications for the Steem blockchain. Of course, I am a bit biased because I am exyIe's mother but he is so dedicated, almost too, if you ask me. He is a great supporter of the Steem project and will do nothing that will harm it in any way.

I suspect we are all getting about 1/10 of the payouts we were three months ago, and that is probably more about bidbots than you having become a donald chump supporter!

Go hard man, bots don't read anyway...

I suspect we are all getting about 1/10 of the payouts we were three months ago, and that is probably more about bidbots than you having become a donald chump supporter!

lol. They lock up a massive amount of the pool.

Btw, is it just me or is that cat awesome?

Yes there is so much room for improvement here on that platform and I will take my luck on @onosocial because I can't stand that masculism of steemit anymore. And yes, Steemit is quite disillusioning, but compared to science where you won't be read at all, here you have two or three people that are incentivized enough to read at least a few lines of one's post.

Hey Taraz, this is my first time stumbling across your page, so I don't fully understand what you mean about "speaking up". I think you painted a pretty good picture though by pointing out the things some people use for "success" here.

I'm new here, and although ive made some very mediocre progress thus far, I also have a dream of living off Steemit. Although I agree with many of your negative points made, I think there's a shimmer of hope for the grand future here if all of us using it now start to band together and continue to use it as it should be used. I know this is a blindly vague and optimistic statement, and no, I don't have any sort of solution to offer, but I believe it is possible and that the only way to achieve it is if we all do our part to stay active here, support the right people and continue to work towards a solution.

So, again, no I don't really have much to contribute. But, I just like to share my viewpoint that it is up to all of us to make this work. I look forward to looking into your page after I stop writing this pointless comment :)

I think there's a shimmer of hope for the grand future here if all of us using it now start to band together and continue to use it as it should be used.

I have hope too but I am not a passive hoper :)

But, I just like to share my viewpoint that it is up to all of us to make this work.

It is up to us and that is what makes it a decentralised community. No one is coming to save us and if someone does come, it isn't t help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50